Gratitude Sunday: Pain is the Game

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Lightning streaks, thunder
roars like wild animals, rains
stomp a refreshed earth.

Sunday Musings
The human body is a marvelously delicate and complicated machine. When all is working properly, one barely notices the machine, unless you are doing something exhilarating like climbing mountains or jumping out of planes, or when it’s doing something good for you like having hot juicy sex, or when it’s being productive like cooking up babies.

But oh, the woe and misery when something goes awry. As amazing as science is, science and medicine don’t know everything. Like it or not a physical failure is probably easier to deal with when you know what it is. Not knowing what is going on can make a person just a little bit cranky. After a while you don’t even give a rip what is wrong you just want the pain gone.

I don’t like pharmaceutical pain medicine for myself. It may work for some people but not for me. Most of it does not relieve my pain (I would think this would be the main goal of pain medicine – pain relief, maybe that’s just me), makes me queasy, and makes my thinking loopy. So okay, I’m in pain, I take something to relieve the pain and now I not only have pain, I’m sick to my stomach, and I can’t concentrate even worse than with just the pain. And I have a tendency to be allergic to pharmaceuticals so there’s a real non-incentive to try new medicines.

Some doctors these days are afraid to prescribe pain medicine because of federal governmental rules regarding narcotics. Other doctors will call the patient non-compliant if they do not use the drugs, including the narcotics, they prescribe. Doctors are not gods, they are humans who consult to help with your health. You are the god of your body.

I’m picky enough to not want pain relief. I want the pain gone. To not exist. To not be a part of my experience. Occasionally that must be asking too much when pain relief is illusive.

Sometimes relief can be found in movement or non-movement. The body is built for motion. Anybody who has taken Biology 101 can tell you that. I’ve found many times when I’m feeling the worst if I can go for a swim or a short walk I feel better. I’m using the body’s inclination to produce natural endorphins to reduce my pain. I’ve also found rest is often a pain reliever for me. We are pressured to be so productive, to go, go, go, and do, do, do. Sometimes to give all that going and doing up and have a little lie down is what it takes to feel functional.

Truly incredible is for how much we are alike – we have hearts, lungs, two arms, two legs, a brain, all the common parts – each of us is individual. How my body responds to drugs, or movement, or food, or rest, is different from yours, and hers, and his.

Enjoy your health if you have it and make steps to keep it so. Improve your health if you can and take steps to make it so. Do your homework and find a medical consultant you can trust. Then go forth and be the god of your body. Even when embracing pain.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – wasn’t able to get out much this week, but I caught some colorful Wild America squirrel action in my yard. Marty Stouffer would be proud. I’m such a voyeur I’ve even watched them doing the squirrel tango. Hard not to when they do it right on the fence outside my kitchen window. Did you know squirrels love dandelions? The area within three feet of our fence has no dandelions;DSCN4982 the squirrels eat all the parts including digging up the fat and delicious roots.DSCN4980 He enjoys eating the fruits of his labor in the relative safety at the top of the fence.DSCN5015 And he loves hanging out, digging the rays with a fat belly after eatingDSCN5046 until a friend comes to play.DSCN5061 The colorful concrete plant across the street from my house. DSCN5151 A colorful sky after the squirrels ran away.DSCN5152DSCN5162DSCN5181 Mint is an invasive species in my yard; I don’t care; it smells good to mow and releases its fragrance when you are photographing it as well.DSCN5228 This little purple weed flower, reminds me of shooting stars, appeared amongst my grapes. The blossom turns into a bright red ball like a tiny rose hip. I’d love to know the name of this plant.DSCN5239DSCN5245

Currently Reading – A Fighting Chance (2014, political science) by Elizabeth Warren; Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife (2012, religion) by Eben Alexander; Man’s Search for Meaning (1946, psychology) by Viktor E. Frankl; A Constellation of Vital Phenomena (2013, fiction) by Anthony Marra. Yes, concurrently. Check out my From Me 2 U Book Review page.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • The son doing a share of the cooking since he’s been back.
  • Understanding more about the physical body and the brain’s reaction to pain.
  • Exploring possibilities and using my imagination.
  • Pain-free moments, minutes, hours.
  • How good the body feels when it is not involved with pain.
  • The ice maker in my fridge and ice water to drink when it’s hot outside.
  • The son doing some driving for me when I’m not feeling so well.
  • Being able to move my body when I want.
  • The refreshed earth smell after a full tilt boogie lightning and thunder rain storm.
  • Finding a new resource for farm/garden fresh eggs. I want my eggs to come from omnivore chickens who are allowed to eat what their bodies are designed to eat, like bugs, slugs, and snails. Encouraging other people to have chickens in their yards (to serve my needs!) because I don’t have the ability to have my own.
  • Completing some paperwork from 2012 and 2013 that needed to be cleaned up.
  • Indulging in some home-made vanilla ice cream made from the finest ingredients.
  • Oregon Albion strawberries and the cherry season.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Exercise, GRATITUDE, Grief, Health, Medicine, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

