Gratitude Sunday: Keep The Faith

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Perfect summer don’t
leave too soon, stay another
couple months or more.

Sunday Musings
Do you know faith? Do you know what faith is? Is faith a thing or just hope dressed up in a different name? I’m thinking too much again.

When one embarks on a new chapter in a life at the age of 62, especially when the chapter change is a surprise and not planned, faith can come into question. Especially if you are one of those many millions of us who are paycheck-to-paycheck people. You cannot do nothing. You must forge ahead. One needs money to live in this society and I am so spoiled it’s silly. I mean, I love my roof, and my bed, and my private hygiene facilities, and my hot and cold water at the turn of a switch, and electricity to let me publish what I write and provide me an additional form of entertainment, and a bite to eat a couple times a day.

This transition has been difficult, involving things beyond my control. It does no good to list or dwell on the negative parts of this situation. Reflection on improvement and recovery is the only way forward or the elephant in the room (depression + anxiety) becomes inflated.

So the faith in question is that the past is the past, and every day is a new day, and something good or better will happen, or you can make something good or better happen rather than dissolving further into poverty. Can the re-imagining happen? Can the re-definition become the new reality? Can the new job or work or earned income show up sooner rather than later? Can the golden internal light shine through the resting bitch face and the opinionated voice of age? It can be done. I read about it happening for other people and I’m grateful for their success. Can that change happen for me? Additionally for me, faith is challenged by physical and mental limitations that, surprise, surprise, accelerate as one ages.

Faith can be inspired by creativity and enterprise. One can open the mind to create jobs and work that never existed before. Creativity is never an easy path. Life is not easy for most of us. And for most of us it never gets easier. There must be a grieving/healing process for what was before the re-imagining and creativity can be effective. Healing can even be an integral part of the creativity. So many possibilities.

Long ago a friend advised me on the dangers of wanting an easy life. Easy doesn’t exist for some people. If you are going to pray for ease, best change to praying for strength to deal with the struggle. The struggle might be our most important learning curve. Funny thing is, by the time you figure out how to deal with whatever the issue is, it’s in the past. Good thing every new day is another opportunity.

One can only move forward. The past is, indeed, the past. No re-dos. There are new days and this moment and intelligence and enterprise and tenacity. Change is the only constant and there is only now.

I move forward in faith beginning to define the next chapter. It might not even be my last chapter and that’s interesting, to think there may be way more to come than ever imagined. I have many sources of inspiration, yet in the meantime I rely on simple platitudes like one can only hope. And keep the faith.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Hot pink and purple star burst fuchsia. DSCN6727Creamy white star jasmine. tthmb[1] Deeply maroon gladiolus. DSCN5663 Bee critter on pale pink mallow. DSCN5795 A different bee critter on a white shell pink old baby rose. DSCN5812

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ. Viva la différence!} Kung Fu Panda 3 (2016, rated G); sometimes you just need juvenile humor. I like this series because of the inspirational bit of wisdom delivered by diverse characters with delightful comedic tones. * Victor Frankenstein (2016, rated PG – 13), a unique re-telling of the old story. Daniel Radcliffe is decidedly un-Harry-Potter-like as Igor. A fascinating production with the violence kept to a minimum, I loved the sets and settings, the prop details, and the costumes. If you like this genre, this movie is worth a view, and could serve as a Halloween favorite. The Choice (2016, rated PG – 13), a romance from the novel by Nicholas Sparks, whose works seem to standardize the happy ending. This was an easy sweet story until the major conflict happened. So, spoiler alert, the wife has a car accident and experiences an extended coma. In desperation and longing, the husband re-creates a rustic gazebo reflecting the wife’s favorite memory, the wind chimes tinkle, lightning shoots across the sky, thunder rumbles, and suddenly the husband is running toward the hospital as the wife is having a miraculous recovery. That part of the story is all fine, really, but the wife never exhibits any kind of weakness, fatigue, or any other after-effect of months in a coma, which I thought was strange. Missed a beat here, but an easy little film otherwise.

divider[1]

Currently Reading – Homegoing (2016, fiction) by Yaa Gyasi. A novel of a family history going back to the slave trade in the 1700s. I know little of the African culture, the slave trade and British exploitation. I’m fascinated with the way the author is weaving the family stories with important pieces of history. Fiction can be the best learning. The Best Home Businesses for people 50 +: Opportunities for People Who Believe the Best is Yet to Be! (2007, self-employment) by Paul Edwards. Always learning, here I am looking at every avenue for resources and resource creation.

flowers[1]

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Getting closer to a resolution on a long-time stressful situation.
  • Looking forward to that closure, so I can commence the next chapter.
  • Still having a wit, as tired and wilted as it is.
  • A couple people who seem to understand me and support me no matter what.
  • Understanding “victim status” and working against its effects, within, despite, and because.
  • Not being a morning person but loving the outdoor smell of mornings.
  • Soft evening breezes through my screen door passing over my skin as I write.
  • Farmers market turning into social hour.
  • Fresh Oregon berries.
  • Watching Spanish TV shows trying to “intuitively” learn Spanish. Haha. I always wanted command of all languages as one of my super-powers. I need to invest in one of those new universal translator units.
  • Enjoying the Summer Olympics.
  • Being able to perform every sport in the Olympics, perfectly executed, in physical beauty and grace, in my entertaining dreams, not in competition, but in pain free mastery of my body. And dreams feel so good, when they are good.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch
Floral paragraph dividers by Susan Branch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Careers, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

