Gratitude Sunday: Energy Conservation

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Overcast clouds keep
days cool and refreshed from heat,
warm enough to play.

Sunday Musings
Recently my abundance included an energy conservation class. Same old stuff about turning things off when not in use, and carefully choosing what is the right way to use energy for your family. Some new stuff such as the comparison between the new light bulb options and what technology to turn off or unplug when not in use.

I loved it. Man, if I could get paid to go to class and learn, I’d be one happy camper. Reviewing this kind of information once a year can’t hurt. Put a couple other classes on the list like first aid, and emergency preparedness, no longer than two hours, make them citizen required at no charge to the citizen, and give the student a box full of goodies on the way out the door. I bet in a year or two we could even teach everybody to sew on a button.

I have a small collection of home health and hygiene books from the 1920s and 1930s. Doctors, nurses, nutritionists, farm wives, and home ec teachers all had something to say about keeping a healthy, efficiently run home.

Fascinating how these authors recommend re-using water. We used to share bathwater when we were kids. Did you? They also recommend throwing your soapy dishwater out on your vegetable garden, the theory being the detergent would kill bug type critters and not wasting the water they had to haul in from the pump. Who does dishes by hand these days? For that matter how many of us haul water in from an outdoor pump? And the detergent is so different I’m not sure you’d still be doing your garden a favor. If you think about it most Americans have magic in their homes: hot or cold water at the twist of a tap. Though we know the “magic” takes all kinds of work behind the scenes.

Electricity back then was still a new item. Because there was little known experience with it, many feared fire from the new fangled light bulbs and wiring, and these old authors caution to turn electrical appliances and lights off when not in use or when you are not in the room. The more things change the more things stay the same. We knew back then how to conserve. We know now. Sometimes we just need a reminder.

For example, my family has mostly natural air conditioning and heating in our home. At certain times during the day the doors and windows get opened or closed, corresponding curtains as well, and we take maximum advantage of the east/west orientation of our home for breezes and ventilation. We have one room with a window air conditioner that we turn on only on the hottest of days. Ceiling fans and strategically placed box fans move the cooled air to different rooms of the house. Alternatively I choose to wash some of my clothes with hot water when cold is recommended. So I pay less for heating and cooling and a little more for heating water. And another case of magical homes, flip a switch or push a button on the remote and the light goes on, the house warms up or cools down, the TV blinks on to your favorite show.

I’m sure I can find other ways to conserve like training my guys to turn off lights or TVs when they aren’t in the room. I’d like to put up a clothes line in the back yard, but I haven’t figured out a way to make everybody happy. It has to be between a secure fence post and the house, low enough so I can reach it, and high enough so the hubster can mow the lawn with his fancy 10 year old riding lawn mower. If I choose to use the neighbor’s fence post I have to make sure it doesn’t compromise the fence post in any way, like pulling it over. Many elements have to work perfectly together or it won’t work. I’m motivated by sun dried bed sheets. Divine feeling and fragrance to sleep with. Anything to help make sleeping better equals good. I do lots of figuring before I make something happen, trying to do it the right way the first time so I don’t have to re-do it. Thinking is conserving energy.

And financially isn’t it better to conserve your energy, pay less to the utility company, and spend that money elsewhere? I’m tired of paying my utility company for electricity. I want to help the son go to college. He needs to take physics.

He has been doing his own research and according to a source he is reading, he, we, somebody in the science and engineering world, should be able to build a quantum energy generator, which he explains as a sort of perpetual motion device. He says anybody can understand it and build it. He has explained it to me many times and I only sort of grasp what he says. So I don’t believe the “anybody can” part. My brain doesn’t go there. But some people can and boy, I could sure benefit from their/his knowledge. And so could so many other people. We could break the hold utility companies have over us.

Until I read stories about people being jailed or worse for producing their own energy. Or collecting their own rainwater. Now, come on. The universe gives us some things for free like the sun and the rain and the wind. If the almighty capitalist dollar is the only sacred thing we are lost. There will come a day when the powers that be will collapse and we will need the old knowledge again. Better to start practicing now, and sharing what we re-learn than to let the money grubbers win. Let’s turn some tables over, keep our money in our own pockets, and consciously use what the universe gives us in a truly sustainable manner. Turn off your lights. Don’t let the tap water run. Create heat by snuggling. Let love and knowledge be our guides.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Gladiolas in so many colors including this dark blue-purple. DSCN5528 Red orange canna lilies standing six feet tall. perennials-10-canna-lily-seeds-tropical-bronze-scarlet-canna-flower-wonderful-foliage-3_large[1]Fragrant creamy white star jasmine. Jasminum-Multiflorum[1]

