Gratitude Sunday: Clock Game

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

Sunday Haiku
Skeletons of trees
and ghosts of bushes past shake
branches in the wind.

Sunday Musings
It’s that dreaded twice-a-year-mess-up-your-body-chemistry-whether-you-like-it-or-not-day. Yes, Daylight Saving Time falls back today. I have about eight battery powered or electric clocks to change. All my electronics, however, my pre-paid phone, my laptop, my TV, and DVD player changed on their own. Now with the fall change happening so close to Halloween it’s just so Twilight Zone.

It’s kind of creepy, you know, the way the government, with no scientific evidence or evidence otherwise that there is any true benefit from this obscene and insane clock game that’s played on us twice a year, continues this cruel joke. Since the sixties when Daylight Saving Time became law in America, obesity rates have increased and remained, despite increased nutritional knowledge and the clean food, paleo eating, and local food and farmer’s market movements. Could this possibly be because of the additional physical and mental stress of adjusting to an arbitrary clock game twice a year? Or, gasp, could it be a government plot to control us?

Why are we so dependent on clocks anyway? Bottom line is money. I wonder what it would be like to function by the body clock instead of the money clock. Certainly couldn’t run a business that way, or could you? Many home businesses now are run at the convenience of the entrepreneur and not necessarily by the clock. Is it time to re-write the rules? Some journalists are calling for a change of time zone along with the cessation of Daylight Saving Time. I want to end Daylight Saving Time but I think two time zones for the miles America encompasses gets people too far away from true solar time and body clock time. I do not have a good resolution to suggest yet.

Time being the precious commodity it is, and since my body insisted on waking up at the usual “time” today anyway, I will use the time. I might write an hour more, or clean house, or cook, or I might nap an hour, makes no difference. I will use it and spend it like every other hour of my past. However, the time change alters the way I perceive the day as I constantly check clocks to know what time it is. My innate body sense of time is altered by a clock game and has to be reset as well as the physical clocks around me.

Does anybody remember what was the original true time? I find it difficult to advocate for the sun setting at 4 in the afternoon as the way to set our clocks. Bad enough when it sets at 5. We certainly can’t fix the sun to please me (though if I were queen…) so I have enough daylight in the evening so I can walk after work every night of the year. That is too much to ask. That’s what flashlights are for.

And so now all my clocks are changed, at least the ones I can reach. I shall spend my day trying to remain in the moment and be present for every minute of every new hour of the day. And look forward to changing clocks and hours and days again in the spring.

Color Watch/Flower Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – I saw some hardy knee high brilliant tiny red roses, side by side with sister bushes already hipped,

 Rosehips

Rosehips

naturally mulched by a bed of yellow, orange, red, and brown leaves, but so much else is green and brown this feature is suspended until further notice.

Currently Reading – The Sky Behind the Forest: Selected Poems (poetry) by Liliana Ursu; The Good Death: The New American Search to Reshape the End of Life (sociology) by Marilyn Webb; Aftershock: Protect Yourself and Profit in the Next Global Financial Meltdown (global economics) by David Wiedemer and Robert A Wiedemer; Hanging Out the Wash: And Other Ways to Find More in Less (simplifying life) by Adair Lara; How to See Yourself as You Really Are (enlightenment) by the Dalai Lama. Yes, concurrently.

Winter Classic Reading rules:
1. You must never have read the book before.
2. The book must be recognized as a classic, and can be contemporary.
* Extra points if you’ve never read the author before, if the author is female, or if the title or author have won a Pulitzer or Nobel Prize.

Winter Classic Reading choices as of today:
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte; I’ve never read this author.
The Stranger by Albert Camus; I’ve never read this author.
The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne; I’ve read House of the Seven Gables.
So Big by Edna Ferber; I’ve never read this author.
Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray; I’ve never read this author.
Something by Anthony Trollope, suggested by the co-worker; neither of us have read this author.

**Can you suggest any others? Do you want to read a Winter Classic you’ve never read before? The point of reading a Winter Classic during those dark cold days of winter before spring breaks the spell, is to choose something you might not ever otherwise choose; something to slow you down because the language use or the setting is unfamiliar, the plot or non-plot is unusual, or to read yourself into a different time, world, and culture. We’ll decide by the winter solstice. Or maybe I’ll decide, I haven’t decided yet if I want to be the decider since it’s my tradition or if I want to share. And if I decide on a title and you want to join in with your own choice, have fun with that, too.**

This week I have been grateful for:

  • The ghostie who left a treat (a little baggie filled with a colorful leaf, some twirly-gig seeds to play with, and a little candy bar) in my water sandal at the pool.
  • Electric heat. Actually any heat inside a building.
  • Rain, and how beautiful the sky looks when cloud and clear share the same expanse.
  • Green and brown, the dominant colors on earth during the winter.
  • Shades of green and gray.
  • Getting through my birthday month for the first time without my mother.
  • Learning how to use the music on my laptop while I’m writing or doing other computer work.
  • Learning about classical music.
  • Always learning. Especially technology, which is not second nature to me. Persistence is, however.
  • My little grand-niece being brought home from an overnight stay at the hospital with a clean bill of health and my niece’s family home safe in their own beds.
  • Hot water to wash dishes with. Nothing warms the body like doing dishes by hand, and I still hear the voice of my father and his mother, “Use hot water! The hottest you can stand, even if it burns your hands!” For them hot water was all about sanitation.
  • Time.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

This entry was posted in abundance, GRATITUDE, Health, History, Nature, Poetry, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: Clock Game

  1. heathermama says:

    love your thoughts on day light savings time. living in AZ we don’t have to deal with it, we get more than enough sunlight here. although i did grow up in oregon so i do remember the fall back and spring forward. i still don’t understand how it helps things, the sun still rises and set when it suppose to, we just make ourselves believe it is another way.

    Like

    • sassykas says:

      Thank you and precisely. How did AZ and HI get to be the only holdouts on this? It does not take much research at all to find there are no studies that prove any benefit. I wonder now if health numbers are different in AZ than the rest of America.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Gratitude Sunday: Stop The Madness | Sassy Kas

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

