Gratitude Sunday: Standing Up For The Least Of Us

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Wet air blows over
trees, leaves drip, refresh the earth,
moldy leaves decay.

Sunday Musings
What a long strange week it’s been. It’s been hard to find my voice amidst all the American political sadness and grief. I don’t like being overly negative in these Gratitude Sunday posts. The whole reason for them is to find solace in gratitude. So that’s where I’m going today, with a few detours through reality. Ready? Here we go.

My candidate did not win. My hopes were dashed for a woman president in my life time. My candidate was not perfect. 63 is not that old; I may live to see a better woman candidate emerge. I thought perhaps with her leadership our task would become a bit easier.

I ask for women in their 30s and 40s to look toward this level of service to our country. This world is, after all, yours, as well as mine, but I’m fading.

The political system I live in worked as it is written but it failed to serve the needs of Americans, for the second time in 16 years. With that repeat instance of anomaly changing the constitutional electoral college becomes a valid conversation. Especially when 240 years after the fact, technology makes the popular vote a realistic possibility.

My heart hurts with the results of this election as within 24 hours of the president elect being announced unprecedented incidents of bullying and hate crimes were being reported. Rallies begin as peaceful protests, but are taken advantage of by a few unruly anarchists. This does not reflect the America I know or think I want. And it does not change the person I am. I will never place any value in difference between people; we are more similar than we are different. I will always live by the tenet of kindness to every person I meet, as you never know what burden they may carry. I know how I like to be treated and I want to extend the same.

56848-be-kind1

Some people have been so devastated by the results of this election they have been moved to protest. I believe in the right to peaceful assembly and in the right to protest, none of which includes violence or destruction. Violence never solves anything; it merely creates more violence. By performing violently, you support every awful thing about the campaigns of two unfortunate choices we had for President of the United States.

Many people have said they hope he will do the right thing now. Like overnight, somehow magically, the ultimate character of a person who has spent the last 18 months showing us his true colors will change into some kind of savior. It’s not going to happen. Hope is an illusion. Hope is desire in drag but stripped of passion. There is no hope: there is only what can be done and what can’t be done. I did what I could. I voted. I used my voice. I did my patriotic duty.

quotes-trust-first-maya-angelou-480x4801

That’s where I am right now. Having been the victim of bullying, prejudice, and lies, all within my “bubble of white privilege”, I will continue to use my voice to stand up for the least of us. I will do what I can, when I can, to make other voices heard, to support the voices of women and minorities, seniors and children, families who have endured generations of poverty.

Please don’t tell me to get over it. I can’t get over things I wasn’t even alive for like the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasawki, Pearl Harbor, the Holocaust, and the American Civil War among others. I felt deep horror when I learned of these actions; I feel sadness when people justify horrific events as necessary. There is what is right and what is justice. We may not always see justice, but my faith in people includes us always knowing in our hearts what is right and behaving with grace, dignity, and wisdom. I’m grateful to still have the wit to fight the good fight.

We can never go back. We don’t have time travel or do-overs. We can learn from the past and move forward. We can live our lives inclusively, and even though we may judge, which seems to be an inherent human quality, we can reserve our judgment and extend kindness to all people. We can work toward equality within and without the political system. We can employ the love in our hearts and take care of others, instead of succumbing to greed with the attitude “I’ve got mine and I don’t give a rip if you have yours.”

We have much work to do to make sure the least of us are protected and safe. We must go beyond the myth of self-sufficiency and re-connect with others in our communities. I thought our job might be easier with her as the leader of our government; I might have been wrong, we’ll never know now. We have to work harder than ever now. It’s up to us, the work has always been ours, not the job of our government. I continue to pray for strength to handle whatever the day brings because the path is never easy.

What can we do now? The people I know in my life behave with kindness as far as I know. If they don’t that’s up to them. We can take direct action. We can make sure bullying, racism, classism, genderism, and all other differenceisms do not succeed. We can volunteer to help individuals or groups, to stand up beside women, and elders, and people of color, and people with disabilities, and every other group who is on the margins of our society, stand beside the ones who have fewer advantages. We can honor our differences and revel in our similarities, as we are more alike than different. Each one of us merely wants comfort and contentment in this world, this society, in our homes, and in our own skin.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – The green persistence of blackberry vines, and the dichotomy of the skin ripping thorns and the sweet reward of the ripe berry. dscn9641 Tiny brown mushrooms bedded with fallen leaves. dscn6935 Holiday red, white, and green. dscn0878

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.} Caught up in superheroes watching the latest season of the Arrow and The Flash, along with the new one in the series, Legends of Tomorrow. All 2016 productions, not rated, but full of superhero style violence. I don’t advocate violence in real life, but it seems somehow satisfying to watch the “good guys” prevail on the fictional screen.

horizontal-seamless-background-pumpkins-autumn-leaves-vector-illustration-various-colors-white-450420131

Currently ReadingPeople Like You (2014, fiction short stories) by Margaret Malone. I’ve been enjoying short stories lately. I admire the form; it’s hard as an author to convey your story in a concise form. From my reader’s point of view the short form is also comforting when the mind is distracted and cannot maintain attention. Ms Malone’s stories are thinly sliced pictures of feelings and emotions. * The Nordic Theory of Everything: In Search of a Better Life (2016, sociology) by Anu Partanen. Enjoying this exploration in political social policies in Scandinavian countries and how they work. Perhaps the author will offer ideas of how it can translate in America. I have my own ideas.

2581

This week I have been grateful for:

    • Remembering where my heart is.
    • Remembering citizens who served in the military.
    • Remembering we can read the same articles and news feeds and not be receiving, perceiving, or understanding the words and concepts in the same way. Nice to have reminders.
    • Remembering to take unkind words with a grain of salt. Or two. And a deep breath.
    • A renewed determination to do what I’ve done since I was first exposed to other people outside my family. Upon entry to first grade I realized my support was for the least of us.
    • Cooking a new dish and glad I made a small portion.
    • Working with people who have more energy than me, who understand having to work at our own pace.
    • Understanding the difference between effective and ineffective protest, and being willing to help do the real work around keeping our society civil.
    • The winter indoor farmers market my community has with lovely garden fresh eggs, sweet potatoes, broccoli, carrots, squash, onions, and other late autumn veggies.
    • Strangely warm early November days.
    • Clean bedding and being able to change my bedding by myself.
    • Autumn pears.
    • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, History, Photography, Poetry, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

