Gratitude Sunday: Those Were The Days

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]


Sunday Haiku

Whirlwind blown leaves spin
in my path threatening flight
to another place.

Sunday Musings
I paid less than three dollars a gallon for gas yesterday and I was thrilled for the impact on my budget. I became a little nostalgic for the early 1970s when I worked in a gas station and we charged 24.9 cents per gallon for regular. That’s right. Cents. That was in the days of good old fashioned leaded gas and gas guzzling solid chrome and metal cars. There’s a documentary about cars and service stations at my local lending library which showed service stations from the 1930s selling gasoline at 24.9 cents per gallon. Isn’t it interesting that gas prices remained stable for 40 years? Then somebody realized there was a huge profit to be made and the gas wars of the later 1970s happened. Up, up, and away. I’m grateful I have the income to pay today’s gas prices.

images[2]

I bought a 1955 Pontiac in 1971 for $50.00 and six month’s insurance cost me $75.00 because of my age. The Pontiac was indestructible until the transmission went out. I sold it to a junkyard for $100.00 and felt I had come out on the good side of the deal. The body was straight and the leather interior was in good condition; too bad I didn’t know anything about cars and have the foresight to cover it with a tarp until it could be repaired. Ah, sublime hindsight. Even with one of the heaviest cars on the road at 4 gallons to the dollar I could drive around all night or take a Sunday drive around Oregon. I haven’t been on a Sunday drive in I don’t know how long. The Pontiac was like driving around a small living room. You could comfortably get 6 adults in the car on the leather bench seats and sneak 2 more hiding in the trunk into the drive-in movie. The drive-in was about $1.50 per person; sometimes they’d have specials and you could get a carload of people in for $5.00, and you could avoid the snack bar by filling the Pontiac’s extra large glove compartment with a few sodas, a paper bag of homemade buttered popcorn, and several candy bars, the best drive-in fare. The car below is like mine though mine was brown and white. I’m grateful I have a working vehicle.

images[4]
imagesMOLPPZCI

We sold cigarettes at the gas station where I worked for 25 cents a pack. I haven’t smoked for 40 years now but I see they are well over $5.00 a pack. I’d have to quit just because I could not afford the habit. Good thing I don’t have to quit now. I’m grateful I don’t smoke and have several family members who have quit.

imagesC9HAJT13

1971-72 I attended beauty school. Fast food restaurants were newish and coming to a location near you all over the country. At lunch break we’d pile into the Pontiac, race over to the new Taco Bell, and spend our tip money on 4 crispy tacos for a dollar, and a carton of milk to cut the burn from the hot sauce for an extra 15 cents. Cents. Processed foods were becoming more popular; you could get 4 and sometimes 6 cans of Chef Boyardee spaghetti and meatballs or ravioli for a dollar. Today one can is $1.79. Whole chickens at the grocery store were 19 cents a pound and cut-up chickens were 29 cents a pound. Cents. Today $2.39 a pound and $4.79 a pound respectively. A pound of bacon was less than a dollar. Today $7.99 a pound. Bread could be had four loaves to the dollar, now $4.99 is a common price per loaf. I’m grateful to have a variety of quality food in my house, both homemade and store bought.

imagesKWH1YFVXimagesTG2IRI0O
images[4] (2)

The late 1940s ranch house, two bedroom one bath upstairs, brick fireplace, single car attached garage, full cement basement that didn’t leak with a very large corner bathroom I rented in 1976 was $350.00 a month. I pay more than three times that much for a similarly styled home with less square footage now, no basement, no brick fireplace, mine’s a solid late 1980s three two ranch. I recently drove by the old little charmer and it had been remodeled to look like a modern bungalow. Eww, but no picture to share. I am grateful my home is solid, my roof doesn’t leak, and I can still make the house payments.

My income was never large then and stretched to the max and has come nowhere near to increasing at the same rate as these basic needs, you know, housing, food, transportation. I use my money much differently than then; I’ve learned money is a tool. Learning is a wonderful thing even if it is about how to use your money. Perhaps I will not always be able to work. I am grateful I am still able to work today, that I am able to fumble through making ends sort of meet, and putting a little aside for that day I might not be able to work.

So much has changed in my lifetime, as it did for generations past. In my grandmother’s lifetime she went from cooking over wood heat to microwaves, from leaving her wedding in a horse-pulled wagon to seeing her grandchildren whisked away in brand new automobiles, from a tent home after her wedding to vast apartment complexes in the suburbs, from woolen stockings that needed darning to pantyhose tossed at the first snag or run.

So much will change for the next generations as well. Perhaps we will stop ruining our earth and completely switch to earth friendly energy generation, perhaps we will solve the problem of clean drinking water for all people on the earth, perhaps we will defy the myths of global agriculture by rediscovering the ease of local food production and distribution, perhaps we will end inflation and greed and find a way to take care of the least of us without resentment or judgment. Or not. It’s up to us. These are our days.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – a gray brown puddle heartfully reflects a companion tree;DSCN2902 I find the colors of dying and leaving to be as lovely as the colors of blooming and leafing;DSCN6842yellow blooms and bright green leaves change to brown and sage green in this succulent;DSCN6763 soft brown fluffy spearfuls;DSCN6754drake and mate; DSCN6836an out of focus blue wing;DSCN6837a brown crisscross acorn cap, the biggest I’ve seen, no size comparison in the photo but larger than a silver dollar;DSCN6840some potted begonias in pink and peachy apricot orange;DSCN6861DSCN6857 a faded yellow rose nearly done as beautiful as its bud.DSCN6761

Currently Reading – Body Respect: What Conventional Health Books Get Wrong, Leave Out, and Just Plain Fail to Understand About Weight (2014, health science) by Linda Bacon; Grandma Rose’s Book of Sinfully Delicious Snacks, Nibbles, Noshes, and Other Delights (1978, cookbook) by Rose Naftalin; The Narcissism Epidemic: Living in the Age of Entitlement (2009, psychology) by Jean M Twenge and W Keith Campbell; Explain Pain (2003, science) by David Butler. Yes, concurrently.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Learning some new self-care exercises for my back.
  • Recovering quickly from a stomach upset.
  • The sensitivity of this human body.
  • A blustery day complete with rain and whirlwinds.
  • Feeling a colder rainy wind on my skin than I’ve felt in months and the shiver it brought to my body.
  • My thigh length hooded windbreaker.
  • The hubster cleaning out the electric heaters and getting them going for the colder season.
  • The son helping him remove the summer’s air conditioner from the window, and them remembering to clean it before they put it into storage.
  • A cute birthday card from a friend and one from an aunt that included sentimental family pictures.
  • Spending time with an old friend – the best kind.
  • Homework. Always learning.
  • Being in the pool more often.
  • Learning my little community will be having a monthly winter Farmer’s Market.
  • Comfort foods, meatloafs, mashed potatoes, soups, stews, fresh bread.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Education, GRATITUDE, Health, History, Photography, Poetry, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Those Were The Days

  1. greenfreaks says:

    wonderful, once again

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