Current View
{These are only my opinions about movies and books, but don’t let me stop you from trying these reviewed items yourself; your opinion may differ. Viva la différence!} Room (2015, rated R) with Brie Larson, from the novel by Emma Donoghue. I read the book last year. I don’t remember if I’d read the blurb or if I just saw it circulating a lot but I checked it out. Engaging, creatively presented, heartbreakingly twisted mystery (no spoilers!) based on a true story, it was one of my top reads for the year because of how well written I thought it was. Ms Donoghue contributed to the screenplay as well, and the movie did not disappoint. Casting was excellent, acting just right for the roles, mostly true to the original novel within the constraints of film, and aligned well with what I had envisioned when I read the novel. The novel has a bit more room for psychology, but the visuals of the movie and the acting of the players make this movie a worthwhile view. The difficult subject of a kidnapped girl, not for the tender hearted, but excellently done. * The Diary of a Teenage Girl (2016, rated R), in which a 15 year old girl loses her virginity. Meh. * Finished the last available episode of Hell on Wheels (2011-2016, not rated), a period TV series about the construction of the cross-country railroad in 1872. One of those series where the minute you become invested in a character they are killed off. The way of the West. I hope this was not the last episode ever; if so, it is incomplete.

flowerborder-700x112[1]

Currently ReadingTry Not to Breathe (2016, fiction) by Holly Seddon. Another mystery, but so far no one gets killed (yay!), though one of the main characters is “speaking” from within a vegetative state, which gives an interesting twist to the plot. You Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life (2013, self-actualization) by Jen Sincero. All the same tips: meditation, fake it till you make it, like attracts like, clear intention plus action equals manifestation, changing your vibration, forgiveness, and gratitude, etc. Never hurts to refresh; if I learn anything new in the last half, I’ll share. I think some people have self-confidence (either that or they are arrogant asshats) and other people agonize about every move they make and thought they have.

pink-flowers-500x134[1]

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Electrical energy.
  • Lunch out with a friend. Man, we tear up the world with our words.
  • A couple hours spent with a gal pal. We tore up the other half of the world with our words.
  • Sweet fresh green beans from the farmers market. Cooked my grandma’s way, with bacon, until they fell apart. Yum.
  • A juicy peach from the farmers market that dripped down my arms as I ate it over the sink.
  • The vendors at my farmers market all live in my community.
  • Just right for me weather, not too warm, not too cold, not raining right now. Though with this temperature I wouldn’t mind the rain either. Actually I kinda love the rain.
  • Watching the moon move across the sky, a white ghost on a blue backdrop in the afternoon east of the house to a shining yellow half disc on a black velvet matte on the west side before I went to bed as I drank my before-bed-glass-of-water looking out the kitchen window.
  • The vast amount of choices and the decisions and consequences (some unintended) that follow.
  • Listening to the neighbor kids playing and yelling outside at 9:00 PM on mild summer nights and remembering how much my siblings and I enjoyed being allowed the special treat of staying outside to play on mild summer nights until dark came.
  • Every year my little semi-rural college town hosts a classic car show, and though nothing takes place within a half mile of my home I’m fascinated by the change of frequency and vibration that happens in the whole surrounding community. About 6:00 PM, by the time everyone has cleared out, and all the classic cars are taken home to bed, the frequency will change again this evening. Such an interesting feeling.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch
Floral paragraph dividers by Susan Branch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Education, Family, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, History, Photography, Poetry, Politics, Science, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Energy Conservation

  1. piratesorka says:

    Good stuff to chew on there! I have always been disturbed every time I hear about folks who don’t know how to cook past putting a box item in the microwave and ZAPP it. There are intelligent people out there who are absolutely stymied when presented with a recipe or lost while reading the directions on a box! I have often thought of putting together a simple ” Cooking basics” class at the local community college level I remember taking a “Chinese Food 101” class at Milhi as part of Adult enrichment. I knew how to cook, I just wanted to learn the secrets to what made Chinese food so yummy! It was great fun.
    Mother did not enjoy cooking so she enrolled me in a local 4-H group next door. That was pretty smart for her, not only did it keep me entertained but it gave me all the basics we all needs as well as cooking safety rules.
    You know…. I bet you could assemble a good class like this on some of your ideas!

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

