Gratitude Sunday: Talk, Listen, Hear

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Weather, weather, who
turned on the heat? One day’s rain
welcomed to cool off.

Sunday Musings
Professional behavior does not come naturally to me. I have to work at it. No wonder I’m exhausted by the end of the work day. Double duty.

harried_woman[1]

I live in a small town and work in that same small town in a homey atmosphere where kids grow up to bring their kids back. Even with people I haven’t met before we share a school district, local shopping, traffic, and event experiences. If somebody starts to chat about anything local, I fall into the abyss of conversation. With people I know? The mouth has to be reined in. Timing is crucial.

Customer services issues? I can match story for story. School district failing our kids? Please, don’t get me started. Kids misbehaving? Let me tell you. You feeling poorly? Tell me all about it. Had a recent loss? Let me share your sorrow.

Now, if I can steer the conversation to have a speck to do with the business I’m in, I might get away with this, but as I say the chasm for me has a slippery slope.

The other day I was sharing the work space with my supervisor who has spoken to me about this tendency to engage too much. The abyss presented itself. And widened as the minutes progressed with this customer service encounter. It’s like my brain switches over to chat mode.

And then, bless her, the supervisor shoots me the hairy eyeball which I was able to see thanks to still functioning peripheral vision. I don’t know if the family I was serving saw the look because it was aimed directly at me, but I was empowered to cross that bridge and close the gap, able to end the conversation before we really got going, thankful for the hairy eyeball reminder.

I love other people’s stories. I’ll ask you questions until we have exhausted the subject once you get me started. Being able to gracefully keep the conversation short (very, very short, minute, I mean, tiny, gnat sized) is a skill I’m still learning. Because. People are so darned interesting.

Perhaps I don’t have quite the perfect fit in my work (or maybe so), but until I figure out what the right, different, or better one is I continue to do double duty. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

imagesW9V3MIP0

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – the abundance of creamy Queen Anne’s lace growing everywhere; DSCN4680 ripening red plums, tree bling; DSCN8585 favorite colors skyful pink, blue, and creamy pale yellow wisps; DSCN8606 the bee critter sucking down the morning glory pollen; DSCN4684 sunny golden yellow sunflowers. DSCN6044

Currently Reading
A History of Loneliness (2015, fiction) by John Boyne; 5 Steps to Professional Presence: How to Project Confidence, Competence, and Credibility at Work (2001, business communications) by Susan Bixler; Empty Mansions: The Mysterious Life of Hugette Clark and the Spending of a Great American Fortune (2013, history) by Bill Dedman. Yes, concurrently.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • A short staycation ahead of me.
  • Remembering to start the to-do list for staycation time at the beginning of the staycation. I like to get my stuff done and then have days left over to lie around and read.
  • The air on my skin, warm, cool, breezes, humidity.
  • The charm of old black and white movies capturing slices of time.
  • Innovative new computer generated animation.
  • Compelling stories.
  • Getting through a day at work with muscle spasms from my waist down to my feet without saying a word to anyone about it.
  • Friends who take the time to listen, and then share as well.
  • Pens and paper.
  • The places my imagination presents.
  • The talent and craft of some writers I’ve read recently. I love good stories.
  • Cool breezes of sweet fresh air through an open door.
  • Hazardous waste day and getting rid of some chemicals that were more than 25 years old, some of them to the point of gross and possibly dangerous. Safe disposal.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Careers, Education, GRATITUDE, Health, Photography, Poetry, Vacations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Talk, Listen, Hear

  1. piratesorka says:

    Why oh why are you reading a book called the History of Loneliness??? I pray its a work of fiction. I always thought that as a librarian it would be fun to ask people what they are reading all the time. I’m curious that way, Right now I am reading stuff for work, work,work…and Spanish! Actually that is for work too but so far it is fun! However I really truly would LOVE to find a babelfish and stick it in my ear. If you do not get the reference, well…have I got a recommendation of a fun read for you! Enjoy your staycation!

    Like

    • sassy kas says:

      I loved studying Spanish. Checked out music CDs in Spanish (learned how to merengue), and children’s books, familiar stories, Three Little Pigs, Billy Goats Gruff, Aesop’s Fables, and others for fun. Wanted a bablefish brain to make languages easier, intuitive. See my book reviews on my From Me 2 U page.

      Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

