Gratitude Sunday: Now For Something Really Scary

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Gray rain stay today,
we had sun yesterday, and
you can come again.

Sunday Musings
Vampires, goblins, ghosts, ghouls, golems, zombies, incubi and succubi, humanoid (or otherwise) aliens from outer space, banshees, harpies, witches and wizards, ifrits, monsters, shades, shadows, all manner of mythological things that go bump in the night, dragons, devils, demons, giant slugs from the Black Lagoon, lions, tigers, and bears, oh, my!

So many fantastical creatures to scare the wits out of you! And why do they scare us? Because they are not us.

You want to know what’s really scary? People. Other people. You know. Yikes. We always have to deal with people. We live with them, work with them (even if we work at home), we make decisions with them, we worship with them, we are served by them, and we serve them. Some people are just scary.

People who think they are above the law (or common sense) and text or talk on their (not hands free) phone while driving.

People who cut you off in traffic and then flip you off as well, as if you were to blame for doing something wrong, but you weren’t.

People who don’t teach their children manners, or teach them how to lie by lying to you in front of them. (I could go on and on about parenting, like letting kids run wild in public places, but parenting is hard, so I can cut a little slack here.)

People who think they are the only shopper in the store and take up the whole aisle or run their cart into you (while letting their kids run wild in the store).

Co-workers who smile in your face, and then use whatever you said against you to your supervisor.

Scapegoat workplace environments, thus all people who bully.

People who find pleasure in hurting others, such as lying about them in order to disrupt their lives.

People who have gotten so far away from the ways of nature and the universe, they have no sense of anyone except themselves.

People who think the word entitlement is the correct way to think against helping others who have less.

People who blame poverty on the people who experience it, and refuse to look at the socio-dynamics of poverty.

People who think they deserve good things, but the next guy doesn’t deserve those same things.

People who are narcissistic misogynistic bigots who think they could be president. Anywhere.

People who exploit others for profit. Not profiting for those exploited of course.

People who cut corners to save a buck to line their own pockets.

People who are slackers or aren’t honest about their abilities.

People who hurt others physically to satisfy their own sick needs.

That’s enough. You see what I mean. I realize much of this list seems judgmental. Perhaps they are. Perhaps I have such high standards I’m a closet snob. Pretty bold for poor white trash. Old fat poor white trash. I’m pretty scary when I get my cranky-pants on.

I’m just saying. I’m not saying I’m less than because of knowing what I am and the lineage I’ve inherited. I’m saying I know I also have a brain and a wit and I’m still able to use it on top of all the other labels.

No fantastical creature in anyone’s imagination is as scary to me as the behavior of people. Maybe I’m just luckier than most. I’ve had neighbors burglarize my house while I was on vacation; I’ve had landlords enter my home illegally and discard my property; I’ve had “friends” who’ve stolen cash and jewelry from my home and vegetables from my garden, and killed my pets; I’ve had employers change locks on me without warning and I’ve been terminated for odd or blown out of proportion reasons; I’ve been robbed by the IRS, the banking system, student loans, and mortgage interest.

That’s not to say good and great things haven’t happened along the way. But the pathway, which is the destination after all, since the last journey is death, has been scary. Like some out of control pinball I ping and beep from one barrier to the next trying to avoid the final fantasy. There is no easy time or relief from stress, there is only prayers for strength and fortitude to gracefully deal with the next barrier, the next person who does not give one rip about you but their job is about helping you.

I don’t need vampires to suck the blood out of me. I don’t need zombies to chase me. I don’t need witches to cast their spells or incubi to sit on my chest while I’m sleeping. In every room, around every corner, on every road, I have people to scare the wits out of me.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Autumn has a more subtle palette. A blushing hedge. dscn1069 Stark naked trees, nature’s strip tease in action. dscn9745 The weathered gray wood shed where the trees throw their leaf clothes onto the green moss carpet on the roof. dscn9644 A sedum garden between rocks and lichened concrete chunks. dscn0996

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.} In the spirit of the season I watched season one of Stranger Things (2016, rated TV – 14) a Netflix TV series about a boy who goes missing while his mother insists she speaks to him through the electricity. There’s a company doing illicit experiments, a portal to a different dimension, a fantastical monster, and a crew of young but intelligent people and their parents assisting in solving the mystery. Last episode left the series wide open for season two. * Hello, My Name is Doris (2015, rated R), with Sally Field, as an older office worker who has just lost her mother, who has a crush on the new (younger) guy in the office, and her fantasies about their relationship. Poignant and funny, Sally Field prevails again. Plus she’s looking dang hot for 70 years old. * New seasons of The Flash (2016, not rated) (season two) and Arrow (2016, not rated) (season four) are now playing on Netflix. Fun to enjoy these DC Comics characters brought to film, despite the violence used in the name of protecting the world. Ulterior motive: the son watches with me so he can remind me of what has happened before. He remembers the story lines verbatim while I could watch these programs a hundred times and not remember.

marvel-madame-hydra-cosplay-samsung-touch-screen-mobile-break-a-vf2dtc-clipart1

Currently ReadingGift from the Sea (1955, meditations and inspiration) by Anne Morrow Lindbergh, a soothing solitary adventure to the beach, contemplating the life of women. * Hag-seed: The Tempest Retold (2016, fiction) by Margaret Atwood. Just started, but already captured by the story. Shakespeare doth still inspire us.

1630454ft845y72r81

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Watching the squirrels, who have moved into my back yard, harvest and store their winter’s goods. We didn’t have squirrels when we first moved in years ago, then a neighbor cut 8 or so large oaks down and now we have a new family. They are so skilled at balancing on the tightrope thin fence, running straight up vertically, and dashing away from the cat, all with food or nest materials in their mouths.
  • The pile of maple leaves that fell leaf face down, stem pointing skyward like the prows of Viking ships.
  • Working with people who assume the best of me.
  • Assuming the best of other people. It usually proves right.
  • My (personal ownership!) local farmers and gardeners from whom I am able to purchase lovingly grown fruits and vegetables.
  • Changing my approach to housework. Instead of dreading it I break the work down into smaller tasks, and apply gratitude to the task: I am grateful to have dishes of my own to wash, in my own sink, with hot water at the turn of a tap, and soap I don’t have to labor over making. I’ve found this attitude makes the task a little less chore-like for me.
  • Time, being the interesting concept it is.
  • Electric lights for those gray late autumn days.
  • Sometimes enjoying the gray days with the lights off.
  • The joyful sound in certain noises, like ice tinkling against glass, or rain on the earth.
  • Laughing at Mister Kitty and his manipulation techniques when he wants to be fed hobbit style: 1st breakfast, 2nd breakfast, elevenses, dinner, tea, supper, evening snack. He’s so needy.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Careers, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, History, Nature, Parenting, Photography, Poetry, Politics, Science and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

