Gratitude Sunday: The Ocean Knows My Name

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Trees outside my screen
show silver undersides, soothe
with susurrus sound.

Sunday Musings
Oh, mid-summer days! When food is ripe and the air is fresh. When days are warm and nights are cool. The beach calls me, I have no need to hold a shell to my ear, I hear it calling in the push of the blood through my veins. The water calls me as each wave slaps the shore. The ocean knows my name.

August in Oregon is the month when the ocean might not be freezing cold, the sand might be warmish, and the coastal winds might be mild. Might being the operative word here. Oregon beaches are not tropical, and always dicey. You are just as likely to have rain as sun no matter the day. You can still have fun, just be prepared. Gear makes all the difference.

If, for example, you are a die hard beach walker, invest in a durable rain jacket and boots. I’ve never been a good camper, so these day I save up the money to get a motel room. I’m looking at the new “luxury” camping trend, with real beds under huge heavy-duty tents already set up for you, basically hotel service in the woods. May have to put that on my bucket list. And I might want to take a buddy.

The hubster and I stopped vacationing together many years ago, especially road trips. We have opposing styles that show no signs of being reconciled. He likes to decide right now, throw the tent, sleeping bag, and fishing equipment into the car and go, taking chances at getting any sort of campsite.

I’m the freak who likes everything written down, reservations made, schematic of the packing so I can find stuff, and a check list to make sure whatever went into the car comes home as well. I pack water and a little food, in case it takes us longer to get there than planned, make sure the car has been serviced, and check on my car insurance and road towing plan.

I know. I’ve had so many interesting challenges while on the road, I want to be over prepared. He’s experienced many of those same challenges, but he prefers to wing it, and figure out solutions as he goes along, rather than planning for contingencies. It’s OK to have different styles and it’s OK to have separate vacations.

We are able to do a day beach run together still. We live close enough to the coast within an hour or so we can be at the beach. For those day runs you truly can throw in a couple towels, bags for wet things, a dry set of clothes just in case, and go. These mid-summer days give enough time for a leisurely drive over the coast range, a nice lunch, a walk on the beach, maybe explore a store or two, and head back through the mountains late afternoon so we can be home before dark. By then the cat wants his dinner and needs to be let out as well. A very full refreshing day.

I like to go to the beach at least once a year. I need to make sure the ocean is still there. I need to breathe salt air. I need to feel the sea mist on my skin. I need to walk barefoot on the sand and connect electrically with the charge of the earth and water. In between visits to the beach it remains in my mind, the sea water waits for me, calling me, come back. The ocean knows my name. Come back, it says. Come. Back.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – A purple butterfly flower (I don’t know its real name) looking so much like, well, a butterfly. DSCN5706 Dahlias coming on, this pretty yellow orange version. DSCN5580
Pink dahlias feeling so fibonacci. DSCN5913

Current View – {These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ. Viva la différence!} Burnt (2015, rated R) with Bradley Cooper, another cooking fiction featuring a chef with issues. * Some Kind of Beautiful (2014, rated R) with Pierce Brosnan, Salma Hayek, and Jessica Alba, an older professor connects with a student, then falls in love with her sister. Mayhem ensues. * Kingsman: The Secret Service (2015, rated R) action/adventure with Michael Caine and Colin Firth. Spy plot with humorous undertones, and lots of fast action violence. Second viewing for me, plot and violence drags a bit, subtle humor saves it. * A few episodes of season three of Vikings (2015, not rated) a TV series with period settings, interesting adult presentation, plenty of drama, conflict, and swashbuckling Viking resolutions.

stripofflowers-500x62[1]

Currently Reading – The Turner House (2015, fiction) by Angela Flournoy, the story of a family and their house in Detroit where the couple raised 13 children and now the house is worth less than its second mortgage. The family must decide what to do with the house. The plot thickens as family secrets are revealed and the matriarch is dying of cancer. Your Complete Retirement Planning Road Map (2007, personal finance) by Ed Slott. Out-dated material; ordered newer version, on waiting list.

flowerborder-700x112[1]

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Trees and grass and flowers and weeds and wildflowers, and all growing things.
  • Having a little more time to cook, because cooking takes me a little more time these days.
  • A friend who waited a long time to marry the love of her life who recently added a son to their family, bless his little new-born heart, and how blessed they are with the family they are creating.
  • Waiting for my niece to have her first son in the next week or so. Praying all goes well.
  • Summer fiction.
  • The fresh smell of summer mornings.
  • Sweet air wafting through my open doors and windows.
  • The sound of the leaves in the wind outside my door reminding me of beach sounds.
  • Happy sounding birdsong in the morning.
  • Connecting with the woman who tends the chickens who grow the eggs I use after two or three mis-hits. Mmmmm. Fresh eggs.
  • Sucking on ice cubes when I am having a hard time with the weather.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch
Floral paragraph dividers by Susan Branch

This entry was posted in abundance, Entertainment, Family, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Nature, Photography, Poetry, Vacations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: The Ocean Knows My Name

  1. Mary Ann Cauthen says:

    Read your words twice this AM. I often think that my “Soul” was born in the ocean, because I feel a huge need to go there at least once a year. I often connect with your writings. Thanks for sharing. Mary Ann (GA – USA)

    Like

  2. I feel the same way about the ocean! I neeeed it.

    And that sweet purple flower is actually a variety of Lavender! Spanish Lavender, Lavandula stoechas, SO different from the English and French varieties.

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

