Gratitude Sunday: Another Day In The Life

Gratitude * Sunday

Quote of the Week

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re doing something.” Neil Gaiman

Sunday Haiku

One cannot have blooms
in spring without enduring
the cold of winter.

Sunday Musings

Here we are at the last day of another calendar year. It feels strange saying “last day” because until we take our last breath, we don’t really have a last day, yet days keep dawning relentlessly, regardless. This chronological marking, this artificial construct of days and months we made to keep track of time is just another day in the life. And really, calendars are a little bit brilliant instead of having to say, “remember that hot day last spring when you broke your arm?” or “we met two autumns ago on the rainiest day.” Stonehenge is not a portable method of tracking days and seasons. If you like keeping track, calendars are where it’s at.

The last day of the year and the first day of the new year are fun days to celebrate if one likes celebrating. It’s a lonely day for some because the rest of us make so much of the significance of a new year. We force ourselves to make annual resolutions which often don’t get kept setting us up for failure before we even get started on the new year.

I’m grateful the Christmas part is done. I stress myself. Is the gift the right one? Did I spend enough? Did I spend too much? Will the dinner be good? Will the food be eaten? Will guests be comfortable in my home? Will guests have fun? I get dizzy keeping track of everything needing to be done. Ugh. It’s a lot.

The transition to the new year is a relief. Out with the red and green, in with the white. Clean, clean, clean, and get ready for a start on another winter. Post a new calendar with empty white spaces for keeping track of the progress of days. Send thank you notes to the people who gave gifts (now there is a lost art!).

Gifts aren’t always things, though things can be nice when needed or fun when desired (I still want a pearl necklace). Gifts can be words, support, time, a random hug. Or a cat who behaves.

You might remember we adopted a semi-feral cat on Coronation Day 2023. I’m not British but history fascinates me, and this was living history, so I was up all night watching the proceedings. I found a cat on the internet and by the next day I was again a cat owner. I think this was his first indoor Christmas.

I made a small, artificial tree because I needed room for gifts, so the tree was above his level on a table. He’s not allowed on tables or counters, and he learned that lesson quickly, so putting the little tree on a table kept him from destroying the tree. He was interested in the pile of Christmas stuffies I’ve collected and drag out every year, but he did not mark them as his. He sniffed all around the pile of gifts and learned he’s not allowed to play with the bright, springy, curly ribbons. I change things up every year now because I got bored with the same old, so we will see how he does next year.

He’s a good boy. He is now more comfortable in his home and has bonded (hwell, mostly) with the hubs and me. He hides when we have company, which is fine, as I know he feels comfortable in his hidey-hole where he can watch the action but not be within reach of even the smallest body.

And no, even though he is part of the family now, he did not get a new toy for Christmas. I doubt his feelings are hurt as he doesn’t know Christmas from any other day, unlike us hooman types who need brilliant calendars to keep track of days. His needs are simple, which is a good reminder for us. A warm home, a comfy blanket, food and water in his dishes, a string to play with, and a hooman with whom to spend time make life good for him.

So happy new year, another day on the calendar. May you have a plateful of food, a glass with something in it, a warm comfy home with a blankie of your own, a companion of one sort or another, and a nice new string to play with now and then.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – my favorite earthen red rock with tufty emeralds of moss and silvery diamond drops of water.

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.}  Saltburn (2023, rated R) an interesting story of an awkward young man who befriends a popular young man at college. The sexuality was pertinent to the story, but I would have been fine if a few scenes were shorter. It’s a twist in the end that if you aren’t paying attention throughout the movie you might not expect.  ***  Tár (2022, rated R) with Cate Blanchet as a musical conductor accused of misconduct. I suppose this is a very sophisticated story from the quality of the production but, the plot was hard to follow, and the ending just drifted off, like they were tired of the story too. Meh.  ***  Nope (2022, rated R) a different take on the UFO movie. Even though the word was used throughout the movie, Nope is a rather uncreative title for an otherwise interesting movie.  *** 

Currently Reading – bah, wanting my reading groove back. Maybe I’m evolving to another level.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • An inspirational gift from a friend, her words: “Invest in the space you are in right now.” So many layers of application.
  • A pleasant gathering of family.
  • The son helping me insert the leaves on the dining table, as hubs insisted it was a two-person job.
  • Baby sitting up to the table on her special seat that made her the same height as the adults, with table manners as if she were 15, carrying on adult conversation with us.
  • A mediocre (food-wise) but successful meal together.
  • Baby speaking so plainly, thinking independently, and being encouraged to do so.
  • Hearing my granddaughter cry out “A musical instrument!” over her first play piano. She’ll be 3 in February and cruises my house for anything to make music with.
  • Watching the faces of my adult kids light up over the functional gifts they were given. They will think of us every day as they use the items.
  • The hug I got at the end of our Christmas event from Baby’s other grandfather. Loved having him share a meal with us.
  • Figuring out how to make taking the leaves out of the dining table into a one-person job without damaging the leaves or the table.
  • Remembering to leave Christmas boxes out for a couple weeks after I think I’m done putting away the decorations for the decor I find while deep cleaning. There’s always a ribbon that’s gone flying or a stuffy who’s gone walkabout.
  • Looking forward to opening the doors tonight to let the old year out and the new year in.
  • Letting go of “carbon footprint guilt” and enjoying strawberries from Mexico. Luxury.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

NamastePeaceBlessings.

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.