Gratitude Sunday: Time And Time Again

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
White water vapor
cloudly embraces coast range
foothills, rain refreshed.

Sunday Musings
Last week you graciously read another essay regarding Daylight Saving Time. This year Daylight Saving Time starts earlier than last year and ends later also. It’s just by a few days but if we keep pushing it earlier in the spring and later in the fall eventually the dates will meet and it will negate itself and sanity will be restored through a natural timing out process. I haven’t done the math but I don’t want the process to take that long. I might not still be organic by then.

Readers, it looks like enough Oregonians and Washingtonians and other Americans have had their fill of it and the question may be going up for a vote possibly as soon as the November 2015 election.

Interestingly, the people who have defended Daylight Saving Time to me are in their 30s and 40s. They grew up with it; they’ve never known any different. They also claim people don’t care. Could it be their body chemistries have altered in some way to not be affected by it? I suspect not, especially when seeing so many health problems in younger people we used to see only in elders. Could Daylight Saving Time be a culprit in the increased incidence of diabetes, heart disease, obesity, allergies, asthma, and sleep challenges? My theory is they just don’t know different and will enjoy the difference if we can make it happen; it would be difficult to prove the above medical connections, and we could spend tons of money trying. Why try proving anything? Let’s just stop the game. Just because we can play this clock game doesn’t mean people need to be playing soccer or gardening at 10:30 at night because there is a speck of light left. What do you think we invented stadium lights for, after all?

Oregon state bills before the senate this year calls for the discontinuation of Daylight Saving Time to take place in 2021, if Oregon State Bill 99 passes. SB 690 calls for immediate cessation of Daylight Saving Time. Statistically younger people vote less than older people so if the usual older contingent shows up for the vote it may just succeed. Oregon makes it easier for voters by mailing ballots directly to you along with a voter’s information pamphlet a few weeks before election day, so voters have time to do their homework and make an educated decision; all you have to do is vote and return the ballot by 8:00 PM on election day.

The excuse used for the 6 year delay for the change is technology; it will take that long to figure out how to make all our computers and smart phones and TVs and cash registers and other electronic equipment to stop making the twice a year time change. Pardon me while I try to control my snort laughter.

My local bank still has one of those electric time and date reader boards outside their building. It takes them weeks to remember they have to change it by hand because it is not controlled electronically, so every time you drive past you think you are an hour late for whatever the day’s engagement is. They would not have to employ any brain cells toward remembering the reader board if we discontinued Daylight Saving Time and I would not have that little “oh, my God, I’m late” moment every morning until I remember they haven’t changed the board.

I thought technology was supposed to be at the forefront, fast, efficient, cutting edge. Why 6 years for technicians and computer whizzes to figure out how to make the change? Too many martoonies at lunch? A way to pad their own sense of job security as in “Wow, man, no rush, we got 6 years”? Yes, I’m being facetious and I would expect them to have a viable logical reason as to why.

Let’s consider Arizona and Hawai’i, who do not currently employ Daylight Saving Time. Their electronic clocks and smart phones and TVs and cash registers aren’t automatically making that clock game change twice a year. Or are they? Do manufacturers make special equipment for those states? I doubt it. If the equipment is changing automatically, people must have some quick and easy way to make the programs not make the change. Certainly this knowledge can be made known on a state by state or nationwide level to stop the time change madness until the technologists finish their 6 year project of deprogramming equipment. If the technologists make it so all new equipment must be purchased to make the time change stop, shame on them.

Whatever. Why wait? If voters of the state say discontinue this wacky experiment, why not January 1, 2016? I’d be willing to re-set all my clocks when it comes around in March or whatever date it is next year, just to avoid the clock game change and what it does to me until we get equipment “figured” out. We’d only have to do the re-set once a year at the March date, immediately cutting the hassle by half. That’s good math. And better health for Oregonians.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – so many varieties and shades of yellow daffodils coming on strong; DSCN3403 fluffly ruffly creamy dreamy orange and yellow daffodil; DSCN3234 some of my favorites: little white violas, soft green mosses, dandelion leaves; DSCN3260 dwarf yellow iris. DSCN3388

Currently Reading – The Martian (2014, science fiction) by Andy Weir; Making Yourself Indispensable: The Power of Personal Accountability (2012, psychology) by Mark Samuel; Mr Strangelove: A Biography of Peter Sellers (2002, biography) by Ed Sikov; Toxin, Toxout: Getting Harmful Chemicals Out of Our Bodies and Our World (2014, environmental health) by Rick Smith and Bruce Lourie. Yes, concurrently.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • The kind service person at the Safeway help-line who helped me understand what happened on my Safeway account and gave me a courtesy discount. Thank you.
  • The sweet hard-working mom of a child who has epilepsy who took her precious time to hand write me a thank you card for a tiny donation to Epilepsy research.
  • Glorious rain. The sound, the smell of wet soil.
  • An older friend who kept me in the loop so I wouldn’t worry about her being home alone with a medical issue.
  • Social media friends asking for prayers and wellness energy for their friends and relatives, and sending those thoughts out to strangers and friends. Because I can.
  • The abundance of food and real food choices especially when I believe each community needs to feed itself before we can feed the world.
  • SPRING, glorious spring.
  • Birdsong, frogsong, and squirrel squeak in my own yard.
  • Every spring I look forward to the first fresh asparagus because I love it thanks to my parents, my dad who grew it, and my mom who made the best creamed asparagus ever.
  • Secret guilty pleasure: having Glee on the TV in the background while I am writing on Saturday night. I want to say it’s about the music and then I end up enjoying the over-acted, over the top characters and the soap opera stories.
  • Whatever it is about Michael Jackson’s Thriller that gives me a little adrenaline rush all over my body every time I hear the song.
  • Earning un bon-bon after cleaning up a really ugly mess that’s been waiting for me for months (read: it was worse with wear) after a long day at work.
  • Vivid fascinating night sleeping dreams. Imaginative daydreams.
  • This forum to share my voice with the world as silly or strident as it may be. Admiring other writers who share their voices as well.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Nature, Photography, Poetry, Politics, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Time And Time Again

  1. piratesorka says:

    I have to say my recovery from Daylight Savings time this year has been one of the hardest I have ever experienced. I felt out of sort, slept weird and was LATE all week long. Good riddance to it I haven’t found anyone, young or older who likes it.
    So there.
    As for dreams, I seem to have vivid lively dreams. I almost call them movies these days… as in “Hmmm I wonder what sort it will be tonight” just not much in the way of comedy darn it. Some have bordered on horror or mystery but my mind seems to ward those away.

    I feel the same rush about Michael Jacksons Thriller as you do. In fact, I have very clear memories of time and place when I first heard it. I had newly moved to San Francisco to start my graduate studies and I was living with my dear friend John Souza ( may he rest in peace) and his not so dear partner Randy. The year was 1983. Funny I can feel that place and time so well even now. Thank you Michael Jackson and may you rest in peace also in that Never Neverland in the next dimension.
    Well thats it for my wandering mind for now. Easter will soon be here and I have a lot more left to do before it does. Namaste my dear.

    Like

  2. sassykas says:

    Miss p; I agree, body/mind still on lag time this year. The dream that brought this up was about San Francisco. Noo-ne-noo-noo.

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

