Gratitude Sunday: Stop Wasting Time: End Daylight Saving Time Now

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Disguised in scary
colorful costumes trees writhe
in warning. Beware!

Sunday Musings
Halloween, despite being my favorite holiday, depresses me a little. It means October is history, and the year is 5/6 gone. The year is nearly over. Again. Reversion to standard time is on the schedule as is payment of property tax bills. Thanksgiving. Christmas. New Year’s Day. I am holiday challenged. Read: I don’t do them well. My solution is to simplify as I do less each year.

12191421_974287055943132_1599206743915441954_n[1]

So, here we are. The first day of November 2015. Today, as we do once every year we get to go back to the future by setting our clocks back one hour. We get to relive one hour of the year. I’m not saying that is a good thing as I object to the whole concept of Daylight Saving Time. You’ve read my previous rants about Daylight Saving Time. To change the clocks twice a year for no sustainable or justifiable reason and mess with the body chemistry of an entire nation is not just unconscionable to me, it’s flat out crazy. I read one argument that if a person is healthy there should be no problem adjusting to the change of time. I suggest the person who made the argument is not only unhealthy (and does not know it) but is also disconnected and/or insensitive to nature and the grounding of the earth. As so many are these days.

If we do abolish Daylight Saving Time, I will not miss revisiting the same hour twice in the fall, because the cheat happened in the past with the lost hour of the spring. I’m not that clever girl who gets another hour’s worth of work done. I don’t throw another load of laundry in or clean the corner that begs for cleaning. I gratefully fritter it away with my love for reading or puzzles or photography. I’m not an expert at puzzles or photography, but an extra hour with a book? That’s my idea of luxury, of abundance, of treating myself, instead of the trick of an extra hour of work.

In Oregon, two bills are on the docket to end Daylight Saving Time. Reviewing the action on these bills was disappointing as there has been no perceivable action from the public’s point of view. These appear to be simple straightforward bills which should take little time to discuss and pass. How many hours can we use tax dollars to kill these bills in committee? Many it appears. Seems like prioritization is it order. Focus on one bill, pass it or dismiss it, check it off the list, and get on to the the next. Spending one hour a month on a bill and dragging it out for years is not cost productive or efficient. Could this be one of the symptoms of the damage of accumulated years of twice yearly time changes? If it is a means to job security for our legislators by dragging this bill out, for shame. Make a decision. End Daylight Saving Time and even our legislators may end up working more efficiently.

I’m going to throw a load of laundry in, write a couple letters to my legislators, and get back to my book.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – colors can be brilliant or subtle this time of year, like the mystical green of a backyard blackberry patch; DSCN9641 the variety of leaves underneath the tree ranging from pale yellow to darkest burgundy; DSCN9634 the shades of brown as downed leaves age next to emerald moss; DSCN9644 dripping pale yellow leaves ready to exit the branch and join the leaf pile below. DSCN9633

Current View – Jagged Edge (1985, R) with Jeff Bridges, Glenn Close, and Peter Coyote, a who-dun-it with thriller overtones. Properly scary for October movies. Bingeing again on The Blacklist with James Spader, guilty pleasure, viewing all that violence that has no part in my life feels a bit voyeuristic. Interstellar (2014, PG-13) with Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway, Michael Caine, Ellen Burstyn, a future where the earth is dying and viable planets are being sought to save humanity.

de13e44a55de98e0bada1f3388d86a4f[1]

Currently Reading – The Rosie Effect (2014, fiction) by Graeme Simsion; The Crossing Places (2009, fiction) by Elly Griffiths; Health at Every Size: The Surprising Truth About Your Weight (2010, health) by Linda Bacon; The Miracle of Water (2007, science) by Masaru Emoto. Yes, concurrently.

Seven weeks now to consider my Winter Classic selection before the solstice. Even though my degree is in English Literature there is so much I haven’t read yet. Every winter I tackle a classic to add to my mental reference base. Remember the guidelines?
Winter Classic Reading rules:
1. You must never have read the book before.
2. The book must be recognized as a classic, and can be contemporary.
3. Extra points if you’ve never read the author before, if the author is female, or if the title or author have won a Pulitzer or Nobel Prize.
Winter Classic Reading choices under consideration as of today:
Rebecca (1938) by Daphne DuMaurier (never read this author, female author).
The Picture of Dorian Gray (1890) by Oscar Wilde (never read this author, controversial author).
Any suggestions for the list?

fall-leaf-border-hth[1]

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Rain.
  • Coffee.
  • Cream.
  • Breaking fevers.
  • Hot washcloths for uncomfortable sinuses.
  • Finally feeling better after a sinus infection, even though antibiotics had to be applied to do so.
  • Feeling better enough to read.
  • DVDs and movies at the touch of a remote control button.
  • Hot tea and coconut oil.
  • Talking on the phone with one of my aunties who I still have. She always remembers my birthday with a card. Her legacy? She raised two Eagle Scouts and had donated almost 300 hand made quilts to children in need.
  • Wind and leaves snowing from the force of it.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, History, Photography, Poetry, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude Sunday: Stop Wasting Time: End Daylight Saving Time Now

  1. piratesorka says:

    I’d like to suggest The Picture of Dorian Gray.by virtue of the author and story. Your Auntie sounds fabulous, what a kind soul. My brothers and sis-in-law have decided along with me not to give presents this year but keep it to stocking gifts. Small things. And so goes Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

