Gratitude Sunday: Sharing The Wealth

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Gray layered over
gray, cloud upon cloud cover
blue and sunshine rays.

Sunday Musings
Two of my neighbors are very happy with me this week. I shared my wealth with both of them. We live in one of the ghetto neighborhoods in my little burg. Not that we pay any less for our homes, but we have a cement plant across the street and by dust and default we are a less than desirable neighborhood. The cement plant was grandfathered in, here long before the neighborhood which grew up around it. The plant has been quiet and locked up for the last two weeks and rumor has it the younger generation does not want to follow in the footsteps of their forefathers, in which case the grandfather clause will go for naught. My neighborhood could be changing.

As my house did this week. My hot water heater decided it was done. We had water all over the laundry room floor, and it was determined the water heater was likely the original from 1987. There was so much sediment in the bottom of the tank they could not get the release value to let the water out until they detached everything and gave it a good shake.

I have a four or five neighbors who have been here nearly as long as I have. The other homes are rentals and folks come and go before you get to know them. All of the families in my neighborhood, even in the rentals, work to keep their homes clean, tidy, and presentable. The grass is mowed, the leaves raked, and garbage is not left lying around.

One neighbor is a contractor/construction worker. We’ve watched his property while he was on vacation, picked up his mail, and rescued his dogs when they escape the fence. His children think the hubster is a cool old dude (he is) and they bring him gifts of shells found at the seashore and special rocks. He lays these iconic gifts at the base of his computer so the kids can see what they mean to him. And when the hubster texted, “Emergency. Water heater puked. Have cash.”, the neighbor was there by 3 in the afternoon as soon as he finished the job he was working on. He stayed until he knew the heater filled with water and didn’t leak, and since it was way past dinner time told us to call if we didn’t have hot water in a couple hours. We called to let him know everything was working fine. That’s a good neighbor.

Hwell, then there’s the monolith lurking in the driveway. The hulking old piece of metal that shall never again be a water heater. We could haul it to the dump or the recyclers. That’s a lot of work, it’s heavy, and it’s cold outside. Don’t I sound like the laziest, full of excuses? Here’s the best part. My other neighbor recycles scrap metal as one of the sources of incomes for his family, along with a little landscaping and yard maintenance business. Whenever an appliance dies, we knock on his door, tell him what we have, and sometimes help him load it onto his scrap trailer. We have less to deal with and he puts a few dollars in his pocket from the sale of the scrap metal. He was over with his hand truck within a few minutes and didn’t need help rolling it into his scrap trailer. That’s a good neighbor.

Everybody wins. I have a new, functioning, non-leaking hot water heater. Two of my neighbors have a little extra cash in their pockets. It’s always nice to share the wealth I’m not always aware I have.

We’ll disregard the project being unfinished as I write. The water heater needs to be moved so a dryer hose can go behind it, requiring a couple other parts and adjustments. My dryer is sitting in the middle of my kitchen. Several laundry room organizers are taking up temporary space in the Big Room. It sort of resembles a tornado; with the whimsically messy way I keep house probably only I can tell. Though I’m guessing few people keep a non-functioning dryer in their kitchen on purpose.

In a day or two all will be restored. Everything will have the proper plumbing and venting parts and will be moved back to where it lives. And it will have been cleaned because it was moved, so no cobwebs or dust will go back into place. Not the corner I was necessarily going to clean but now it is clean nonetheless.

New water heater, cleaned corner, shared wealth, job well done.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Oregon usually has four definite seasons. This year the color turn and leaf fall seemed to happen very fast, autumn usurped, and we are already in the grip of winter cold. It may be a long cold winter. Here are ice crystals snuggling with my hens and chicks;DSCN6915 and silvery white ice embracing the green leaves of my coral bells.DSCN6923

Currently Reading – The Divine Matrix: Bridging Time, Space, Miracles, and Belief (2007, physics) by Gregg Braden; Egg: A Culinary Exploration of the World’s Most Versatile Ingredient (2014, cookbook) by Michael Ruhlman; Mr Strangelove: A Biography of Peter Sellers (2002, biography) by Ed Sikov; The Narcissism Epidemic: Living in the Age of Entitlement (2009, psychology) by Jean M Twenge and W Keith Campbell. Yes, concurrently. I need some fiction. It’s been so dark outside maybe I will start a Winter Classic.

This week I have been grateful for:

    • Spending less than imagined on the new water heater.
    • Nice, helpful neighbors.
    • Having that small household repair fund available when it was needed.
    • Hot water at the opening of a faucet.
    • Moving a little better with progress on my back pain.
    • A valiant fight against a head cold virus.
    • Hot tea, soup, and popsicles.
    • A friend who passed away suddenly. Not that he passed away, but grateful for the person he was and being lucky enough to know him.
    • My happy defense against the dark nights of winter lights in my front window. And turning them on whenever I wish.
    • No snow yet. Frankly, I prefer snow after Christmas. Even though I don’t do commercial Christmas shopping there just seems like so much to do to get ready.
    • How elegant the glaze of ice on mud puddles look and the randomness of fracture when broken.
    • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, GRATITUDE, Health, History, Homemaking, Housing, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

