Gratitude Sunday: When Given Lemons

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Pink rose petals swirl:
girls on carousels, risking
skirts blown in the wind.

Sunday Musings
Sometimes life gives you lemons.tomat[1]

Lemons. Just lemons. No speck of sugar in sight, no corn syrup, no molasses, no honey. Lemons. Lots and lots of lemons.images[4]

So figuring out how to make lemonade becomes a major challenge. And occasionally there is no lemonade to be made.

Still, lemons are good. They give flavor to many savory dishes; their zest and juice brighten entrees and desserts as well. They are an excellent cleaning agent. I love the vivid yellow color of lemons.

When a vast amount of lemons populate my life, I have the feeling it is a time of transition, of upheaval, of change, of having to alter the lens.

I am not good with change. I resist it kicking, screaming, and scratching.

So when I have to face change head on, I kick and scream and scratch. That doesn’t mean I’m good at kicking, screaming, and scratching. I’m still working on maturity every step of the way.

When the going gets tough the tough go shopping as the saying goes. We’ll see if if worked for me this week. My celebratory 60th birthday slippers from last year were worn and smelled bad at night. Ewww. Bought myself a new pair of slippers from necessity. I mean, really. Not being able to sleep because they smell bad and they are clear down on the floor? No. Sometimes you have to cut your losses and invest elsewhere.

I haven’t worn yellow in a long time but since the time for change has forced itself upon me I also bought a soft yellow t-shirt, not quite the colors of lemons, but cheerfully yellow nonetheless, like one of the light yellow narcissus that bloom in early spring bringing the promise of change and regrowth.

Then I remember once again: change is the only constant, like the seasons coming around again and again, year after year, similar but never the same. If it is the only constant it must be a constant pathway of opportunity. Eyes wide open opportunity, because opportunities are sometimes hard to see. Opportunity to do and be and grow, maybe to mature, maybe not, but to grow certainly.

Since it is the only constant, for our musical interlude today, I present for your listening pleasure, David Bowie’s Changes, constantly a classic since 1971, though I remember hearing it on the radio when my family traveled to California the summer of 1970 to visit Disneyland. I remember being blown away by the music, the lyrics and the tune, and by Bowie’s voice; I had no idea who David Bowie was until later. The radio played it a lot. Dad didn’t like the song much, but I wanted to turn it up to learn the words. Dad won. I had to learn the words later.

So I am an old lady, and though yellow is not usually my color, I shall wear yellow with a flowered scarf instead of a purple dress and red hat that doesn’t go and doesn’t suit me. And I shall take care of myself and prepare for whatever opportunity these lemons give me to make the new savory in my life.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – it was so nice to finally get out of the house to capture flower photo which always makes me feel so happy; my favorite time is looking at everybody’s flowers every day. If flowers give happiness is must be through a color and shape vibration. I saw several colors of iris;DSCN4033DSCN4039DSCN4081DSCN4042DSCN4058 two unidentified lacy pink pretties;DSCN4022DSCN4025 ornamental alliums;DSCN4037 three stages of a creamy white peony;DSCN4138DSCN4137DSCN4140 a bright perfect tree branch, I like the bark below the green below the bright flowers (hawthorn?);DSCN4069 a mysterious muted flower that looks like it forgot its color;DSCN4060 a neighborhood locust tree with dangly purple earrings;DSCN4028 this lazy guy on a pretty clematis;DSCN4100 orange tinged yellow of I don’t know exactly, it’s not a buttercup, and it reminds me of ranunculus but not quite;DSCN4097 a lovely scented stand of lavender;DSCN4095 spears of yellow somethings;DSCN4144 two shades of rhododendron;DSCN4127DSCN4150 magnificent roses, swirly, girly, female roses;
DSCN4031DSCN4030DSCN4162DSCN4086DSCN4166DSCN4077DSCN4168DSCN4158 and a sprightly yellow day lily.DSCN4052

Currently Reading – David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and The Art of Battling Giants
(2013, health and psychology) by Malcolm Gladwell; The Pain Chronicles: Cures, Myths, Mysteries, Prayers, Diaries, Brain Scans, and The Science of Suffering (2010, science) by Melanie Thernstrom; Fear of Food: A History of Why We Worry About What We Eat (2012, nutrition history and politics) by Harvey Levenstein. Yes, concurrently. Check out my From Me 2 U Book Review page.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Being able to go for a short walk after limited movement.
  • Remembering what being in the water feels like, and knowing the pool is still there when I am ready to go back in again.
  • The sweet sound and loud smell of late spring Oregon rain.
  • A friend who called me.
  • A friend who wrote me.
  • Being past a traumatic and distasteful event at work that was forced upon me.
  • A pharmacist who understood my pharmaceutical-phobia and had the patience to give me the time to answer all my questions and then offered to take any question by phone as well. That’s the kind of medical service that deserves to be noted.
  • Being outside a local boil water alert, as it would have been one more lemon. I am very dependent on water.
  • Fresh Oregon strawberries. Hoods. The season is upon us.
  • An extra day off work this week.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Floral ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, GRATITUDE, Health, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude Sunday: When Given Lemons

  1. Pingback: Gratitude Sunday: Gray Is The Color of Grief | Sassy Kas

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

