Gratitude Sunday: The Best Of Me

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Heated air makes sweat
rivers down my spine; quiet,
under the oak tree.

Sunday Musings
Sometimes when we start things they don’t go as planned. I started a post for today but when I looked at it again, I didn’t like the way it was going. I saved it elsewhere as it might be a good piece later. For now we are doing a re-start. The story of my life.

You’d think by now I’d listen to myself, you know, that phrase I keep coming back to about change being the only constant. I should know better than to get comfortable or complacent as change happens on the edge. At the blink of an eye, on the turn of a dime, on one breath of wind, one crashing wave. Change is more constant for people who are marginal, who don’t have enough, despite education, intelligence, the best laid plans, or the best choices. When the transition is upon you, the only path is forward.

All the career change books I’ve been reading lately suggest you make a list of what you do best and what your passions are as an exercise when you are in transition. I’m going to do that exercise here, but I’m going to have a little fun with it. Bear with me.

The best thing I do is complaining. That’s right, world class. No jobs available in complaining, though I find complaints are the best way to define problems.

I’m good at being snarky. I have little patience with inanity. Or liars. Or duplicity. Or inefficiency. Or incompetence. I’m getting old enough not to care. Just call me Maxine. See? But nobody likes a smart ass either.

I’m the best buttinski. I’m nosy as hell, curious too, and not afraid to ask you to tell me more. And I can fix all the problems you tell me about with my words, while my own life feels like a trainwreck.

I excel in foot-to-mouth-ratio comments. I’ve even managed a few foot twists in my time. Stuff just brain pukes out of my mouth. The filter between mouth and brain must get loose or takes some kind of weird vacation. Thus the engagement of the foot.

I’m really good at procrastination. I take my inspiration from Ellen Degeneres who says in one of her routines: “Let’s say we could save up a bunch of time and set it aside. You know what we’d do with it? Nothing. Nothing at all. Isn’t that the point? To be able to do nothing at all? But we’re not guaranteed that later-on chunk of time. All we have is here. And now. And that’s why procrastination feels so right. Procrastination is not the problem. It’s the solution. It’s the universe’s way of saying stop. Stop. Slow down. Procrastinate now. Don’t put it off.” I laughed so hard when I heard this bit, yet it seemed so spot on.

Alternatively there are some projects I am able to prioritize and get ‘er done without delay. It feels so good to check things off the list and the free time after feels like a gift.

I’m a critical etiquette queen. I like the old fashioned please, thank you, and you’re welcome. The correct response to “thank you” is “you’re welcome”, not: OK; yep or yup; sure or sure thing; you bet or you betcha; yeah or yeah, right; right; just so; uh huh; and absolutely not no problem/no problemo. And people who serve you over a counter or a table are not slaves or underlings to be abused at your whim. They are doing a job which deserves your respectful behavior even if they are government employees paid with our tax dollars.

I believe fervently in customer service. I’m good at it. You are helping the person you are serving have the experience they want or need. People want to be happy and they want to be respected. They can come in wanting to throw a fit because whatever you or your business did was wrong, and they leave me with a smile, happy to pay whatever they owed after understanding why they might not be right. Not that they knew that’s what I was explaining to them. They thought I was telling them they were right. This ability is a gift. It’s hard to explain.

I’m the best proofreader, and woe the book, news article, or blog that has more than two errors. I moan and groan and bewail the godawful editors and proofreaders who let the errors slip by. Beware the dangling participle, the misplaced modifier, and incorrect usage like its and it’s. I have a whole list of grammar pet peeves. Social media and memes make me crazy if there is an incorrect word or punctuation. Are people lazy? What in the world are spell checkers and grammar checkers for? I don’t want to use the “s” word, as most people have at least half a wit. We make mistakes, but grammar still matters. Words matter. Words matter.

The crossing of the full moon has taken place these past two days as I write this post. August full moon is the Sturgeon Moon or the Corn Moon, a moon signaling the harvest season. Seasons of change, seasons constantly changing. Never the same river twice. Change is the only constant. Om. Each day a gift: the same and different. Here. And now. Oh, and I’m good at letting my mind wander too. Squirrel. Re-start.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Then we have the delight of so many things we have to learn still. I don’t know the names for any of these flowering plants. The brilliant hot pink of this. DSCN5901 The interesting texture and range of color on this, a seed head? DSCN5925 The velvety texture, deep burgundy color, and finger-like shape of this. DSCN5988 The creamy white star-ness of this, with its internal golden array. DSCN5948

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ.} Viewing on hiatus for the 2016 Summer Olympics.

paragraph divider japan[1]

Currently ReadingHomegoing (2016, fiction) by Yaa Gyasi. A novel of a family history going back to the slave trade in the 1700s. Should be required reading. Born for This: How to Find the Work You Were Meant To Do (2015, psychology) by Chris Guillebeau. From the follow your bliss and the money will follow genre. Mind Your Manors: Tried and True British Household Cleaning Tips (2016, housecleaning) by Lucy Lethbridge. Same as American women wrote about during the late 1800s and early 1900s before modern commercial chemical cleansers, the basics: vinegar, lemon juice, beeswax, bicarbonate of soda, borax, hot water, and elbow grease. [This wasn’t in the book but ponder the thought of boycotting all commercial cleansers and reverting to these earth friendly unquestionably biodegradable cleaners.] This is the Part Where You Laugh (2016, fiction) by Peter Brown Hoffmeister. So far not much to laugh at in this coming of age young adult book, but an interesting approach to the struggles of teens living with drug abuse, poverty, and cancer. All the Single Ladies: Unmarried Women and the Rise of an Independent Nation (2016, women’s studies) by Rebecca Traister, so far a very interesting discussion on the dis-empowerment of the institution of marriage and the emerging power of women, who for whatever reason do not marry or re-marry, to shape our nation. Not the typical dry non-fiction, Ms Traister is an engaging writer.

paragraph divider japan[1]

This week I have been grateful for:

  • My pool pal with whom I share a truly open and non-judgmental dialogue.
  • My childhood friend who listens to whatever I say and loves me anyway.
  • The hubster. He’s there.
  • The son. A brilliant mind.
  • My youngest brother, who helps me with my car. He has a birthday today, getting older like me.
  • The flow, which requires an ebb.
  • Fans, window air conditioners, curtains, and Mister Wake Up Kitty who gets me up early to open the doors for a few minutes of cool air before the heat starts.
  • Ice packs to sleep with.
  • Paper hand fans for personal wind on my face.
  • Not having to go out in the heat much, and without a complete meltdown when I did.
  • Birdsong at twilight. Cricketsong after dusk.
  • Every day.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Careers, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

