Gratitude Sunday: Truth, Lies, And Civil Discourse

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Melting, melting, warm
rain dissolves weeks of snow just
in the nick of time.

Sunday Musings
Another historic week in the politics of America. I have bad feelings about the whole mess so I declined watching most of the news reports, wary of deepening my moods. I watched a few highlights, and boy howdy, that was way plenty.

Now, I may dislike the “leadership” and the questionable cabinet picks for the next administration, but that part is not my choice. I voiced my choice with my vote and it wasn’t him. I don’t have to say his name. People know who you are talking about anyway. I can think anything I want about him, but I won’t lower myself to name calling. Yes, he lies, but instead of calling him a liar, I will only say he lies, and there is a video record for proof. I’ve seen him called many worse things and I may think they are true and whether true or not those words do not have to pass my lips or move from my brain to my finger to my page.

Saying those derogatory words feels bad to me. Reading them from others make me cringe. The ugly names and their effing adjectives make me feel as bad as saying his name. Like invoking evil. If that were a thing. Now don’t get me wrong, I can cuss with the best. Hwell, maybe not the best, but I can cuss pretty well. In this case cussing, expletives, name-calling feels wrong, like it isn’t accomplishing anything. It’s too easy to call a name or place a label to express your displeasure but not convey what you really mean.

Here’s where I wonder if some sort of paradigm shift is coming. From social media I don’t suspect this is happening in the general population. As I read many of the comments of strangers I wonder where or if they had any education and if they remember how to employ any critical thinking. Grammar and spelling doesn’t matter in these responses, it even seems a point of pride that the readers understand any variation, and criticize each other for correcting each others’ grammar, though I also see it creating many misinterpretations as well.

I know I’m being judgmental here, but come on people. I’m judgmental, but I’m not. Just because you work all day and come home to yours (your house, your family, your food, your wine, but where is your empathy?) doesn’t mean you can’t think critically about helping others as well, and use correct grammar and civil discourse while you are at it. For maybe, you know, just a few minutes of the day. We are all connected. I think the paradigm shift is coming in a different way. I don’t know how, but I see what I think are significant signs, and I’m likely to be the worst sign reader ever. I just understand some of the connections.

The most significant sign I see is water. The fight over the safety of clean water, where the overuse of fossil fuels impinges on better energy technology that already exists and would provide as many jobs and likely just as much profit for those capitalists who seek gratification through money, is unconscionable. Simply put we cannot keep raping the natural resources of the blue planet that supports us.

Water is the basic unit. Everything needs water; most living things on this planet are made of water; water is the universal solvent. I won’t bore you by going on about water, but suffice it to say without water, we are, well, nothing.

If you mess with water, I will cry foul. I don’t have to use name-calling to do it. I can stand in a civil manner and say: Protect our water. Respect our planet and the beings in it. All beings. Don’t exploit those beings, human or otherwise, in the name of profit. Because, you know, respect. Even when they are different than you. Treat people like the valuable resource we are and not like possessions.

Even though change is really hard we must continually remind ourselves change is the only constant in this odd little equation we call life. Birth plus growth multiplied by change equaling death, that’s what life is. I know, bio-math is confusing to me as well. Confusion is a part of life too. Change can be good; you might find a better way, invent a better thing, create beautiful art that wasn’t there before, see with different eyes, open a new opportunity.

During this changed political administration, I will work on change as well. Change in my home and my habits, change in my community, change in protection of the good things we have and creating more good things for those who have less. I don’t have to trust people who lie because I know many who still tell the truth, know the truth, and are working on changes based on truth, with civil discourse and reason. People who believe in peace and justice.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Finding green spots after the snow melt. Emerald moss with brown pine needles. dscn2839 Shades of sage and green and gray with a variety of moss and lichens growing on my fence. dscn7404 Heart shaped hardy ivy greened with red ribs and pink edged leaves. dscn2847

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.} Touch (2012-2013, not rated TV series), I remember why I’m not a fan of Kiefer Sutherland, but this story of an autistic boy and how he communicates is rather an interesting jigsaw puzzle of interconnected pieces. * Tideland (2005, rated R) with Janet McTeer and Jeff Bridges, two of my favorite actors. Artists make strange things sometimes and this is one. It’s also one of those so hard to describe and so disturbing I have mixed feelings about recommending it, but that’s also exactly why I recommend it, because it is disturbing in the way it makes you think about the lives other people might have to lead. Not for the faint of heart.

paragraph-divider-181

Currently ReadingThe Girl on the Train (2015, fiction) by Paula Hawkins. I’m having this strangely déjà vu experience reading this book. The main character is alcoholic and doesn’t remember things she does while drunk. In the last two years I’ve read something so like it the hairs rise on my neck every time I read it, but I cannot determine which other novel it was. And it means I’d have to re-read a few maybe to see which one it reminds me of. Not sure I want to spend time chasing ghosts. I can’t blame the authors; there are only so many words and there could have been some sort of synchronicity going on. * Ed Slott’s Retirement Decisions Guide: 125 Ways to Save and Stretch Your Wealth (2016, finance) by Ed Slott. Yargh. Money should be simple. You make it. You keep it, invest it, save it, or spend it. You can make interest off it and profit from it. There should not be 400-who-knows-how-many laws about how to save and use (and pay tax on sometimes more than once!) your money. It’s almost better to be poor. Except even the poor need money to live.

kijeqgart1

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Only losing a couple of branches in the recent winter weather event.
  • The neighbor who helped cut up those branches to get them out of the driveway.
  • Getting out of the house after being inside for a week.
  • Friends who were able to participate in the Women’s Marches all over the nation on Saturday.
  • People all over the world standing with the Women’s Marches in the United States of America.
  • All the generations of women who have worked for the rights of women to be themselves and not a possession.
  • Freedom of speech and press.
  • Seeing so many people waking up to the consciousness of the planet.
  • Learning patience when you can do nothing else.
  • Elizabeth Warren and Jeff Merkley and John Lewis.
  • What a difference ten degrees makes.
  • The little birds who have come out of hiding from the ice now the ice is gone.
  • Indigenous people who are still standing for the protection of our water at Standing Rock.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Photography, Poetry, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

