Gratitude Sunday: Prayers For The Yuletide Holidays

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Crisp long nights upon
us, sun begins its lazy
journey north again.

Sunday Musings
Seasons Greetings! In honor of the 29 religious holidays that take place during this season I wish you Happy Holidays. All of them. It is a plural thing as many of us celebrate Christmas/New Years or Chanukah/New Years or more than one holiday during this season. No matter the religion. How and who you worship doesn’t matter. What matters is somewhere along the line one takes the time to honor what has gone past in the year, to be grateful for what one has in the present, and to welcome the future. And even celebrate a little.

For me honoring the past means letting go of regrets. We do the best we can. Sometimes the best laid plans and good choices don’t work out, usually for reasons beyond our control. Keep trying new things, not the same old things. Be flexible. No regrets.

Be grateful for this minute. This now. It won’t come again and you can do amazing things with it even if it’s only a nap to restore yourself. Be in each moment. Live now, now. Let go and embrace the pain of the past and do not fear what hasn’t yet happened. This now is what it is and all one really knows is now anyway. At least until somebody discovers the mechanisms to travel through alternative time lines.

Isn’t it amazing to wake up every day? How many days will your future contain? Each new day comes. Each evening a bed awaits. Days come and come again as they become now and slip into the past. I’m grateful to wake up every day.

I have desires. My desires are not hope. I don’t think much about hope; hope doesn’t do the hard physical and emotional work; hope is more like wishing and we know what wishing gets for us. I have this feeling, though, that many people share my desires. So I invite you in my prayer. To my mind prayer is asking for help from whatever energies are out there. Asking for help is sharing your concerns and trying to solve them. It’s part of the work. You can pray to whatever god/s, goddess/es, universe/s, spiritual power/s, or natural energy you wish. That part doesn’t matter (seems like so little matters). What matters is that we share. Share our hearts, and some light, and some love, and continue to work for what is good, and even what is right and just, on this planet.

I pray for:

The end of jealousy, greed, exploitation, and hate.
Love and kindness prevailing.
Open hearts knowing we are all connected.
Increasing the intelligence of Americans: read.
Reducing consumerism and increasing caring support of others who have less.
Courage to endure the political climate and resist tyranny as needed.
Comfort for all who need a solid roof, a warm bed, or a full tummy.
Finding abundance in our lives instead of deprivation.
Empathy for others who are not like us. And really there is no two of us the same, though we are alike.
Maintaining that feeling of the higher power in our lives in whatever form that takes, to feel the light in us.
Peace on earth upon and within us all.

I wish you all the cheer of the season, especially if you are enduring loss and grief. Without loss we cannot know love. Look to the light within you and there you will find the light of the ones you love. Celebrate the ones whom we miss and keep them in your now by telling their stories; keep their Christmases alive through your memories. And I pray you have a Merry Yuletide!

Color Watchcolorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – All the red and green this week. Red berries for the birds. And cheerful eye candy for us. dscn7256 Some red without the green, but with a sturdy network of brown. dscn7248 Sharp green points of holly, bright red round berries for the birds. dscn1134

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.} Season 2 of Gotham (2015, TV series rated TV-14), an intense version of the teen-aged Bruce Wayne, before he becomes Batman, and the story of James Gordon before he becomes Police Commissioner. * In the spirit of the season: The Santa Clause (1994, rated PG) with Tim Allen, still a little piece of film magic and it has a wienie whistle! * A Very Murray Christmas (2015, TV-MA), with Bill Murray up to his usual off-beat stuff.

images9

Currently ReadingThe Snow Child (2012, fiction), by Eowyn Ivey, is a story of loss set in 1920s Alaska, a childless homesteading couple build a child from snow. * White Trash: The 400-Year Untold Story of Class in America (2016, social history) by Nancy Isenberg. Just starting but I can see the writing on the wall of the exploitation of poor (“waste”) people to build America for the benefit of the few.

I still haven’t chosen a Winter Classic and the solstice has passed. Some summer reading books I had been in a long queue for arrived, so I will be reading them while I make my decision. Any suggestions?

images0cfbb230

This week I have been grateful for:

  • The toddler who decided to bestow me with a brilliant smile and a “Hi” as if I were his long lost friend, while I was having a tearful meltdown in the store.
  • The two lovely women who helped me with hugs and pats on the back during the same meltdown mentioned above.
  • The beauty in other people.
  • Seeing a couple neighborhood squirrels when I thought they were already tucked away in hibernation.
  • The weather letting up so I could get out and about.
  • The hubster towel drying the very wet kitchen floor after I mopped. I’d just completely run out of steam.
  • How good a freshly mopped floor feels.
  • Getting the Christmas magic under control.
  • Scotch tape.
  • Sitting down for a break Christmas Eve evening and finding Holiday Handbells on public broadcasting. Refreshing change to the usual.
  • The flock of birds (geese?) that flew round the sky in circles to entertain me when I got stuck in traffic just before dusk. I suspect they were scouting for a night camp. Loved watching their airborne meander.
  • Not forcing myself to eat when I am not feeling well.
  • Hot tea.
  • Sweet buttery Comice pears.
  • A juicy bag of mandarins.
  • Reading history and watching historical documentaries, so much better than what the basketball coach exposed me to in high school 45 years ago.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, History, Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

