Gratitude Sunday: Love Love Love

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Who knows the sweet white
gravity as water falls
on this thirsty earth?

Sunday Musings
images[6]Next week is that lovely love holiday Valentine’s Day. I love Valentine’s Day. I love hearts. I love read and pink and white. I love chocolate. I love flowers. I love being married and celebrating my wedding anniversary on Valentine’s Day. This year is 23 years, and since we lived together 17 years before that we have finally hit 40 years together.

images[2]

As you know I’m the original cranky curmudgeouness, and there’s stuff not to like as well.images3ZB6PPXI I don’t like all the commercialization about a “holiday”; silly spend your money pressure. And I always wanted to get married on Halloween. Blew that. But then I get to have the hubster, he’s mine by vow and heart til death do us part. Some people don’t have a special someone in their life. Some prefer it that way. Some do not and those people feel extra pressure on Valentine’s Day (and to a lesser degree on New Year’s Day) because their life doesn’t conform with a “societal convention”. Let me tell you, life shared with a significant person ain’t all that easy. Just the logistics of sharing a bathroom can be the end of any relationship. Sharing is work, every day. And trust me on this as I am capital NOT a relationship expert. I am a big fan of non-conformity. Having not experienced living alone I cannot say how lonely that may be for some people or me. My imagination thinks never having someone there could easily be as overwhelming as always having someone there.

untitled
I also love black and purple and blue and green which clash with red and pink. I love candy but I’m picky. If I’m going to pay the physical income tax of eating candy it has to be certain kinds, not just any old snicker. imagesEGBC2MCVI like to give my guys a small box of fancy chocolates to celebrate the day. It gives me the excuse to buy my own, because they won’t think of it. I don’t resent the no present mentality; it’s not about the stuff. It’s about the love. But in case you are interested I prefer See’s Dark Chocolate Truffles. Love.

902trufflesbig[1]

Flowers, though aesthetic eye candy, are so temporary. Fresh cut flowers, even with the best of care, rarely last a week.sparkle rose Love is forever, not just one day or one week. If you love me bring me fresh flowers every week, if you’re going to bring me flowers you bought. And potted flowers? They face a lingering death at my hands, as hard as I try to keep them alive. Then again, the hubster’s technique is to pick a handful of wildflowers that please his eye and put them in a cup by my bed so they are the first thing I see in the morning. Not often, not every day or week or month. Just now and then at random. That’s the best part. Random. From him it’s just right because it’s from his heart.
imagesII27OKUE

Which brings us to hearts. I love the ♥ shape of it. A sharp little v at the bottom and a lovely double curve at the top. When I was a child we made valentines in school.imagesKIYV75RL We had red and pink and white colored paper and we would cut out heart shapes and glue those onto round or heart shaped lacy paper doilies and layer them in sizes and colors and embellish with bits of ribbon and lace and mark xs and os on it to mean kisses and hugs. Mom gave you a hug no matter how ugly the whole mess was just because you made it.
images58ELL39M

Hearts can be open or closed, empty or full, hard or soft, whole, half, or broken, imagesR0XBN1LNa combination of these, or all of them at once. Hearts are complicated; they want what they want. Hearts can by picky or fickle, abandoned or occupied, sad or glad, sweet or sour, fire heart wild or tame. Hearts can be cultivated, renovated, addlepated.

Love comes in all shapes and sizes, romantic love being only one version and not necessarily the most important. To receive love, give it. images[4] After you have taken care of yourself, give some of your money away; if you give more than you think you should it will be returned to you threefold. Give your love away too, your love not your body. In the end the love you take is equal to the love you make.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – symptoms of our mild winter – daffodils coming soon to your Pacific northwest neighborhood; DSCN7449bright yellow crocuses have arrived; DSCN7431soft pink heather borders a city sidewalk; DSCN7437 white snow drops; DSCN7420 red camellias skirted with discarded petals. DSCN7462

Currently Reading – Anna Karenina (1878, fiction) by Leo Tolstoy; Making Yourself Indispensable: The Power of Personal Accountability (2012, psychology) by Mark Samuel; Mr Strangelove: A Biography of Peter Sellers (2002, biography) by Ed Sikov. Yes, concurrently.

Have you joined me in reading this year’s Sassy Kas Winter Classic choice, Anna Karenina? Especially if you haven’t read classics before, winter seems to be a good time to enjoy a different time and place in literature. If you are a fan of romance the Russian love story doubles your pleasure by weaving two romantic stories in one.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Having one safe place to tell some of my stories.
  • Reading, learning, and practicing communication techniques.
  • The return of the frog under my front porch. Frog song in the evening.
  • Little brown birds playing in my mud puddles.
  • Squirrel sighting in my neighbor’s trees I see outside my kitchen window.
  • Birdsong in the morning. The cement plant across the street from my house closed last fall and I can hear birds in the morning now. Twitterpated tweeterjoy.
  • My neighbors who plant and tend such beautiful flowers.
  • The inspiring words of other writers.
  • Contemplating changes.
  • Sleep. Even if it is only in two hour increments.
  • Celebrating 40 years sharing.
  • My relative luxury: a solid roof, four solid walls, food in my house and a way to prepare it, indoor climate control, running water – both kinds, hot and cold, working appliances, full tank of gas in my working vehicle, a bed and clean bed linens, sharing my home with my guys. Instead of the alternative.
  • Several nights binge on season five of Downton Abbey on DVD. Twice. No spoilers.
  • Listening to the heavy rain outside my window knowing my roof does not leak.
  • My Valentines. Some of you know you are in my heart always.
  • My readers. Thank you. I love you. If you love me, share me.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Art, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, History, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Love Love Love

  1. piratesorka says:

    I have come to be a quiet curmudgeon with Valentines Day. Mostly resentful AND wistful. Yeah, I used to think I wanted to be married but now I think it might not have been such a good thing for me. Instead what I have come to see, what my hearts desire truly is, was, ever will be, was to simply have someone share a mutual love. THAT is what has never happened to me, for me. There has never been a shred of romance in my life. Not even a crumb.. Sex yeah there has been sex but even that is limited. Never ever anyone whose eyes lit up or breath hitched at the mention of my name. Not all love ends in marriage. In short, I have Never experienced what it is to be the lover or even the object of someones passion (versus lust)
    I get that I have wonderful family and friends who love me. I do not doubt that. Not ever. But its strange eh? A person who has people who love her as sister or friend or teacher has no one who wants her as lover except in lust…..not a one. Was that really so much to ask in this life? I suppose it is and maybe I should count myself lucky if that’s the worst thing in my life but I truly understand the phrase ” to love and lost is better than to never loved at all.”
    I think of your tragic loss at 19 and how horrible that must have been but I am sure some of the memories of him were blessings too. It is that combination of the sweet and sour, good and bad that so much of our life is made. Intellectually, I know I have a good life and have been blessed in many ways but this one thing is like an small open ugly wound that does not heal. So now I try to not watch romantic movies or read love stories (not that I ever did to begin with). Valentines day will come and go and I will try my best to simply ignore it. I suppose what I should truly do is put my big girl panties on and Suck… It…. Up

    Thank you my dear Kate for letting me vent.

    Like

    • sassykas says:

      I am so glad you felt safe enough to say so here. My heart is with you and for you. Love is so really not about sex, but about someone who wants to spend time with you. In my vivid imagination I have always seen some nice man stepping into your life at some point. You are not “too old” for this to happen. I know your heart is open.

      Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

