Gratitude Sunday: A Great Day For Chalk Art

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Chalk upon concrete,
Joyful noises fill the wind,
Color lit by sun.

Sunday Musings
Every year my little burg shuts down Main Street for a couple blocks and artists of all persuasions invade the community spaces for a few hours on a September Saturday and we color the sidewalks with chalk. The weather cooperated with a warm clear day. Our local art gallery/art education center/art association sponsors the event and hosts a handful of professional artists. Artists of all ages and abilities attend. The event is not about talent, it’s about art. It’s about playing with chalk on concrete.

Me, for example, I’ve had not one speck of formal art training, though that’s not the literal the truth. Back when I was in grade school we had an art teacher who came into our school once a month and we went to a special room where we could play with finger-paints, watercolors, clay, and all manner of lovely artistic messes. In high school we still had professional art teachers, but I was never counseled to choose art classes. These days most schools have no arts programs whatsoever. We are lucky in my school district there are a few art classes at the high school level, much too late in my opinion, as the love of art should be encouraged from kindergarten forward. For some students art is the only reason for formal education.

Chalk is my forum. It doesn’t matter how it looks. My art can turn into great beauty, or it can be a platform for dissent, or a memorial to people who have meant so much to me. The son usually complains nobody reads the words on my art, that the event is supposed to be about pretty pictures, which is what he considers art to be. I maintain if I am going to get down and crawl around the ground making marks with pieces of chalk, I can put anything I want on my little square of concrete.

I chose to do a memorial this year for a man who meant much in my life. Sorry, no pictures for the privacy of his family. This man always had a smile and granted me the courtesy of intellectual discourse, never talking down to me, believing I understood all he was talking about, patiently entertaining my curious questions when I didn’t understand, listening and honoring my opinions whether we agreed or not. He was a very special person and I am sad for myself and his family he is gone.

Without further ado, I share some of this year’s more accomplished artists of the chalk. You can see the diversity of artist’s choices for subjects and a range of talent. What strikes me as most interesting is somehow artists seem to draw with a theme. Notice after the first drawing, the next three include birds, and the others following involve water in some way. Synchronicity? Artists often think for months before about their subjects, so maybe the ideas are in the ether.

A religious icon.

DSCN9501

A tree branch and sweet birds.

DSCN9319

A brilliant peacock.

DSCN9484

A field of flowers with chicken.

DSCN9420

A bridge in Gaston, a nearby community.

DSCN9354

A cabin in the woods.

DSCN9377

A sea monster and ship.

DSCN9505

A fisherman and his fishes.

DSCN9434

A soothing strip of sand and sea foam.

DSCN9404

I hope you enjoyed this short tour of Chalk Art 2015. The Art Association sells almost two hundred squares a year so if you come on down next September you can see much more. Or you can see this year’s if you visit before the rain comes and cleans the canvas.

As a nod to art, please see my new feature below: Current View, where I share the latest movies or film series I am watching along with a brief pre-view.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – if you ever wonder what to do with your hell strip, grow food, grand orange orbs of pumpkin in large and small are fun to watch grow and provide good eating as well; DSCN9267 DSCN9273 a tangle of pale pink fairy sized flowers on long wand-like stems I don’t know the name of; DSCN9343 some of my favorite orange Chinese lanterns; DSCN9492 sun glow yellow and green leaves turning to autumn; DSCN9506 a sun globe yellow-orange zinnia; DSCN9401 hot fuchsia pink zinnia living in the same pot; DSCN9403 is this a blue trumpet flower or a morning glory? Loved its neon shade of blue with purple comets streaking away from a star bright white center. DSCN9260

Current View – Season one of Atlantis. A BBC production encompassing many Greek myths in an unusual and humorous manner.

paragraph divider 18[1]

Currently Reading – Secondhand (2000, fiction) by Michael Zadoorian; Finding Peter: A True Story of the Hand of Providence and Evidence of Life After Death (2015, biography); Shakespeare’s Wife (2009, history) by Germaine Greer. Yes, concurrently.

imagesW9V3MIP0

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Being able to get down on the ground again this year to crawl on the sidewalk.
  • Being invited and able to attend a scout’s Eagle Court of Honor. I’ve watched much of his scout career and counseled him on his first merit badge (Reading). This scout has had some adversity in his life loosing his mother at an early age and I am so happy he accomplished this goal.
  • Visiting briefly with some scout friends I don’t see often.
  • My electric automatic clothes washer and dryer, that work for me while I do other things, like writing this blog or scrubbing the floors or scrambling around the sidewalk with a bit of chalk.
  • Cool crisp late summer mornings.
  • Warm late summer afternoons.
  • A really ripe and really fresh pineapple in spite of the carbon footprint.
  • Bacon, wilted spinach, and farm fresh eggs.
  • The few minutes I enjoy sitting on the couch video viewing before I begin snoring.
  • Fast forward, fast back, and replay.
  • The sweet soft susurrus of the wind in the neighbor’s deciduous trees in September.
  • Pictures. Which can convey thousands of words.
  • Words. Which can make imaginary pictures.
  • You. Because you bothered to read me today. XOXO.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Art, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: A Great Day For Chalk Art

  1. piratesorka says:

    I so envy you for getting down on the sidewalk and working with the chalk. This is such a fantasic community building idea, I sort of wish Gresham could do it but I have no idea how to carry it out. I admit I have lately gotten into Adult ( not XX variety adult) Coloring Books and am enjoying myself immensely as I carefully ponder each color I use as I work on my page. Tis lots and lots o’fun!
    Miss you terribly and miss you well.

    Like

  2. heathermama says:

    wow! the art is amazing! thank you for your lovely words. 🙂 have a great week.

    Like

  3. Joy says:

    Love the chalk art. I can’t believe that you guys don’t have much art in your schools and some not at all! Its given the same sort of time as PE and music here in the UK. I cant imagine it being absent.

    Like

    • sassy kas says:

      Most of our schools have cut PE and music classes as well as theater, wood shop, auto shop, you know, all the things that make school live for young students. It’s a travesty. And the results are showing up in the work place with young adults not knowing how to work or work together. Thanks for reading me!

      Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

