Gratitude Sunday: Just Stop It!

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
March, you lioness!
Your voice roars through bush and tree,
proclaims early spring.

Sunday Musings
You know what day it is. That day we lose an hour. The day that leads to a week of disrupted sleeping and eating patterns, and you know there’s that thing about eating: input and output. The first day work production is decreased for weeks. Till fall. Then we do it all over again.

I’ve said repeatedly how much I dislike Daylight Saving Time. I’m cranky about it twice a year. The “facts” claimed in support are so strange when the science states the opposite. One of the benefits of retiring might be not having to live by the clock. No more getting ready for work in the morning? I’m looking forward to it when the time comes.

When I retire, I could play with my clock and look forward to other things. I might write up my Bucket List, which will include a wide variety of museum visits, flower and garden shows, learning more history, and maybe some volunteering. Those things need a bit of planning and require a clock, so if I want to participate I’ll have to have my timing down. I bet I could spend my retirement entirely ignoring Daylight Saving Time. I want it to be a few years yet before I get to that part of my journey.

In the meantime, because of my current trauma/drama this disruption comes at a rough time for me. I don’t remember if I told you: I’m a good complainer. I’m excellent at it. It’s how I define problems. But then, I figure if I take the time to complain and define a problem, I am also responsible for suggesting solutions. I’m pretty good at that too. Nobody likes to hear a constant complainer, but a complainer with all kinds of resolution ideas is a whole different game.

I can’t stop Daylight Saving Time. Yet. I can take care of myself. I can be more careful driving in the next couple weeks. I can make sure to get my regular exercise, eat my healthful foods, and be patient with myself when my sleep is disrupted maybe even catching a nap if needed. I can be patient with other people who are going through the same biological changes and might be grumpy as well.

Another technique I use is playing my clock game early on. Early Saturday evening I change my clocks. I have gradually learned the earlier I do this on Saturday, the easier it is during the rest of the week. It’s like being a whole day ahead of the clock game. I started out changing my clock before bed, then at 10:00 PM, then at 8:00. The last couple years I’ve changed the clocks at 5:00 PM and it’s even better. It seems to help at both the year’s clock changes, forward and back.

To go along with that I don’t watch television Saturday night. Skip the news and Saturday Night Live. It’s not that funny any more anyway. I watch DVDs or Netflix, but don’t depend on the clock for entertainment viewing. Sometimes I read instead.

I don’t usually go to bed at the same time. I go to bed when I’m tired. However, I always get up at the same time. Daylight Saving Time messes with my morning. My room faces east and my body wakes with the sun. I like to get up at the same time every morning, and my body knows where the sun is and what time the clock says. This clever old body can coordinate the reality of nature with the construct of numbered time. Quite an amazing feat if you think about it. DST mucks that up. At least two months or one sixth of the year my body is adjusting to time changes. No wonder work production goes down and people get cranky.

Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad if I didn’t contemplate clocks and numbered time as the human construct it is. A whole bunch of record keeping of the natural world took place before people realized there was a pattern to our days. Day after day, season after season, year after year. And a whole bunch of imaginative people thought up numbers and how to assign them to the passage of the day and through the night.

Imagine how interesting our society would be if people went to work or did their jobs or their art whenever they want to. As often as they want to. Every day of the week if they want to. Start their day when they want to. Work as long as they want to. Take breaks when they want to. You’d have to make special efforts for team work, undoubtedly. I know. Maybe too chaotic for thought. Just imagining.

I’m a naïve but consistent voter. A complaint has no value if you don’t vote. The political process overwhelms me. To begin to learn about changing the legislation for stopping Daylight Saving Time looks distant right now. In my small letter writing and blog posting way, I make my complaint. The resolution looks easy to me. Just stop it!

