Gratitude Sunday: Our Stars, Our Selves

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Soft sweet cool fog hangs
scant few feet above the earth
lighting my pathway.

Sunday Musings
“The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, but in our selves.” From Julius Caesar by William Shakespeare. Quoted by John Green, author of The Fault in Our Stars.

I read astrology. I pray. I take tarot and fairy card readings. I read the weekly words of rabbis and priests and bloggers. I commune with nature breathing in the joy of living. I do spiritual work for myself. I read the bible and inspirational authors.

I look life in the face and I hide from life as well. So many parts of this life are hard for me to deal with: pain, illness, sadness, the fragility of the human body, and the quirkiness of the human brain. Well, mine at least. I don’t know about you all. Maybe you are having an easy life, a healthy body, great relationships.

But it is all fraught, is it not? In the end we all leave this world, these words. We’ve watched it happen to others in our life, our elders, grandparents, parents, siblings, children, classmates, friends, strangers. The time will come for us as well, whether we succumb to early illness or injury or live a long and productive life.

As I read John Green’s novel, The Fault in Our Stars, a novel about teenagers living and dying with a variety of cancers, I think how each day is a gift. (No spoilers, you need to read the book. Really. Now. Before you see the movie. Don’t cheat.) I think about how everyone of us walks through the day with invisible illness because we don’t wear a sign that says “Hepatitis”, “Diabetes”, “Epilepsy”, “Heart Disease”, “Fibromyalgia”, “Dyslexia”, “Autism”, “ADD”, or other diseases undiagnosed or unidentified. Every one of us gets through our day the best way we know how in spite of physical or mental challenges, and despite poverty or affluence.

images[2]

We carry our faults within and blame the stars, far enough away as to be unreachable and unfathomable, rather than look within ourselves (too close, too close!) to see how we might conduct ourselves. We have a few ultimately absolutely selfish moments in our lives, moments when it is all about us and no other. Our birth: I am the only one who is born me; this moment is the moment I become of this world. The birth of our child: only I, this body, can deliver this new human who lived in my body for its months of creation. Our illness: we all carry one or more, knowledge affecting every moment of our lives. Our death: a sacred moment, in which we become no more. Not even the stars can tell us when these moments will occur, the fault within ourselves also not knowing when those moments will occur and all the spiritual preparation can be for naught.

Instead of finding fault with ourselves and others let us live as if there is no fault, no blame, as if faults are not about you and faults are not about the other. There is only this moment and myself and another to care for. We are only what we are, each striving every day to live with grace, and dignity, and wisdom.

Color Watch – colorful attractions in my neighborhoods this week – green is so bright now with the little rain showers we’ve had; rain freshened my potted sedums, succulents in a variety of shapes and sizes; DSCN6701 raindrops caught in a spider webbed canopy above the sedums; DSCN6680DSCN6683 an interesting fraternal, conjoined pumpkin, which will still be delicious when pied;

Photo by Mary Drew

Photo by Mary Drew

a large raindrop filled chicken and hen succulent; DSCN6690 and several wet hens together; DSCN6700 a little water and my chives come right back, so nice as a finishing touch on so many dishes; DSCN6694 brilliant green mint grows freely in my yard; DSCN6696 I love bright yellow deciduous leaves against the dark evergreen. DSCN2001

Currently Reading – The Fault in Our Stars (2012, fiction) by John Green; Mr. Strangelove: A Biography of Peter Sellers (2004, biography) by Ed Sikov; How to Hepburn: Lessons on Living from Kate the Great (2007, biography) by Karen Karbo; A New Leaf: The End of Cannabis Prohibition (2014, cannabis politics) by Alyson Martin and Nushin Rashidian. Yes, concurrently.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Birds singing outside my kitchen window while I clean.
  • Fresh cooling foggy air.
  • Warm afternoons.
  • My prolific grapevine.
  • Reading, learning, musing.
  • The few of you I know read me every week. Because, you know, I’m so random.
  • Being random sometimes.
  • Living and dying.
  • Gratefulness.
  • Figuring out how to run the check disc utility on my laptop.
  • Native Americans, who despite tragic forceful take overs by prevailing societies, continue to share their land with us, knowing even if they demanded it back we could not do so now. Though I can imagine a much better restoration of their original occupation than they are granted now.
  • Seeing in color.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Education, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Our Stars, Our Selves

  1. piratesorka says:

    I love your randomness! Viva randomousity!

    Like

  2. heathermama says:

    another wonderful post. have a great week

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

