Gratitude Sunday: Not That I’m Counting Or Anything

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Hot nights, hotter days
weather so much warmer than
memories of youth.

Sunday Musings
After last week’s pity party I thought it would be a good time to do a self-evaluation since I am in transition between jobs. I was statistics queen in my last job. These days the way I remember what I’ve done is by keeping a notebook and logging businesses I ask for work, apply to, tweak resumes and create cover letters for (individualized for each place of business), people I’ve talked with, and many other details. I was doing some number totaling in my notebook to make sure I am making all the effort I can to find employment. At one of the classes I took at the local community college the instructor said employers complained that one-third of their jobs went unfilled. Other research on people over 60 looking for work quotes an average of one year before a new job is found. Yikes! Here are some of my current numbers.

Months without work: 3.

Months with zero income (including unemployment “insurance”, what an oxymoron): 3.

Jobs boards signed up with and checked two or three times every week: 15 +.

Job classes attended through the local community college: 2.

Cold calls: 7.

Applications filed on-line: 6.

Applications dropped off in person: 3.

Resumes created and dropped off in person in addition to the ones included in applications: 13.

Cover letters created and dropped off in person in addition to the ones included in applications: 13.

Follow-ups (I checked back with the potential employer): 3.

Skills assessment test at employer: 1.

Interviews with employers: 2.

Official turn-downs (thank you, but letters or e-mails): 3.

Heard nothing back from: all the rest.

I’m going to call that a valiant effort.

In case you are wondering, here’s what I have to offer: I’ve had more than 40 years work experience. I hold three college degrees, 2 Associates, and 1 Bachelors. I’m 62, fat, many (hidden) health issues that do not keep me from working (though I can no longer stand for more than 30 minutes without pain), I am fortunate to have even facial features and straight teeth albeit with RBF (resting bitch face, no, I’m not angry, mad, or upset, it’s just my face), a silly cheesy smile, and a smart inquisitive mind. I’m clean and tidy about my personal hygiene: I shower daily, use deodorant, brush my teeth and hair before visiting a potential employer in any way. I don clean clothes every day and don’t wear yoga pants, sweat pants, or jeans when visiting potential employers. I’m a self-learner and curious enough about many disciplines to teach myself. I’m not a good driver. I own a property tax bill and a mortgage. I have an interesting (maybe wacky) sense of humor.

I feel I’ve been creative in my job search given my abilities, applying for jobs I remotely qualify for and at a lesser salary, even in industries where I’ve had no background, and being honest and realistic about my limitations. I don’t want to think I am disabled (yet), I’m not raising children under 18, and I’m not ready to retire yet, so no financial help from tax payers (including the taxes I’ve paid all these years) in the form of Social Security will be forthcoming for a few more years. I’d like to work in a job that’s suited for me. I just need somebody to take the risk that I can do their job to the best of my ability. I don’t think that’s too much to ask.

It may sound like I’m whining or complaining, but I prefer, rather, to stick that positive frame around these numbers as an indicator of how hard I am working to find work after my last job was shockingly ripped away from me. Just the facts, ma’am.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – still more old pictures. My sedum’s creamy white blossoms, so hardy to tolerate so little attention and still bloom.
DSCN4220 Neighbor’s colorful firecracker lilies. DSCN4355 Some sort of hot pink pinks. DSCN4304

Current View – Finished season 2 of Netflix’s Bloodline (2016, not rated) with Sissy Spacek as the matriarch of a family who owns a vacation inn in the Florida Keys along with a plethora of family secrets. Compelling mystery with the tagline “We’re not bad people, but we did a bad thing.” No spoilers. * Started several mystery series that I couldn’t get into: Southcliffe (2013, not rated), just kept getting dirtier and grosser, I was done after about 20 minutes; Marseille (2016, not rated) set me on edge when the first scene is the Mayor snorting a line of cocaine despite the program being in French (I don’t mind subtitles); Peaky Blinders (2013, not rated) a BBC production about poverty and corruption after WW1, I might go back to this series later. Luther (2010, not rated), a BBC production with Idris Elba as a detective with anger issues. One episode was enough. Maybe I’m just not in the mood for dark and disturbing plots right now. * Started Rosemary and Thyme (2003, not rated), another BBC mystery series, but lighter with some humor, predictable and formulaic. I like the female protagonists. I’ll watch more of this series * Miss Julie (2014, rated PG-13) adapted from the 1888 August Strindberg play, a good example of violence without vulgar language or brutality. An upper class woman, likely suffering from mental health issues, seduces, orders, and mistreats her father’s valet into having sex with her and after punishing him for his actions, commits the ultimate act. Dark, disturbing, the differences in class and sex are at the core of this movie. * The Hateful Eight (2015, rated R), from Quentin Tarantino, up to his typical oddball tricks, 3 hours of the weirdest and and most violent western I’ve ever seen. Just wow.

get-attachment.aspx_6[1]

Currently ReadingThe Woman in Blue (2016, fiction) by Elly Griffiths, the latest in the Ruth Galloway series. Ruth is an archaeologist who consults with the local police. One of the best Britmystery series I’ve enjoyed and this one doesn’t disappoint. Life Without a Recipe (2016, memoir) by Diana Abu-Jaber, an English and writing professor at Portland State University. Love reading local authors and Ms Abu-Jaber has a lyrical way about her writing. Her novels, like Arabian Jazz (1993, fiction), are good reads as well. Yes, concurrently.

flowerborder-700x112[1]

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Waking to another day.
  • Fresh Oregon cherries available this week at the local farmer’s market.
  • The fragrance of strawberries on my fingers after I put this week’s batch into the fridge for my daily dose.
  • Gathering my courage to make cold calls for finding work.
  • A couple of friends who seem to understand me and are willing to listen to the good and the bad.
  • The stalk of dark purple, heavily fragranced lavender liberated from a neighbor’s sidewalk bush.
  • A job interview.
  • Books and movies keeping my brain active. Always learning.
  • Being able to access the internet (post modem dial-up) while being on hold on the phone.
  • Having food in the fridge, freezer, and cupboards for this self serve household when nobody can agree on what to eat.
  • Research revealing this new bout of memory challenges and vivid bad dreams and nightmares are a prescription pharmaceutical drug reaction.
  • The internet to have the above information at my fingertips instead of having to make a trip to my local lending library.
  • Still having a wit or two about me.
  • The son helping me flip my mattress.
  • The hubster finding me a block of wood to place under my laptop to get ventilation so it doesn’t get so hot and then finding me a wrist rest to accommodate the height rise out of the abundance of stuff in our home.
  • Finding a new pair of swim flip flops so I don’t break my ankles. My last pair had striped ridges on the bottom ground surface but were slick on the top foot surface, and I kept slipping off them. I put up with them for the last year. This pair has criss-cross ridges on the bottom ground surface and on the foot surface as well, and straps that hold my feet in instead of me having to hold onto the toe divider with my toes. Much safer! And I had watched them for about a month until they went on sale and was able to apply a coupon savings as well. Yay!
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch
Floral paragraph dividers by Susan Branch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Careers, Education, Entertainment, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Medicine, Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