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Yellow-green catkins on a weeping willow. DSCN9950 Yellow pollen filled corpses of willow catkins. DSCN9952 A creamy white magnolia. DSCN9970 Fuzzy brown bud bracts that pop off the magnolia flowers when they open. DSCN9965 A wind blown remnant from a pine tree, deep green needles and red-brown seed pods. DSCN9956 Help yourself garden boxes are popping up in my town. DSCN9989 Ghostly white leaf skeletons clinging to the concrete sidewalk. DSCN9993 Pointy pale green daffodil buds promising tomorrow’s pretty yellow blossoms. DSCN0023 A chorus of blue grape hyacinth accompanying bright daffodils. DSCN9981 Papa, mama, and baby grape hyacinth. DSCN9977

Current View – Finished the current seasons of Arrow and The Flash. For a comic book production, with vigilante violence throughout, I enjoy the scientific elements. Star Trek changed a generation of people who saw there might be a different future. If you have to introduce quantum and nuclear and astro-physics as possible careers to our young people, may as well use a poplar format like these TV series. The next generation will change the future as well. * The Song of Lunch (2012, not rated), a BBC production with Alan Rickman and Emma Thompson. A literary film poem, one of those arty things I am amazed at, thinking for days afterward, how did they make that so different and interesting. Artists! Wow! * Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (1991, rated PG-13), a retelling of the classic story in the classic movie with Kevin Costner and Alan Rickman. A repeat viewing but it’s been many years. Rollicking swashbuckling and fun to watch over again.

flowers[1]

Currently Reading – The Sweet In-between (2008, fiction) by Sheri Reynolds. Ms Reynolds’ storytelling knocks me out, engaged within the first page, hooked and led not necessarily to a predicable conclusion. Sweet is a coming of age story of gender identity and dysfunctional families. How to Have a Good Day: Harness the Power of Behavioral Science to Transform Your Working Life (2016, neuropsychology) by Caroline Webb. I like to read above my level sometimes, and my mind is so scattered, I feel I am only “getting” part of the principles the author is laying out, though she is easy to read. I continue reading because I feel like I’m still putting the information into my little neural net and might be able to access the information in the future. I might read the book again at a later date as well. I used to have a college instructor who repeatedly said “repetition enhances learning”. He said it so often I won’t forget it. Yes, concurrently.

flowers_24[1]

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Baby steps of progress during this transition time.
  • Marking off items on the to-do list.
  • Habits I learned when I went back to college 20 years ago: do it now, so it’s not hanging over your head; keep a notebook with dates and take notes; ask questions, ask questions again if needed; copy all notes jotted on other pieces of paper into the notebook.
  • Good timing on walking outdoors in the fresh March air between rain showers.
  • Finding joy and refreshment in being outside no matter how slow I move.
  • Finding resources for assistance.
  • Getting through some low spots in the week.
  • Learning how to tell people I’m not ready to say what has happened in this latest event. Trauma is like that.
  • A lovely visit with a supportive friend who brought my family a meal and gifted me with a heart shaped rose quartz. I add it to the little tray of crystals I keep next to my bed. Sometimes woo-woo stuff helps you through times of focusing your faith and confidence.
  • Company coming to inspire a little cleaning. Good thing she won’t know how dirty my bathroom was before she visited. Acceptably clean now. Even if the rest of the house isn’t.
  • Indoor plumbing and being willing to tackle the clogs. I am the plumber in the family until it comes to taking things apart.
  • Girl scouts. And their cookie sales. I buy too many and then give them away. It’s fun to drop them off at the pool and the fire station.
  • Using up some food in the freezer and cupboard that needed using.
  • Fresh asparagus on the market.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Entertainment, Exercise, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Nature, Nutrition, Photography, Poetry, Politics, Science, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Just Stop It!

  1. Joy says:

    LOL with the woo woo, i know it! But put it with the sunshine and friends and coffee and good sleep and every bit helps. Wishing you all good things.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Gratitude Sunday: People! Leave Those Clocks Alone! | Sassy Kas

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

