Gratitude Sunday: No, Wait!

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

Sunday Haiku
Rain teases parched vale,
will it, won’t it, will it, please,
one watery day.

Sunday Musings
The world has gone wild. Or weird. Or off its axis. We’re spinning out of control.

No, wait. My world is still here. My bed needs to be made. My farmers market has fresh organic local garden-grown tomatoes that taste red and ripe and drip down my chin when eaten out of hand over the sink. The taps to my faucets still deliver relatively safe water to wash the tomato juice from my chin.

It’s the current American government and all the crazy money behind it that is out of control, especially when an 8 year old inexperienced narcissist is “in charge”, except he hasn’t a clue what he’s doing. His only agenda seems to be pealing back every advance toward ethical and moral legislation of the last 80 years while controlling incomes and advancements for the poor and middle classes. You can’t expect people who can’t make a living wage (because you control the wages) or afford housing (because you control the mortgage game) to be loyal if you are not helping them achieve their dreams. You can’t tell people they have to do it for themselves and then provide no pathway for their success by devaluing their honest work and making home ownership unachievable.

No, wait. I have dirty dishes in the sink and a dishwasher to put them into. The cat bangs his paw against my leg wanting to be fed. Clothes wait to be transferred from one machine to another and languish in piles to be folded and put away.

My information feed is full of injustice, inequality, the ravings of a mad man who thinks he knows best for a world of people who think gilt is feeling bad for something you’ve done (or not done, otherwise known as guilt), not something you cover your furniture with. Citizens are dying from lack of health care, children and elders are hungry and neglected, veterans who gave their best for this country are living and dying under bridges if they are lucky enough to have that much shelter. Those very bridges and roads and water systems are crumbling under us as well.

No, wait. My floors need sweeping and mopping. The house needs a new roof and gutters, not to mention paint inside and out. My car’s air conditioning is rattling death throes.

News reports show children scalding peers with boiling water because they don’t “like” the other person. Social media encourages and prompts kids and adults to hurt each other. White supremacists riot with violence in the name of free speech and the person who is supposed to be in charge does not have the sense to call the evil what it is because he believes they are right. Bullying and bigotry is modeled from the top down, from our so-called president, through private and public employers, to schools despite the voices against it and the evidence of its harm.

No, wait. I have my writing, no matter that nobody reads it, it’s mine. I have my editing endeavors, which in my heart I hope is helping other writers to be more successful and better writers, regardless of my success. I still have my imagination and the ability to think critically and most of my wit.

In my own community we mourn the passing of a woman who devoted her life to community service, and we bemoan the woman who embezzled half a million dollars from a local youth camp. We question the oxymoronic wisdom of our city council who approves “affordable housing” that our low-income area cannot afford, while ignoring the infrastructure to handle traffic increases and food availability. We cringe at the school superintendent who has a salary higher than our legislators, whose excuse is having to support two homes. Two. When so many have none. I don’t mind her having two; I mind others having none; I mind her using that as an excuse for her salary paid by tax investments in our low-income community.

No, wait. I get to swim three times a week, and thanks to the kind person who gifted me my pool membership, I can swim every day if I want. I have real paper books to read and a wide variety of music and movie entertainment with a short trip to my local lending library. I have a park around the corner to walk in at my leisure when I wish to do so. My tax investment shared with your tax investment provide these things for all to use.

America is the best in the world, and America is the worst in the world. For those who have benefited from inherited money, or created wealth through happenstance or connectivity (who you know, not what you know), America is functioning just fine. For others it is a constant struggle to keep a home and food on the table, and sometimes the struggle is simply getting and keeping the job. The disparity is unconscionable because it is orchestrated by the people who already have theirs, who want to keep theirs to themselves, and expect others to build in the same manner, except the playing field is not equal. We don’t all have the same inheritances, or opportunities, or abilities.

