Gratitude Sunday: Time To Write Your Legislator

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Daffodils are not
the only sunny blossoms;
dandelions rule!

Sunday Musings
Daylight Saving Time is on my list of least favorite events. So many things are wrong with the concept and so many poor excuses are deployed to keep it in place. Here’s just a few on the cranky list.
1. Time is not “saved”. It is only a clock game. The day is the day; the sun moves through the sky; the earth moves around the sun. It doesn’t change no matter how we change the clock.
2. The first week after the time change production decreases and more accidents and deaths occur.
3. Farmers fought against it; they did not support the concept. Ever.
4. It disrupts the body in such a way as to cause physical and psychological issues and contributes to the aging process.
5. No energy is saved. Whether it’s dark in the morning or evening we turn on the lights.

For some of my formative years, up until the mid-1960s, I did not experience daylight saving time in Oregon. I remember my folks making a big deal out of it because those were the years kids were safe to wander the neighborhoods returning home only when streetlights and house lights came on or Dad whistled, which ever came first. With the clock game children were out later at night and parents got nervous when their little chicklings were not roosted before dark. I’d like to live a few of my later years without the silly clock game.

So what can we do about it? It took legislation to put Daylight Saving Time into place. It will require legislation to remove it. Write your legislator. Yes, a real letter on paper by snail mail, not e-mail; e-mails are too easy to delete. Write more than one letter. Write several. Encourage your friends to write. We could have a “Stop Daylight Saving Time” letter writing campaign. Live longer; write a letter.

Here in Oregon I have had a very good response from Jeff Merkley’s office; when I write a letter I get a phone call and they continue to call until somebody talks with me. Do you remember what that’s like? Talking? Sharing information and opinions? A conversation about why you have concerns? Yes, I’m impressed my tax dollar pays for conversation about concerns between real people. This will help you, your family, your community, your state, and your nation.

Many years ago I discovered if I am awakened by an alarm whether it be a bell or music, I am irritable and more cranky throughout the day. I taught myself how to use the light of day and birdsong to wake up on time. I have learned to use a few “tricks” to help myself make the spring change when the clock steals an hour. I’m sharing in case these tips might help you.
1. I change the clock early on Saturday evening, about 5:00 or 6:00 PM. I don’t watch much TV and when I do it’s more or less random depending only on the remote button, so I don’t use that schedule, and when I’m writing on Saturday nights I rarely look at the clock. If I have an event scheduled, well, I’m not going to miss that event unless I’m too sick to go.
2. I go to bed early Friday night. 30 to 60 minutes seems to work for this and for the following.
3. I get up earlier than usual Saturday morning.
4. I go to bed early Saturday night. Remember I’ve already set my clocks ahead earlier in the evening.
5. I get up earlier than usual Sunday morning.
6. I go to bed early Sunday night.
7. I get up at the regular time Monday morning.

This method seems to help me get through the spring change. Your results may differ.

Sleep is often problematic for me so I try most new recommendations I come upon. One year I stayed up so late both Friday and Saturday night by Sunday I couldn’t see or think and was so glad to go to bed then overslept Monday morning. I didn’t think that worked so well for me but I tried again the next year with worse results. I shouldn’t have to experiment with my physical system to accommodate a legislated clock game.

I’m willing to try new ways. I’m going to write my state’s legislators. Arizona is Daylight Saving Time free and other states are working toward the same. If enough people say and enough states legislate it for their states we might be able to eliminate it nationwide.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – blooming seems out of order this spring, some blossoms are very early, and others are coming slower; different varieties of blossoms that usually come at similar times are not. Even more sadly where are the bees? Sweetly scented pristine white hyacinth; DSCN3300love the belled shape of these old fashioned pale yellow bulbs; DSCN3371 sunny happy petals of dandelion; DSCN3261 chaotic tangle of many shades of pink cherry tree blossoms. DSCN3444

Currently Reading – Dear Committee Members (2014, fiction) by Julie Schumacher; Making Yourself Indispensable: The Power of Personal Accountability (2012, psychology) by Mark Samuel; Mr Strangelove: A Biography of Peter Sellers (2002, biography) by Ed Sikov; Toxin, Toxout: Getting Harmful Chemicals Out of Our Bodies and Our World (2014, environmental health) by Rick Smith and Bruce Lourie. Yes, concurrently.

Did you join me in reading this year’s Sassy Kas Winter Classic choice, Anna Karenina? After 771 pages I am glad to be back in the light of modern day. I also understand the critique of “dreary” now as – spoiler alert – Anna throws herself under a train after she drives herself crazy with jealousy and self-pity and her lover marches off to war while giving their baby girl to Anna’s never-divorced husband. No grieving is mentioned for Anna but another character in the other interwoven love story contemplates why he’s here on earth. So. Now I have read Russian literature. Maybe I’ll live long enough to want to read another.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Being done with Anna Karenina.
  • Having some new fiction ready to read after 771 pages of 19th century Russian literature.
  • International Women’s Day. March 8, 2015.
  • Star Trek, the fascinating TV series that aired from 1966 to 1969 (I’m sure I watched them all back them; it was so excitingly different! Such diversity!) and is constantly in re-run, which gave so many young women ideas about what they could do with their lives.
  • Making myself take a risk.
  • Pain free time without pharmaceuticals, which don’t work on me anyway.
  • Being able to move toward pain free time. Motion is lotion.
  • Removing three pounds of winter fur from my legs. It’s about being able to move.
  • My Christmas cactus brightly blooming again for the second time in 6 months.
  • Being warm enough to comfortably open doors and windows for fresh air in March.
  • Fresh night air.
  • Living in a semi-rural area where the air pollution is light to none.
  • Sleep. Whatever I get. According to reading some sleep experts I probably get more than I think. I like that thought whether I feel restored and refreshed or not.
  • The full moon shining in my office/living room window as I sit and work. Watching it make its progression upward into the sky.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, History, Nature, Parenting, Photography, Poetry, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Time To Write Your Legislator

  1. piratesorka says:

    I did not join you in your reading of Anna Karenina because I had already read Crime and Punishment by Dostoyevsky years before and had already decided that if that was one of the best examples of Russian Literature then I did not want to waste one more minute of my time on any more. So far I have been quite happy with that decision. There are too many other interesting books out there waiting for me! Besides…I already knew Anna died by suicide. Buzzkill.
    As for writing a letter regarding Daylight Savings time I shall happily join you on that one! Did you know more people die of heart issues on these two days when twe switch? We had someone kneel over at the morning mass today and had to be carted out by ambulance. No idea what the outcome was but I’ll probably hear about it tomorrow at work. Never a dull moment.

    Oh, here is a fun fact for you: As I have aged I have less and less hair on my legs. No forest for me any longer. Not that it much matters. *shrug*

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

