Gratitude Sunday: Enough Time

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

floral[1]

Sunday Haiku
Oh! Spring! Thy colors
glow, thy new birds sing and grow
while squirrels quarrel.

Sunday Musings
A two day weekend is just not enough. I don’t think I felt much different before I developed this writing habit; my child was small then and there never seemed to be enough time to get everything done or do all the things we wanted to do.

I have left behind the days of my youth when I could work 7 days a week, 12 and 14 hour days. I was self-employed then and the more I worked the more money I made. The difference is I had the physical ability and mental fortitude to work those kinds of hours.

A co-worker and I agreed a three day work week at my salary would work. For her (she is 30 and has a husband who can support her) this would be a great increase in income, for me (I’m 60 and have supported a disabled hubster for 30 years) it would merely be fewer hours spent away from home and still not enough money to support it all. My home needs me. Desperately. I will not brag about the train wreck mess I live in.

Don’t get me wrong; financially it all goes “fine”; I just have no cushion of any kind against any sort of catastrophe. Despite huge amounts of money spent every month on insurance packages of all kinds I have little confidence they will “rescue” me when shit hits the fan. The illusionary cushion I have is a small credit line I can borrow freely against, but the catch-22 is technically I’m borrowing money that has to be paid back at a huge interest rate. For me huge interest rates equal true emergencies not groceries or bills.

Why yes, I am a perfect-worlder. In a perfect world, every person has a roof, food, fresh water, and the security of knowing their home is not going to be ripped out from under them, regardless of income or ability to produce income. For a young family the security of raising their family, for the child to never have to be pulled from a school mid-year because the family lost their home, for the elder who is preparing to die, knowing your home is secure is a major factor in success. If one has home security it is easier to create food security.

We work so many hours with so little to show for it. My mom used to say if every person also had a little home business on the side, in addition to their day job, the United States would be a better place and each family would be better off. My little business on the side should be selling off half the stuff I own. No wait, I remember now, I love my stuff too much and decided to create a museum and charge people to look at my stuff.

I feel like I never get enough done. If I’m writing (which I prefer as a pastime) I’m not housekeeping (not my favorite thing to spend my time on), and if I’m housekeeping I’m not writing. My house is a wreck and the writing, being a creative endeavor, is never done.

I’d set a goal earlier this year to spend one hour each weekend cleaning one thing or the other. That’s not going terribly well. My health has been contrary so to make it through a work week I rest on the weekends when I should be cleaning. Good thing I set my goal early in the year; there’s half a year left to accomplish it before autumn rolls rounds again. Perhaps I’ll schedule some three and four day weekends for vacation time; there never seems to be enough vacation time. I am so looking forward to retirement because I will have plenty to do. My subversive “little” brain suggests perhaps I just don’t want to do it, but the maid just needs to show up more often to keep the beggar’s velvet under control.

Color Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – sedum rooting itself in the moss at the base of the pot;DSCN3357 dwarf yellow iris;DSCN3388 a pine cone I loved the green and brown of;DSCN3510 a surprise purple viola popped up in a crack in my driveway;DSCN3348 a neighbor’s walkway and tulip bed;DSCN3429 I love the bright yellow tulips best for their cheeriness; pink tulips make me feel sweet, soft, and fuzzy; yellow and red striped tulips shine like neon;DSCN3513 parrot tulips; DSCN3366dark purple tulips as well;DSCN3493 a creamy white tulip;DSCN3373 pink tulips amid a sea of grape hyacinth;DSCN3473 a pale pink candy-striped hyacinth;DSCN3376 a bridal veil bush nearly overwhelming with scent and bees;DSCN3499 yellow and white, ruffled, and triplet daffodils and narcissus; DSCN3403DSCN3424DSCN3404an unidentified blue blossomed bush; DSCN3486cascades of sweet white and pink allysum;DSCN3436DSCN3490 a very yellow green bush; DSCN3497an unidentified white snowball from a sweetly scentful tree;DSCN3419 the new blue tips on a blue spruce;DSCN3498 two kinds of shooting stars in the yard that three weeks ago was filled with yellow and purple crocus;DSCN3460DSCN3468 a mystical corner in that same yard;DSCN3459a little blue star-daisy type flower;DSCN3481 trying to catch the yellow green of this bush I discover tiny pink buds waiting to blossom;DSCN3414 a pale yellow bell-flower;DSCN3372DSCN3368 when I discovered this unidentified low bush last year I imagined fairies making their ball dresses with the delicate blossoms;DSCN3399 a tangle of pink cherry blossoms;DSCN3444 the promise of next week’s red azalea blossoms.DSCN3390

Currently Reading – Y (2013, fiction novel) by Marjorie Celona; The Spark of Life: Electricity in the Human Body (2012, biology) by Frances Ashcroft; My Age of Anxiety: Fear, Hope, Dread, and The Search for Peace of Mind (2014, clinical psychology) by Scott Stossel. Yes, concurrently. When a book leaves this list look for my review on my From Me 2 U Book Review page.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • April is poetry month. I receive a poem every day in my e-mail from The Borzoi Reader. Wordly inspiration to end the day.
  • The brilliant shades of green our Oregon weather produces, our benefit from the quality rainfall we get.
  • Greens, reds, yellows, pinks, purples, blues, creamy whites, and grays. All kinds of eye candy from Mother Nature.
  • All my abundances even when they overwhelm me.
  • Another day.
  • Meeting an elderly neighbor while taking photos of her flowers.
  • Being able to turn on some Vivaldi when the boy noise of shooting type video games and car racing is too much for me.
  • Nearing completion of several difficult essays.
  • Feeling flattered to be invited to join a writer’s group. I’ve never had much luck with these, but it’s nice to be invited. I think I give great positive critique, yet often find my work is difficult for other writers to deal with, as well as my own difficulty taking any kind of criticism. Still it was nice to be asked.
  • Collecting on a hug promised back in June when my mom died. It was worth the wait. Many more coming in the future I know.
  • Having simple, healthful, easy to prepare foods in my fridge and cupboard.
  • Being able to eat a little when I’m not feeling well.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

floral[1]

Ribbon border by Laurel Burch

This entry was posted in abundance, Aging, Food, GRATITUDE, Health, History, Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Enough Time

  1. billmarydrew says:

    I try to remind myself that my inbox will not be empty when it is my time to depart
    AND my clothes hampers are likely to be full and my house will not be sparkling clean. Life is messy, often cluttered and I’ve gotten better at accepting this so I can just let things go and relax and enjoy whatever makes me feel rested, relaxed and happy.

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

