Gratitude Sunday: Phenomenal Woman

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

[As of noon, Sunday, June 1, 2014, Taryn has not posted her regular Gratitude Sunday post. I share the link to her site anyway because I love her writing and pictures and tips about nutrition. I send energy she is having fun being busy and all is well.]

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Morning’s soft light shifts
to hard glare of noon, curves west,
lambent, diffuse, spent.

Sunday Musings
Today I honor Maya Angelou who returned to golden starshine this week. She is truly a phenomenal woman who turned her hardships into art. I saw a compilation of her interviews on the Tavis Smiley show; Angelou was officially Smiley’s guest more often than any other person. In one of the interviews they were discussing her memoir Mom & Me & Mom. Maya’s mother told her “You are the greatest woman I have ever met”. Read the excerpt from her book here.

The impression of the compliment stayed with Maya all her life. Imagine what beautiful force we would create in our world if every parent believed that and said that to their children, as they are growing and after they become adults. And even better if every child said the same to their parent.

I share some of my favorite quotes by Dr Maya Angelou. About work.59337-o[1]success_is_liking[1]images85RQ5YXQ About art. imagesBDCQK55Vgood-success-quotes_14029-1[1]Maya-Angelou-Best-Quote-Normal-vs-Amazing[1]About tenacity.MayaAngelouQUOTE[1]angelou[1]ccb6d7a20e20136dc948486a122ab688[1] About life.imagesSWKDNBXJimages1EKFIRY7imagesIQDWQTWTlife-quotes-my-mom-loves-to-say-josephine-bila-1386279202nk4g8[1] About love.sVwap[1]imagesR0CBO2WBimagesUA2B3VARimagesWFGMILB1 About family.images85SVLOS6maya-angelou-top-quotes-9[1]

Dr Angelou is an inspiration to every person on this planet. And her celebration of self applies to every woman. You are the greatest woman I have ever met. You are woman, phenomenally.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – a wild white blackberry blossom;DSCN4218 an unidentified purple with a burgundy something in front of it;DSCN4236 my sedum’s pretty white blossoms;DSCN4220orange and yellow nasturtiums next to white allysum between a neighbor’s spring peas;DSCN4230 a mini-sea of chive blossoms going by;DSCN4224 an orange striped tiger lily;DSCN4265 purple lupines beside a bower of dark pink cottage rose;DSCN4229 and the lovely stages of honeysuckle, from green/pink bud to brilliant pink to creamy white blossom to finally glossy yellow nearly spent.DSCN4253DSCN4239DSCN4246DSCN4252DSCN4256DSCN4249

Currently Reading – David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and The Art of Battling Giants (2013, health and psychology) by Malcolm Gladwell; The Pain Chronicles: Cures, Myths, Mysteries, Prayers, Diaries, Brain Scans, and The Science of Suffering (2010, science) by Melanie Thernstrom; Fear of Food: A History of Why We Worry About What We Eat (2012, nutrition history and politics) by Harvey Levenstein. Yes, concurrently. Check out my From Me 2 U Book Review page.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Sun. Rain. Wind.
  • Earth. Trees. Grass.
  • Color. Sound. Aroma.
  • Clouds. Plants. Leaves. Flowers.
  • Creature comforts: a roof that doesn’t leak. A bed. Clean linens. Private bathroom. Fluffy towels.
  • Fingernails and toenails. Eyelids. Nostrils. Lips. Skin.
  • Farmer’s markets, gardeners, and fresh food.
  • Curiosity and the ability to learn.
  • Remembering that among all the good, honest people in this world there are a rare and random few who are not.
  • Finding this verse again: I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecution, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.                 2 Corinthians 12: 7-10
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Art, Family, GRATITUDE, Health, Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude Sunday: Phenomenal Woman

  1. billmarydrew says:

    One of my favorite Maya Angelou moments was when she was a guest on Sesame
    Street and seeing her have a meaningful conversation with Elmo. Precious. She exuded love and respect for herself and others. Her essence inspired me to be a better person.

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

