Gratitude Sunday: Choose Your Own Adventure

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Drop by drop the rain
changes summer to autumn
cooling earth’s dry soil.

Sunday Musings
Some people enjoy adventure every day, travel the world, meet many new people, create art or businesses, commute two hours to work, experiment with fashion. Adventure is hard for others. That would be me.

I remember when my mom “retired.” Well, she started working less, and by that time she and Dad were divorced. Even though she was still working, for the first time in her life after raising 4 kids she had a little time on her hands. During this time, before she became so ill it was difficult for her to go out, she made it a policy to say yes to nearly everything. She traveled widely, she took chances with her art, she designed crafts from recycled materials, she had a little business selling those crafts.

Me, not so much. I dread shopping, coffee dates, trying new work or business ventures, volunteering, cutting my hair, trying new cosmetics, driving. You’d think I had a phobia. It’s probably tied up with that anxiety thing.

I’ve learned it’s best for me to face my fears and go for the adventure despite the trepidation. Why in the world would you do that if it makes you feel uncomfortable? Because I almost always learn something, or end up enjoying myself. Adventures force me out of, or straight into, the face of all my illusions. Worry or dread does not help, but they can use up lots of your time, eat you up, and become a habit. Does worrying change anything? Not a whit.

I haven’t learned how to not worry yet. I’m working on it. So I choose the adventure, remembering change is the only constant. And I create new illusions or new realities. I gain new successes built on previous skills.

We can put a positive frame on worry and change its application to visualization. The pitfall is avoiding visualizing negative scenarios. I’ve heard of people who schedule all their worry, or visualization into one tiny part of their day, which would limit the time you spent dwelling, because well, it’s scheduled, and you already did it for the day.

One thing I am good at is commitment. If I say I’m in, I’m in. I show up. I follow up. I guarantee you if I’ve faced my fear and called you and made a coffee date, I’m going to be there. On time. Maybe even early to get good seats. And as scared as I am, I’m going to have a smile on my face as much as possible. Unless I have a migraine staring me in the eye, then I will contact you and let you know I’m not going to make it. Not at the last minute.

Commitment is the ultimate form of courtesy. It says you care. You care enough to show up. You respect the person you are showing up for. It’s the stamp of approval for whatever adventure you have embarked upon.

You choose your own adventures. No one chooses for you. You get to make all your own mistakes and you get to celebrate all you own successes. What adventures are you choosing?

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Purple asters. 79696021 Creamy white pampas plumes. dscn1419 Yellow leaves as vivid as spring’s daffodils. dscn1612 A hearty peachy pink rose. dscn1375 Orange, and yellow, and red, oh, my! dscn1604 Interesting magenta seed pods I know not what they are. dscn1283

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.} Bridge of Spies (2015, rated PG – 13) with Tom Hanks and Mark Rylance, based on the story of Francis Gary Powers in 1957. I can see why this movie won Academy awards this year. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this movie, not a typical spy story. My favorite part was the three times during the movie when Tom Hanks character asked Mark Rylance’s character, “Do you ever worry?” to which Rylance replies, “Would it help?” Contemplative. I find it interesting how particular movies and novels seem to come at a time when they are needed in a person’s life. Recommended, and this is well rated, as some mature teenagers would find this a powerful movie as well. * The Queen’s Sister (2005, not rated) a sort of true, sort of embellished story of Princess Margaret, sister of Queen Elizabeth II. This was a sad, and somewhat creepy movie. I hope Margaret’s life was not as bad as they portray. Meh. * 10 Cloverfield Lane (2016, rated PG – 13), with John Goodman, a scary doomsday movie. Not recommended for children.

leavesandhat1

Currently Reading – Finished The Woman in Cabin 10 (2016, fiction) by Ruth Ware, understandably a best-seller. If you like British-style mysteries this story satisfies. * When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times (2000, philosophy) by Pema Chodron. I couldn’t read any more politics or stories about the abuse of American economics. I know people behave poorly in the name of profit, but the tactics of those individuals are so far from my heart reading about their shenanigans was making me ill to read about it. Because I am trying to heal from some recent events I switched to something more heart centered. If there weren’t so many books I haven’t read, this is one of those books I’d re-read two or three times a year. * The Golem and The Jinni (2013, fiction) by Helene Wecker. Traditional myths, magic, and modern industrial America. I am transported into another world of words.

nabor-3-belii-fon-f1

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Attending a Boy Scout Eagle Court of Honor. When you’ve watched the boy grow through the value system of scouts, it’s so rewarding to see him reach the highest rank he can. I think any young man who achieves this level is going to succeed in most of their life endeavors. I have no doubts whatsoever about this young man.
  • How refreshing the rain is and how good the earth smells when rained upon. There’s even a word for that smell: petrichor.
  • Loving new words. And still being able to learn them.
  • My squirrel-like curiosity.
  • Choosing new adventures.
  • Appreciating old adventures.
  • Remembering Mom’s adventures and adventures with her. It always seemed easier adventuring with her by my side.
  • Chilling of the autumn air.
  • The privacy of my own home.
  • Still being able to do most of my own housework. No matter how long it takes me.
  • Fresh Oregon berries still to be found at the farmers market.
  • Re-learning how to use my time.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Art, Careers, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude Sunday: Choose Your Own Adventure

  1. I LOVE Pema Chodron, if you haven’t read “Practicing Peace in Times of War” I highly recommend it. It’s short but it took me ages to read it because there was so much to digest.

    Liked by 1 person

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

