Gratitude Sunday: Daily Thanksgiving

Gratitude * Sunday

Quote of the Week

“Just living is not enough … one must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower.”

Hans Christian Andersen

Sunday Haiku

Silver waterdrops
cling to threads of spider silk,
waiting to descend.

Sunday Musings

Muse 1:

Habitat for Humanity did an inspection for me this week because I asked for more help. My fence fell over in the February snowstorm we had, and my old windows let the cold air right through. Two outside doors need repair to close and the new deck they built for me needs a weatherization treatment next spring.

I hadn’t expected them to address anything inside, so I hadn’t cleaned more than usual, which my house always needs. The inspector had a check list because they are getting new additional funding from HUD called the “Healthy Homes Program.” There’s a slew of big and little things that could be fixed around my house, not the least of which is the front bathroom where the shower has not worked for a decade because of a leak I don’t know how to fix. However, I embarrassed myself with the untidy bathroom as he looked at what the shower would need to fix. Thank the universe for the friend who reminded me I live a life here and messes are a part of living.

He wrote a whole bunch of notes on his inspection list, big things and little. He explained to me about what I had, what condition it was in, what needed fixing, and how we might possibly get all that done. I’ve been through this before. The funding is complicated; the wait is long; it’s a process. We might have to get creative with a rebuild of my front bay window, original to the 1987 build of my house, because finding a replacement window might be a no-go. There’s a possibility we can get a tub to walk-in shower conversion, and these days after having fallen a couple times in the tub that might be a good thing. I probably will be having asbestos and radon inspection.

I’m officially on their list again. They fixed one door while they were here. It’s only a matter of time. The waiting game. I’m patient.

Muse 2:

I paid my property taxes this week. I’m fussy; I pay in person. I don’t trust the mail and I like having a receipt in my hot little hand. I always treat myself after but this time I bought my drink before to face the drive to the county tax assessor’s office in the rainy overcast. Fascinating how a big cup of coffee and sugar and cream perks up a gray day. My credit union had waived a fee for cutting the tax payment check so I was feeling like thanksgiving.

On the drive, I filled my eyes with the brilliant autumn-colored leaves shining like neon against the gray day. After standing in line and getting my receipt, I was on the sidewalk outside the tax assessor’s office and as I reached to take a bright yellow gingko leaf, I heard a woman say, “Look. That lady is taking a leaf.” I looked up and it was like being in Christmas village. The older couple who came toward me (I’m 70 and they looked older) were bundled against the nippy day with heavy colorful overcoats, knitted caps, and mittens. Bunches of white hair stuck out of both their caps. They were round, and rosy, and holding hands.

I said, “Oh, no. You caught me stealing a county leaf! Do you think they will arrest me and charge me for it?” I laughed as I said it. She said, “Are you here to pay your property tax?” I responded in the affirmative. “Then you deserve at least a leaf,” she said. And we all laughed.

“You two are so cute,” I said, gushing, because they were, “Just adorable.”

The gentleman blushed and said quietly, “Thank you, ma’am, you are kind.”

I twirled my leaf at them and said, “Happy property tax day.”

It was one of those golden moments you get in this life that feels like it is all worth it and everything will be all right, that there is daily thanksgiving in a harsh, brutal world.

MUSE 3:

If you give a woman a new couch, she will want couch covers to keep the couch clean.

If she buys new couch covers, she will want two sets so one can be on the couch and the other can be in the laundry.

If she sits on the couch, she will see what horrible condition the old carpet is in and want hard wood floors. She will not be able to wait for hardwood floors so she will need to buy a lovely rug to cover the ugly old carpet. She will have to decide on a rug that goes with all the couch covers and the couch.

If she buys a new rug, she will see she needs to rearrange the furniture for maximum space. She will need a furniture moving kit to move the furniture. She will need days and days to make it all happen. When she is done, she won’t like it and will put it all back.

After she puts it all back, she realizes the two jade green lamps she’s been keeping all these years would be perfect with the couch, the covers, and the rug, and she will have to find somebody to repair the old lamps.

When the lamps are repaired, she will need to find the perfect lampshades to pull everything together. She will be crying by then because the details can be overwhelming when decorating on a wing and a prayer.

***

All thanks to Laura Numeroff for If You Give a Mouse a Cookie (1985, children’s fiction) and the rest of the series for the structure of this muse. Love these children’s books, easy to read, and so funny.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week –Finding a little patch of color in the gray pavement at a corner of a store parking lot. How pretty the brown, yellow, and red leaf colors are against the green moss flourishing in the rain and the bright green of a new weed.

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.}  Hocus Pocus 2 (2022, rated PG – 13) finally. Sequels are so often a failure, but not here. I loved it as much as the original and after watching it twice, I will be watching both movies for Halloween in the years to come.  **  Quiz Lady (2023, rated R) with Awkwafina and Sandra Oh. I’m a big fan of Awkwafina; she is so grounded and real in her work, like a next-door neighbor, or co-worker. It was a little disconcerting to see 50-year-old Oh, playing a 43-year-old who acts like a teenager in this movie, especially after seeing her give a stunning performance in The Chair (2021, rated TV – MA) as the first woman of color to chair a university English department. Not that she didn’t do a great job; it was just me reacting or over-reacting. I enjoyed the movie so much I watched it twice and am planning on watching it again.

Currently Reading – Still too distracted to read much more than magazines and news from a few trusted sources. I found a free copy of Jane Eyre (1847, fiction) by Charlotte Bronte and since I was an English Literature major, I think I should finally read it. How I managed to not read this classic while in school I do not know but being an auto-didact I never stop reading and learning, so this will be my choice for Winter Solstice Classic this year. Best of all I can take my time to enjoy the read without having to worry about a library due date.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Tiny moments of joy in a day.
  • The little things.
  • Getting to see my granddaughter several times this week.
  • Looking at stuff as a local re-sale store and hearing Baby’s little voice in my head: “That’s so cute! That’s so cool! That’s so bootiful!”
  • How well Baby is talking now.
  • What good parents my kids are.
  • Having an entire conversation with a sweet library assistant who admired my Vincent van Gogh Starry Nights socks, because she had a pair her grandmother gave her.
  • Finally completing a transaction after three days of snags.
  • The young man who offered to take my cart to the cart corral after I was done with it. Another thanksgiving.
  • Figuring out how to raise my outside window shade by myself.
  • The college classmate who told me I make 70 look good. Wow!
  • Finding being out in public is a tad easier if I tell myself I’m out there to spread joy and love regardless of my task.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

NamastePeaceBlessings.

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.