Gratitude Sunday: System Down; Reboot

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Green buds push against
winter’s hard soil; cold will warm
them into flowers.

Sunday Musings
When I am ill I sometimes find it difficult to think, not that thinking is easy at the best of times. Usually I think too much. And it’s even harder to put two words together and have them come out of my mouth making sense or land on a sheet of white paper comprehensively. But then, when I’m ill, I can’t do anything but lie there and think. Does that ever happen to you?

It’s a normal natural response to illness, I suppose; the brain and body are working overtime to get both back into proper working order. The system is literally down. I get out of bed with all these intentions and plans, then I’m lucky to get a glass of water and drag my bootay back to the queen’s lair.

This wouldn’t be so bad if it didn’t happen so frequently. For me the hardest part is we are programmed to be human doings, constantly working, doing, being productive; illness rather forces me to just be. Lying there just being and listening to whatever my little brain can cobble together for sense gets old after a while. I’m rather addicted to constant stimulation, you know, working, reading, watching movies, aerobics in the pool.

We don’t get to control our bodies; they are shaped the way they are and they react to illness and insult the way they do. That we believe we can be in control is a popular concept and it supports a 7 billion dollar diet industry and the same with the pharmaceutical industry though I would guess there is a lot more money involved in stuffing us with drugs. In reality, when illness strikes we have to go with the flow and get through it. Sometimes we resort to their drugs and sometimes the drugs do no good. The body heals itself no matter what we ply it with.

Today I am grateful to be out of bed, for knowing the old ways of natural medicine, for being able to do my grocery shopping for the week, having a home cooked meal in the oven, and looking forward to Downton Abbey tonight. If you are still able, enjoy every minute; it can be gone in the blink of an eye, or lost over the last 40 years.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Oregon winters are all about gray, green, brown, and occasionally white. Eerie curly naked brown branches against snow clouds; DSCN9731 stark birch branches and the fluff of a leafed tree (oak?) in a gray sky; DSCN9745 the lacy feeling white snow gives to evergreens. DSCN9740

Current View – The Picture of Dorian Gray (1945, not rated) with George Sanders and Donna Reed; nothing like those old black and white movies and their special effects. Cinderella (2015, PG) a Disney production directed by Kenneth Branagh, with Lilly James (Downton Abbey) and Richard Madden, all the glory of a Branagh production with the whimsical element Disney can provide. I was relieved it wasn’t a musical. Loved the story, the sets and settings, the costumes, the acting (well, it’s acting), and the fantastical elements. The Ballad of Narayama (1983, not rated), a Japanese film (thank God for sub-titles) about a village tradition of carrying the elders up the local mountain to die when the elder turns 69. A bit grim, but I would call this a significant movie for the sheer humanity it portrays.

chinese-lanterns-vector-33042[1]

Currently Reading – The Ghost Fields (2015, fiction) by Elly Griffiths; The Shaking Woman: or A History of My Nerves (2009, health) by Siri Hustvedt; Conversational Intelligence: How Great Leaders Build Trust and Get Extraordinary Results (2014, inter-relational psychology) by Judith E. Glaser. Yes, concurrently.

I can’t believe how fast I finished my Winter Classic, The Picture of Dorian Gray (1890, fiction). Maybe it was the week off from work, maybe it was the large print, maybe it was the lyricism of the Victorian language. Oscar Wilde’s adventure into degradation, mayhem and murder, turned out to be a quick read. I have a nice list of women authors I want to read before March, Women’s History Month.

Chinese-lanterns-2[1]

This week I have been grateful for:

  • The comfort of my own home dealing with a couple days of illness in privacy.
  • Paid sick leave.
  • Having a job I can still do.
  • Pain, every step reminding how alive I still am.
  • Still being alive.
  • Waking for another day.
  • Knowing I’m feeling better when I can watch Downton Abbey.
  • Feeling well enough to do this Sunday post.
  • Noisy flocks of geese playing follow the leader.
  • The neighborhood snowmen after last week’s snow.
  • Balmy heat wave weather (47 degrees!) after a cold bout.
  • The few extra minutes of light each day.
  • A friend, whose granddaughter got married last weekend, who shared the pictures and wedding stories and is now on baby-watch for the other granddaughter-in-law, so her first great-grandchild. Exciting times.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Exercise, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Medicine, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

