Gratitude Sunday: People! Leave Those Clocks Alone!

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
A few dry days to
keep me warm, wet days to keep
me smooth like holly.

Sunday Musings
What a difference a day makes. Yes, today is one of my two least favorite days of the year. It’s Autumn Daylight Saving Day.

You’d think the autumn time change wouldn’t bother me so much. We get to go back. We gain that hour stolen last spring. We live the same hour twice. We can sleep an hour longer in the morning or have a guilt free hour’s nap in the afternoon because we are not missing anything.

You’d be wrong. Any time change is wacky. Clock games muck up the human chemistry no matter which direction the game goes.

I submit the anxiety produced around this stupid clock game is the culprit. Not only is the clock mussed with, but what if I forget? I’ll be late to church. I’ll be late to work. I could lose my job. I might miss my ride, my carpool, my plane. I’ll miss my check-in time at the hospital, my doctor or dentist appointment, my car tune-up. I’ll be late, I’ll be late, I’ll be late.

white_rabbit_rushes_by_alice_im_late_im_late_postcard-r9d46cd980b7d4813b36e9b1298d0b691_vgbaq_8byvr_5121

Will the world stop because you are late? Of course not, but you will have to re-schedule what you missed. And employers can be brutal about being tardy for work.

I just can’t figure out why we continue with Daylight Saving Time. We don’t get more done with the time, indeed, there is evidence the weeks after DST production decreases. Two entire weeks down for the year because of a clock game. May as well close the country for vacation. Now that’s an idea we could all get behind if forced to continue this clock farce. We don’t save time. The amount of daylight hours remains the same regardless. We sleep the same number of hours at night. Frankly, the ability to play sports at 10:00 PM in the summer does not impress me. We invented artificial lights for that if you really must.

It hasn’t always been this way. I’m old enough to remember when we didn’t have DST. When I was a child we were allowed to play outside until dark during the summer. It didn’t matter if dark came at nine or at ten. Dark is dark. Some of my younger friends don’t know any different. It’s what they grew up with, the way it’s always been. Except it hasn’t.

There are credible sources out now stating the scientific reasons why DST is bad for humans. Even the Wikipedia page is full of information to get you started. Once I started my research I began to dislike the concept even more. Why keep it if it is so bad for us?

Unless, GASP, (*conspiracy theory warning*) it is being used as a form of control for the masses. Keep our chemistries so messed up from years of DST even when we change back it will take another 50 years to recover. DST time was standardized for most of the United States in 1966. Surprise, surprise. Our world has gone more than a little weird in the last 50 years.

Last spring wasn’t terribly bad for me change-wise. I was newly unemployed; I didn’t have a schedule to keep. I employed my usual techniques to ease the change and was not too much worse for the wear. This time I have some appointments to keep and find myself suffering undue anxiety about clocks. Read that again: undue anxiety about clocks. Gak. What a dull thing to worry about. Sometimes all the exercise and meditation in the world cannot relieve undue anxiety. As if I don’t have plenty of real world worries: my health, the hubster’s, how we are going to pay for our health, how we are going to pay for retirement, how we are going to afford to eat during retirement, how not to be homeless during retirement, how not to lose everything I’ve worked for over the last 50 years. Then there’s the unneeded clock game.

Having endured nearly two years of the most contentious and abhorrent presidential election in the history of the United States, time has enough of that illusionary quality without changing the clocks twice a year. Year after year. With no justifiable reason. It’s just crazy making. Oregon has had two bills to stop DST on the docket for two years with no progress. Perhaps the next administration can get this done. Seems like one of those easy no-brainer decisions: a day of discussion, a decision, an effective date set, done; but when you get it into committee, instant death. I would advocate an executive decision to abandon DST.

I’ll claim that executivity. I am the mother goddess of time. Without any where ases and therefores, I hereby declare no more crazy making clock games, effective immediately. One sweep of the magic wand and an entire nation will begin to regain some sanity. See how well that worked? If we ever get to vote on it, you have one job.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – The soft gray color of lichens against the emerald green moss. dscn2225 A few spots of color on the ground still: yellow, orange, and red. dscn2216 Bronze and orange bright against the gray gravel.dscn2218

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.} In the spirit of the season I watched Practical Magic (1998, rated PG – 13) with Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman, and Hocus Pocus (1993, rated PG) with Bette Midler, Kathy Najimy, and Sarah Jessica Parker. Such classics! * Season one of Netflix’s The Crown (2016, not rated) about the reign of Queen Elizabeth II. A good quality production with limited graphic sex and violence.

thanksgiving-border-clipart-rcg6xe4cl1

Currently Reading Hag-seed: The Tempest Retold (2016, fiction) by Margaret Atwood. Such fun with Shakespeare. No spoilers; if you love Shakespeare, a must read. * Back to The Nordic Theory of Everything:In Search of a Better Life ( 2016, sociology) by Anu Partanen. Long queue at my local lending library for this title; many people are interested in making our society a better functioning unit. I hope I can finish it this time. Ms Partanen is easy to understand, but I find myself contemplating how Americans have so distorted helping other people as somehow detrimental to forward progress, unlike so many other countries.

dtre4dx8c1

This week I have been grateful for:

  • A relatively dry week after a month of almost record setting rain. I love the rain, and I love a dry break.
  • How fresh the air smells and feels this time of year, before it gets much colder.
  • The abundance of stuff lying around indicating time spent researching, reading, and writing.
  • Being able to easily find something I needed in all the abundance of stuff.
  • Making a little time to put away a few piles. Glad some it went out with the recycles.
  • Clean clothes. And getting them put away.
  • Taking my time looking for the right new mattress.
  • Having the money saved for my property tax bill.
  • Being able to say: I love you, but let’s not talk politics. To friends and family.
  • Remembering everybody has an opinion and I don’t have to agree. I also don’t have to talk about my opinion.
  • Finding there are many things to fill retirement hours.
  • My home is still warm and dry.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, History, Photography, Poetry, Politics, Science and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude Sunday: People! Leave Those Clocks Alone!

  1. piratesorka says:

    DST….I hates it I do! I was talking with one of our elder gents at church and I was complaining how DST didn’t even matter to the farmers anymore, he chuckled and said ” It never was about the farmers, it was all about the trains during wartime…” It was an enlightening conversation to say the least.
    Now I must return to reading Pope Francis.

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

