Gratitude Sunday: Magic Number 63

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Rain. Wind. Autumn storm.
Power of nature striking
Trees down like matchsticks.

Sunday Musings
I haven’t quite figured out how the math magic works yet, but since I have a birthday this week, I’m going to play with the numbers. Seems to me like 63 has some fun, if not interesting, factors to it.

63 ÷ 3 = 21. 2 + 1 = 3. 6 + 3 = 9. 9 ÷ 3 = 3. 6 ÷ 3 = 2.

Hwell. That was fun, but enough. Perhaps if I played long enough the connection would dawn on me, but I could also play with numbers all day long and not get to any correlation or conclusion of how magical and fun the number 63 is. One of my research sources claimed 63 is a lucky number and I’m telling you I could really use some luck. Suffice it to say I like the number 63.

I am amazed at being this old and, for all my knowledge and learning, knowing so little, which gives me plenty of opportunity to learn so much more before I leave this earth. I am amazed at being this old and being so immature. I am amazed at surviving this long after watching friends and relatives pass from this world even though they were younger.

I am amazed at the constant change of this female body. The doctors and so-called medical professionals have it all wrong. Menopause is a finite period of time in a woman’s life, technically that one day marking one year of freedom from monthly cycles. The experience of menopause (I really think it needs a different name) is not a one day event; it is a progression, just as puberty was. Dry now for 10 years this month you’d think I’d be done with hot flashes and night sweats, but no. My older friends assure me IT NEVER ENDS. There’s a delightful thought. We need to let our daughters and nieces know now that women actually talk about these body things. Once you start the hormonal changes of puberty, female changes are constant FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE. The minute you get used to how your body is BAM! Something changes.

We are pretty magical creatures. With the smallest bit of help, we create new human beings. And for some of us the big surprise: our bodies liked being pregnant so much even after our babies are long grown the body retains the pregnant roundness. Forever. We must be vigilant not to buy in to the preferred media images of the slender woman. We are not nubile forever. We are women forever.

As I age I become more used to the constant change, even though change makes me uncomfortable. It’s like surfing on top of the water hanging on for dear life so you don’t go under. I’m afraid if I relax and go with the flow it will all fall apart. Then again, perhaps I could let it all go and surf the fall. My inner control freak won’t let me give it all up and take that fall. I strive every day. It’s called kicking and screaming.

As I kick and scream into my 63rd celebration of survival in this crazy world, I look toward a new career, a re-made identity, magical numbers, and a wide open expanse of water to surf. As Gloria Gaynor said: I will survive. I don’t need to be a billionaire, I only need enough for small comforts: a secure home, a little warmth, a little food, many books, and the care of a few friends and family who love me.

Put those pom-poms together and gimme a kick for the six and a scream for the three. Do I hear a cheer for lucky 63?

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Rivers of green and yellow cascading grape leaves. dscn9584 The gray and brown of the mud puddle the birdies love to play in. dscn2901 Green and purple tipped sedums refreshed from the rain. dscn6699 Mister Kitty playing in the grass and leaves. dscn9603 One fiery, flame colored leaf. dscn9627

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.} Why We Laugh: Funny Women (2013, not rated) a documentary about women working in the comedy field, with Joan Rivers, Whoopi Goldberg, Kathy Griffin, and Kathy Najimy. Explores barriers to women in comedy and addresses the fear men have of funny and intelligent women. * The Big Short (2016, rated R), a disheartening movie about the manipulations of banks and banking for profit, and the collapse of the housing market and economy in 2008. I am not uplifted by the fleecing of American families at the cost of their homes and jobs. Meh. * Season one of Top of the Lake (2013, TV – MA [mature audience]) a BBC TV series on Netflix. A 12 year old girl tries to kill herself in the lake and a small town’s secrets are slowly revealed. Mayhem ensues.

pumpkin-border11

Currently ReadingWhen Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times (2000, philosophy) by Pema Chodron. Absorbing new thoughts, reinforcing old thoughts, slow going. Some books just require slow reading. * The Golem and The Jinni (2013, fiction) by Helene Wecker. Immigrants in fin de siècle New York City, Syrians, Bedouins, Arabians, European Jews from all countries, other Europeans, the people who brought their traditions and myths to a new country and who worked so hard to make our country: your great-grandparents and mine. I haven’t experienced the end yet, but already I know this book is on my recommended reading list.

pi5or7abt1

This week I have been grateful for:

  • A beautiful clear day on a shopping tour when I could see the top of Mt St Helens from the western edge of the Portland metro area.
  • The little brown birds playing in the mud puddle in my driveway area. They look so much like they enjoy all the splashing and tweeting.
  • Taking the time to enjoy a yellow leaf shower; I pulled the car over and sat there while the leaves rained down for the full leaf experience.
  • Not having any damage from the rain and wind storm that came through the Pacific Northwest.
  • The people I know living at the Oregon coast where the storm hit hard who were safe.
  • My roof not leaking during the heavy rain.
  • The grass in my yard, greened by the rain, patchworked with yellow leaves.
  • The brilliant color of the rainbow my sister and I saw as we were leaving the Tillamook Valley last week. Double rainbow and so vividly bright. I am also fond of the Bible teaching that says a rainbow is a sign of God’s regret about flooding the earth to destroy evil and his promise he will never flood the earth again because of his contrition. Interesting how we assign meaning. It never makes it any less fascinating to me to know scientifically a rainbow is the product of light hitting a rain drop at a 42 degree angle.
  • The love/hate relationship I have with my belly. Love = round, soft, Buddha-like. Hate = uhn, fat.
  • The smell of an old cedar tree after the rain.
  • The last of some sweet cherry tomatoes from the farmers market.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Careers, Education, Entertainment, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, History, Medicine, Nature, Poetry, Politics, Science and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Magic Number 63

  1. piratesorka says:

    At this point 63 means I am still above ground, which is still a good thing. I’ve been trying to read LITTLE HEATHENS which is set in the Depression and frankly it makes me depressed to read it so I’m giving it back to my co-worker. Now I have to plunge into “THE GIFT OF CARING” Saving our parents from the perils of Modern Healthcare, why this cheerful sounding book? Cuz it is work related. Such is life. Happy Birthday a day earliy ( 18? or 19?) Welcome to the world of 63

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

