Gratitude Sunday: Winds Of Change

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Autumn comes on warm
winds and cool evenings, fresh air
caressing old skin.

Sunday Musings
Aahhh. The winds of change. Autumn blew in this week. The sun shines with less heat. The evening cools faster before the sun goes down. The wind is chillier on the skin. Winter is coming. Shawls and blankets feel sooo good.

I talk a lot about money, financial situations, the haves vs the have-nots, and poverty in America. I do not live in grinding poverty, let me say that right up front. I still have a house, I have a working car, I have an abundance of stuff, working appliances, heat and running water, and I have a bit of health left to me. That’s about three times more than most of the civilized or semi-civilized world. By American standards however, my treasures would be considered trash. As in poor white.

Now, you can pull out all kinds of labels and all kinds of reasons and all kinds of platitudes, but the truth is people in America don’t like talking about money. We’d rather pretend we have it all together, rave over those who have less than us, and rant against those who have more. If we talked about it we might realize some of us don’t have it as good as we think they do. Some of us put on a good show and some of us don’t care. Those of us who have enough don’t want those with less to see how much we have. Those of us with less want to appear as if we have more. Those of us who have more than plenty hide it so they aren’t pressured to share.

Most of us don’t need a lot. We just need enough. Enough to experience that feeling of security, of knowing where the rent or mortgage is coming from and no eviction notice is imminent, of being able to be clean and get to work on time, of knowing food will be on the table at mealtimes, and your family is comfortable, safe, and maybe even happy. I think these are reasonable expectations for all people.

Success at these meager goals happens for some of us and not for others, no matter the work put in by the individual. I wonder why some are successful and some are not. I don’t think there is a formula. Especially when so many voices who have tried and failed and tried again aren’t even heard. We do know it is hard to work your way out of poverty and poverty begats poverty.

We all have voices. We are all connected. We are one voice. We are all voices.

The Gathering of the Tribes of 2016 in North Dakota is part of the winds of change. For so many people to come together to stop the profit making oil machine is divinely awesome. Many voices coming together, many other voices all over the world joining their prayers for a healed planet.

Moving toward semi-retirement is in my wind and my voice is moving in a direction the wind has pushed me toward, one I’ve been drifting toward for many years. My winds tend to be watery, to have an ebb and flow, to move forward, then back, then forward again. Rather than call myself wishy-washy I prefer to think of it as taking an appropriate amount of time for a well-researched and educated decision. And I reserve the right to make mistakes and start over again. To move forward. To move back. And again. And again. As many times as the winds push waves against the shore.

I don’t have a gathering of the tribes taking place in my home, but in my heart the winds of change have moved me toward a new pathway. This little dirt path has my bare feet upon it and I move forward in creativity one step at a time, grounded, skin to earth, one connection here, another connection there. You never walk the pathway alone.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Autumn is the time of year when every leaf is flower colored. Yellow and red in a single leaf, with the company of a greyed bit of lichen and a tiny rose-gold twirly-gig. dscn1149 Red berries ready for the holiday season. dscn0878 An array of red, yellow, and green in a bushy border. dscn1069 The colors of light over a city street. dscn1077

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.} I’m always a season behind on most TV shows because I abhor commercials. I wait until the series comes out on DVD or Netflix, then I binge. Because I can. I spent most of the week in season 5 of Game of Thrones. No spoiler alerts in case you aren’t there yet. (I know, I know, season 6 is starting, but I don’t pay for TV other than Netflix. And then commercials, eww.) But just FYI, wow. The plot does twist, and twist again. * Eye in the Sky (2015, rated R) one of the last films with Alan Rickman, and starring Helen Mirren. The story is all over the planet about a military operation involving the chance of hurting innocent citizens and the decision making process the military, legal, and political people go through. The militarists were very aggressive toward using their technology and the technology was fascinating. Nonetheless it was frightening and eye opening about the many pass-the-buck techniques, and who would just push forward and pull the trigger vs those who would wait. * Needed to watch a couple episodes of the old Carol Burnett Show to get the taste of militarism out of my mouth. Lily Tomlin guest starred; I’m still looking for a scene I saw her in previously. I’ll find the scene someday.

autumn-border-made-leaves-pumpkins-berries-as-fall-background-space-334631201

Currently Reading – Politics is not my forte so my not totally grasping Why the Right Went Wrong: From Goldwater to the Tea Party and Beyond (2016, politics) by E. J. Dionne J is not a big deal to me. I often read things I don’t entirely “get” because I’ve put it into the neural net and somewhere down the line it clicks or starts to make sense. I complicated matters by starting Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right (2016, politics) by Jane Mayer, which came recommended by a city councilwoman for our little burg. I could be on political overload with the election around the corner, but if we don’t know the history how do we prevent it happening again? * Eileen (2015, fiction) by Ottessa Moshfegh. Listed as a thriller, the novel starts quietly until you realize things aren’t what they seem. Eventually you suspect something awful is going to happen from the tone of the narrator, but when it does there is also no complete revelation so the story leaves you wondering the true depth of the misdeed and whether or not the sub-story of the present is true as well. Creepy psychology of humans and the best kind of horror story: it leaves you wondering. * The Woman in Cabin 10 (2016, fiction) by Ruth Ware. A nice old-fashioned who-dun-it in the classic British style so far. Expecting plot twists soon. Half way through and haven’t figured out who-dun-it yet. Best thing you can say about any novel: I can hardly put it down. “Don’t bother me. I’m reading.”

il_570xn-820326253_4ti81

This week I have been grateful for:

  • The busy squirrel outside my aquatic center who has a lovely nest of dried leaves s/he’s made and watching him harvest the acorns from the tips of the branches and returning to fill his nest. At first I though he was practicing jumping until I saw each time he had something in his mouth. Quite an entertaining hour.
  • Visiting with a friend I haven’t seen since spring, who has a new grand-baby. Their whole family is thrilled with the new arrival, as far as I can tell. Who wouldn’t be, I mean, new baby!
  • The obliquely angular light that happens this time of year.
  • The hubster vacuuming my room when he did the rest of the house.
  • Looking toward a new career adventure.
  • Being able to bump up the font on my computer when my eyes get tired of reading small print.
  • A sprig of lilac I left by my work desk that, while dried and crispy, still smells every bit like spring.
  • Watching all the little birds getting ready for winter.
  • The variety of the harvest showing up at the farmers market.
  • Layering up in the morning and stripping off layers during the day. Owning the layers that make this possible.
  • My new blankie. Last spring I was suddenly unable to tolerate fuzzy materials on my skin (likely a prescription drug reaction). I hunted at Goodwill until I found a comforter that was large enough and smooth (probably a cotton sort of muslin) enough at a price I was willing to pay. Mister Kitty thinks I got it for him and is forced to share.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Careers, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, History, Nature, Photography, Poetry, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

