Gratitude Sunday: Earth, Air, Water, And Everything

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Tiny mosses host
tinier fungus feasting
on old grayed fence wood.

Sunday Musings
New year, new attitude. Nah, I don’t think so. Still the same old cranky curmudgeoness as always. Still the bleeding heart wondering why, after thousands of years of civilization, we have not evolved beyond war and hate. Wondering why some of our societies (read: American, sadly mine, and fortunately only a few individuals) insist on ravaging and damaging our planet. Wondering why people hurt each other. I don’t have answers. The answers are as big as the questions. I only know what I know. And that’s not much.

The people I know and interact with do not abuse the earth. I doubt they abuse other people or engage in very much hate. Hate is a natural emotion, one of those messy, chaotic, sometimes unwanted or unwarranted emotions, but it never requires acting on. Hate arises when difference is perceived, when what I am, or how I believe, is better or more special, or lesser or less conventional, than what you are or what you believe.

So let’s throw difference out of the question and look at similarities. I’ll start with bodies. I have skin, you have skin. Color or decoration matter not. I see, you see. No matter if you see with eyes or any other way. I hear, you hear. Ditto. I breathe, you breathe. We all breathe the same air. Air is the first connection with all that is in this world. We take our first breath to enter the world, breath that is shared with everybody present at your birth and every other body on the planet. It’s not like we divvy up the air supply: this is your air, and that is mine. Nope. Shared air. Connects us all.

I am capable of movement and production; you are capable of movement and production. There is no requirement our movements and productions be the same. They are similar in what they are. I have to eat and drink to live; you have to eat and drink to live. Taste buds and appetites differ; variety makes life more interesting. My body requires daily maintenance, your body requires daily maintenance. Whatever that looks like for you is your business; I’ll deal with mine and please take time to deal with yours. (My apologies for one of my little judgments here, as my nose is hypersensitive to body odors, which I don’t mind so much if they are “clean and fresh” body odors. People smell what they smell like. Many in our society have lost the ability to detect body odors and cannot even smell their own bodies nor the fragrances they apply to it. I am sad for people who do not have access to hot water showers/baths and soap.) We all have bodies, regardless of color or shape or size. A body is a body. One’s as good as the other.

I think, you think. This is the problematic one, because differences in thinking are something that can and cannot be changed. If we consider thoughts to be constructs, we may be more able to set aside differences in our systems of belief and see the similarities in our beliefs. Some of those similarities include faith, charity, and love.

I live on this planet, you live on this planet. It’s a big place with water and wild areas. I walk on the earth, you walk on the earth. One step at a time, one foot in front of the other. This earth refreshes and reconditions the air everyday with its elaborate ecological system and vast abundance of plants and water and air movement. Remember air is your first connection to others with your first breath. Earth and air independently coexist, yet are intimately dependent on the other. Earth is the second piece of the connection to all other people. The earth also produces and reproduces water every day, without fail. We are born of water, our bodies are made of water, we require an intake of water for daily body maintenance. Water is the third piece of a single connection, coexistent with air and earth, yet dependent. A triad of connections, you can’t have one without the others.

Do you remember when you were a kid running barefoot around your yard or playing with mud or walking barefoot on the sand at the beach? If you were allowed to do that (or did it anyway) do you remember how good you felt when doing so? Have you ever gardened or harvested in your bare feet and finished feeling refreshed even though you’ve been engaged in physical labor? What would it be like if every human in this world were able to put their bare feet (or some piece of bare skin) against the earth at the same moment? We breathe common air; we have skin; we touch the earth. Sounds like a human energy making device of some sort, if I do say so myself.

That’s the kind of human experiment I would like to participate in, not the ones we are currently experiencing against our knowledge and/or will. You know, processed foods, fat-fear medical paradigm, neurotoxic poisons (silver-mercury amalgams) placed in the mouth dismissed as harmless, pharmaceutical and pesticidal residues that remain in our drinking water and foods, the depletion and poisoning of our natural resources. Unfortunately the above list comes from greed, hate’s evil scientist. All of these things are done by a few people in the name of the common good, but when it ends up hurting the common good you can only follow the money to the truth.