No, wait. The sun has risen. The sun will set tonight. Under cover of the dark I hide, watching fantastic movie productions where women have mad defense skills with bodies and swords. I fear the dreams that sleep brings. I embrace the possibility of death at any moment, not because that is a part of life and what happens to the human body, but because of so many things I cannot control, including the rising and setting of the sun, the heat or cold of the day, the skies filled with forest fire smoke or torrential rain or months of snow.

We have a big ugly picture out there. The people who already have theirs blame those who don’t for not making “good” choices, making victims of those who don’t have the same choices available to them. Those who have less give more to help lift up those in their community, while those who have more find ways to limit available choices for the progress of others. To make matters worse, they use the tenets of their god/s to prove themselves right. Morals and ethics really have nothing to do with religion. What is right and just, is right and just without any kind of god.

No, wait. We have a small beautiful picture in here. I hear the birds sing. The grass grows. The tomatoes and strawberries bloom and fruit. The squirrels gather nuts for winter. Worms and mold decompose garbage turning it into soil. The sea has tides and the rivers flow. The earth spins on its same old axis, though the angle may be changing. We are only as good as the least of us. For some of us, we still, and will always, strive for the betterment of all, not just a few. Now, pardon me, I have a tomato to eat.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Hot colors in hot weather. Sunset yellow and orange rose. Double hot summer shades of rose. Scarlet shade of carnation/pinks family. Love catching critters at work especially on a hot orange, yellow tipped echinacea.

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.} Red 2 (2013, rated PG – 13) with Bruce Willis and Helen Mirren. I usually skip the shoot-em-ups but this was a DC Comics production and had an element of humor to it. The movie was fortunately shy on the extreme graphic violence but with totally mad defense skills; Helen, of course, saves the day. * Season 6 of Game of Thrones (2016, rated TV – MA) finally arrived after months of being in the local lending library queue (waiting, or time, is the price low-income people pay, remember the old adage about time being money?). Living in the world of fire and ice for a few days. * I woke up one day last week wanting to see a couple old movies I’d seen before, both starring Kathy Bates, one of my favorite actors, and both adaptations of Stephen King novels, one of my favorite authors. Dolores Claiborne (1995, rated R), one of King’s psychological thrillers not based on the supernatural, arrived via my local lending library and how serendipitous, a full solar eclipse is part of the plot, which I had completely forgotten about! Part of the charm about watching older movies is recognizing actors who have since gone on to play significant roles elsewhere. The part of Vera Donovan, the village’s wealthy old recluse, is played by Judy Parfitt, who is now known for the brilliant role of Sister Monica Joan in the BBC TV series Call the Midwife.

Currently ReadingSwimming Lessons (2017, fiction) by Claire Fuller. My favorite summer reading so far. Twists and twists. Recommended. * Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right (2016, radical politics), by Jane Mayer. Ripping my heart out at all the hidden agendas financed by money when that money would better serve us all, even the ones who have it, elsewhere.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Getting to spend a couple hours with the son.
  • The son heeding some maternal financial advice.
  • Basking in the notion of a little maternal success. Short-lived, but nonetheless.
  • How time “disappears” when I am involved in my writing and editing work.
  • Recognizing truth, how I understand truth, and how I apply truth in my life. Recognizing each of us has our own understanding of truth.
  • How ten degrees less heat is so much more tolerable. For me.
  • My local aquatic center rescuing me from the heat. Again.
  • Getting to attend a Town Hall meeting with Oregon Senator Ron Wyden, and knowing there are a few cool-headed, thinking people representing our citizens. Getting to thank him in person for standing up for us against the insanity of the current White House administration.
  • Oregon Albion strawberries, so sweet, scenting my fridge and kitchen every time I open the door.
  • Lemon cucumbers that smell like citrusy earth; green beans that smell green; cherry tomatoes that burst red in your mouth.
  • The relief one day of rain brings to my dry valley.
  • How happy the birds sound after the rain.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Entertainment, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Photography, Poetry, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude Sunday: No, Wait!

  1. piratesorka says:

    I really want that fresh tomato. It would help me make more sense in the world. I will go hunting for it.

    Liked by 1 person

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

