Gratitude Sunday: Spring Is In The Air

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Long yellow catkins
dangle from nut trees; pollen
floats upon the wind.

Sunday Musings
Here in the Pacific Northwest we have had a light lovely winter unlike most of the East Coast which has been inundated by weeks of blizzard weather. While they suffer many feet of snow and the work it takes to get out and about after shoveling snow, dealing with power outages and freezing temperatures, we have had 50 degree weather and early blossoms. And it’s still mid-February.

Photograph by Susan Branch

Photograph by Susan Branch

Birds are singing. Frogs are croaking. Crickets are chirruping. Squirrels are chattering. You can almost hear the flowers bursting open and the grass growing. I haven’t seen any bees yet, but I imagine they are feeling the warmth of spring coming. Life is abundantly loud and joyful.

We’ve had a little rain, enough to keep us green and make our flowers awaken in the bits of sun in between the showers. The grass is growing like mad, lush and green, and lawn mowers were out in my neighborhood today. The smell of the first grass cut of the year was so satisfying I wish I could package it and share it here, with an optional choice button in case you are allergic.

The sun is sharing itself more generously each day, giving more minutes of light during the day. I love the return of the light. Though I was born in the fall and I love that time of year as well, I have a special affinity for spring and early summer. So much promise, so much abundance, so many new beginnings, and it happens every year!

The natural world shares so much of itself in the spring I want to reciprocate and share the abundance of spring. To share the growing, nurturing, producing joy of enjoying what you have because that’s what you have. To share the carpe diem nature of nature, the day is what it is and every minute counts, with minutes of rest being ever as important as minutes of growth. I’m inspired to clean my home a little to make it look as fresh as the outdoors.

My heart desires to take off my shoes, feel my naked feet on the earth or dig my toes into the sand, bare my arms and legs to the cool light. I want to feel the air on my skin, moving across the fine hairs on my face, lifting the hair from the back of my neck. I want to smell hyacinths, and plum blossoms, and freshly cut grass. I want to lie in the sun dreaming about fairy palaces, dewy mossy forests, and sandy beaches.

The sparkling brilliance of sand at 250x magnification.

The sparkling brilliance of sand at 250x magnification.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – bright pink curly star hyacinths; DSCN2963 pink rhododendrons blooming next to the warm aquatic center; DSCN2990 naturalized crocuses scattered through a neighbor’s lawn; DSCN2917 the swelling of plum blossoms; DSCN2907 white camellias vaguely reminiscent of gardenias. DSCN3158

Currently Reading – Anna Karenina (1878, fiction) by Leo Tolstoy; Making Yourself Indispensable: The Power of Personal Accountability (2012, psychology) by Mark Samuel; Mr Strangelove: A Biography of Peter Sellers (2002, biography) by Ed Sikov; Managing Your Manager: Getting Ahead With Any Kind of Boss (2011, interpersonal relationships) by Gonzague Dufour. Yes, concurrently.

Have you joined me in reading this year’s Sassy Kas Winter Classic choice, Anna Karenina? If you haven’t read classics before, winter is a good time to enjoy a different time and place in literature. Very contemporary when it was first written and published, now it reads like a slice of history through the voice of fiction.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • My guys, friends, and family who love me. Makes my soul warm.
  • Rain. Sun. Fresh air.
  • Having a second pair of glasses on hand after I bumped the pair I was wearing and threw them off balance while I wait to get the other pair adjusted.
  • My white hair, and what’s left of the brown.
  • Pain free moments.
  • The embrace of warm pool water.
  • Creative people who make movies, write books, and create art. Thank you for entertaining me and your inspiration.
  • See’s fancy chocolates.
  • California strawberries. The craving being what it was, I splurged and lucked out, selecting a sweet, ripe box.
  • The people I know and don’t know who are invested in and encourage love and abundance and joy, not war and poverty and violence.
  • Understanding more about the Buddhist saying “life is hard”. Indeed.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

 

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Art, Entertainment, Health, Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

