Gratitude Sunday: Welcome 2016!

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Morning rain freezes.
One fine delicate snowflake
becomes fat snowstorm.

Sunday Musings
2015. Another year. Another journey around the sun archived in the memory banks. Another catalogue of memories, greeting cards kept, souvenir programs from theater attendances or dance recitals, movie ticket stubs. Another calendar boxed up with the year’s invoices.

A new calendar to grace the wall. A new gridded cascade of days to create new memories. A new set of folders for this year’s invoices. A new folder on my computer for this year’s writing. Every day a new beginning.

I had fun last year writing a bucket list for the year. I only this month looked back at it and was surprised at how many of the items I had forgotten, the lovely brain being what it is. I will change that by putting a monthly reminder on my calendar and read this new 2016 list once a month. I reserve the right to carry over goals or not as per my own personal whimsy. My life has always had to be so serious and responsible it is only now I am seeing how to lighten up a bit.

I’m not going to reiterate last year’s list. You can view it if you’d like here. I am going to create a wish list this year. I have no magic wand or fairy dust nor a benefactor or patron to support my work; my wish list is about my dreams of a more perfect world.

I wish for:
**A solid roof and decent walls and a safe bed for every person who needs them.
**Fresh locally raised food for all people. Green garden belts in every community. Subsidized family farms.
**Clean water and fresh air in all communities. World wide.
**Retirement for those who need it. Gainful satisfying employment for those who want it.
**An opening of the hearts and brains of the billionaire class that they would realize they are where they are by the hard work, diligence, and grace of the rest of us.
**People who see differences as bad to realize we are more alike than different, those differences usually being superficial or constructed. Intellectual judgments of differences suspended. Open hearts toward similarities.
**To have just enough to experience the comfort I think I want for myself and others. The luxury of not having to worry about bills being paid and food on the table.

Every day is what you make of it; now is the only moment we know. Some days we are productive. Some days we need down time with a comfortable chair and a good book. Some days we race through the chores. Some days we nap. They are all good days totaling up to good years. What’s on your list for the upcoming year?

Welcome 2016 with new goals and an open heart. Plan your days and let them surprise you.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – colors of the week are green and gray, but today, today the color is white. White surprises us and covers the yard. DSCN9663 White sprinkles the layers of green sedum. DSCN6919White snowdrops caught in mid-air as it frosts the trees. DSCN9661

Current View – Heidi (1937, G) with Shirley Temple, a Christmas classic. When Heidi is stolen from her grandfather nobody believes what the little child says until Fraulein Rottenmeier’s evil is revealed. It’s a Wonderful Life (1946, PG) with Jimmy Stewart and Donna Reed, an annual traditional viewing. Even if you are not terribly sentimental this movie should be viewed at least once in your lifetime. Inside Out (2015, PG) animated psychology, how a little girl grows and a fantasy world of what might go on in a person’s mind. Interesting approach and very fun. Last Man Standing on Netflix, Tim Allen in the lead role, so nice to avoid all the commercials and have something to laugh at.

border_7958c[1]

Currently Reading – Bastards (2015, memoir) by Mary Anna King; Conversational Intelligence: How Great Leaders Build Trust and Get Extraordinary Results (2014, inter-relational psychology) by Judith E. Glaser.

I remember every year when I start a new Winter Classic how I have to slow down to read these tomes. One cannot rush through The Picture of Dorian Gray. Oscar Wilde’s words of art and philosophy require dissection and reflection.

Yes, concurrently.

8d4edf6cbec7259e367050f7a43de718[1]

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Surprise snow. Frozen water.
  • Having all my errands done and a full pantry before the snow came. No panicky adventures to the store for milk or TP.
  • Having vacation pre-scheduled and not having to think about going anywhere in the snow and tucked snugly into my little home.
  • Having my home office desk space set up so I can watch the snow out the window.
  • Having all the Christmas lights on as the snow falls.
  • Power staying on. Contemplating how our society has become so accustomed to electricity.
  • Listening to the cat play with his new Christmas toy. He doesn’t like me to watch him play, so I got a toy with a rattle in it so I can hear him. He likes shiny things especially if they have feathers. Go figure.
  • My home so warm knowing how cold it is outside when the snow comes.
  • Warm clothing and layers if needed.
  • My new fluffy pink cow slippers. Soft. Warm. Cushy. Silly fun foot luxury.DSCN9654
  • Getting to spend a couple of hours sharing stories with an older friend on Christmas Eve.
  • My pool Santa treating me to See’s Chocolates, my fave.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude Sunday: Welcome 2016!

  1. Michelle says:

    The snow was such a lovely post-Christmas surprise! It was so nice being all cozy and warm inside (I, too, got cozy new slippers!) and peeking out at the snow coming down.

    Happy New Year friend!

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