We are more the same than different. The differences have no matter. The similarities mean everything. Take your shoes off. Put your bare feet on the same earth I walk on. Breathe the same air I do. Drink the same water all over the earth. We are connected. We are unique, and yet, more alike than different.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – this week: color in minutiae. Paler shades of green and gray as fluted fungus climbs up gray weathered fence wood; DSCN7284 a symbiosis of soft green moss and creamy fluted fungus; DSCN7278 brown tangle of naked lilac branches tipped with tiny green buds of this year’s leaves; DSCN7271 three views of a tiny fairy walkway found along a fence line, grassed with soft green moss and treed with creamy sage green fluted fungus; DSCN7292 DSCN7295 DSCN7299 a bit of liberated ash white lichen branch; DSCN7304 a red and white veined rock sprouting green mosses captures silvery water droplets on pale yellow sporophytes. DSCN7260

Currently Reading – Anna Karenina (1878, fiction) by Leo Tolstoy; Making Yourself Indispensable: The Power of Personal Accountability (2012, psychology) by Mark Samuel; Mr Strangelove: A Biography of Peter Sellers (2002, biography) by Ed Sikov. Yes, concurrently.
The Peter Sellers bio is a long one and had to go back to the library and me back into the queue. Back to it now and looks like I’m going to expire my renewals again. Ah well, back onto the list to share. Anna Karenina is my Winter Classic choice. I don’t read Russian so I have to read it in translation which is amusing in itself when there are minor grammar usage errors. I’ve always had the desire to read and speak all languages by instinct, not by learning. Fantastic dream! I’ve never read any Russian literature, so being sixty-wonderful I think it’s a good year to have my first experience. Winter Classics is about choosing fiction never read before, in a different time or place, with the expectation the language will be slower than modern language, something to leisure over on long dark winter nights.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Dinner out with a friend. We had the best time talking until the restaurant closed. And we fixed the world. And not.
  • Pain in all its glorious colors. With every step I am still alive.
  • A chittery twittery morning filled with bright harmonized birdsong.
  • The muted colors of winter, greens of all shades, cream and whites, all the soft lovely browns, and the occasional red berries even look a softer red in the lower light.
  • Ten minutes outside in my yard in the fresh air walking in my bare feet in the wet grass and the two damp leaves I found wrapped like silken fairy slippers around my heels when I dried them.
  • Artificial light and heat (as expensive as it is) on cold dark winter days without the need for live fire inside the house.
  • Still being able to work.
  • Listening to stories from elders and contemporaries (many of us are elders ourselves now).
  • Encouraging youngers.
  • The pure joy of the littles.
  • Playing peek-a-boo with a tiny stuffed pony and a patron’s little over the counter at my place of work. We had quite the giggle.
  • Clothes cleaning appliances. Chop wood, heat water, make soap, heat more water, washboard, wringer washer and all the other methods of having to wash clothes in the past just overwhelm me in the imagining. My washer and dryer are my friends. I turn them on and I can go do something else.
  • My yard. It’s no garden but it’s my little piece of earth. I wish everybody had their own little piece of earth. Even better if it’s shared.
  • Texas ruby red grapefruit. Once a year it’s worth the indulgence.
  • The hubster and the son putting the Christmas boxes back in the storage shed.
  • Reading. Thinking. Imagination. Reality. Dreams. In-between.
  • The difference between 32 degrees Fahrenheit and 45 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Art, Education, Entertainment, GRATITUDE, Health, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Earth, Air, Water, And Everything

  1. Michelle says:

    What a lovely post to read upon coming back from a very damp ramble on the watery, airy earth.

    Like

  2. mari says:

    If we continue to look at each other’s similarities, hate will not exist… blessings to you, mari

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

