Gratitude Sunday: The Road Not Taken

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes. Our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

Sunday Haiku
Red gladiolus,
flowered green stalks wave hello
to passing walker.

Sunday Musings
I am rather uninspired today. I haven’t slept well in 14 or 20 years, and this morning was awakened at 7:00 AM by a poorly advertised marathon and the loudspeakers broadcasting throughout the neighborhood. So today I share one of my favorite poems. Because I am one of those non-traditional kinda gals.

The Road Not Taken
Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same.

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost

Frost is often accused of being a simplistic writer; I find his work richly complex and indicative of the human condition. I won’t subject you to an analysis here, but I will comment that while this poem indicates choice, often the “choice” is thrust upon us rather than being freely chosen.

Flower Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – hibiscus, I so love seeing tropicals thrive here in this more moderate temperate climate. Oregon is so special: we still have roses blooming, and the gladiolus and dahlias are coming on strong, I love the huge variety of color these flowers present.

Currently Reading – The Two-Income Trap (social politics) by Elizabeth Warren and Amelia Warren Tyagi; Gut and Psychology Syndrome (nutritional science) by Natasha Campbell-McBride; Doctors from Hell (history) by Vivien Spitz; How to See Yourself as You Really Are (enlightenment) by the Dalai Lama; The Ciao Bella Book of Gelato and Sorbetto: Bold, Fresh Flavors to Make at Home (cookbook) by F. W. Pearce; What in God’s Name (fiction novel, because there is still time to get in a little light summer reading) by Simon Rich. Yes, concurrently.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • My handful of faithful readers and followers. You know who you are. Please feel free to share my work with your friends. Thank you.
  • Readers who take your precious time to comment so I know I’m blathering to somebody rather than ether.
  • How this earth constantly proves abundance is its true order, and not believing the scarcity myth promoted by American economists and the money machine.
  • Remembering money is just a tool and what really fuels the world is connections.
  • My childhood friend, now a Professor of Theology, who is helping to create Mom’s memorial service.
  • Success with a new ice cream flavor without artificial extracts or color: pistachio.
  • Schvimmink. You can’t call what I do in the water swimming, but I love getting in. At this point you can’t keep me out. I need a forever pool membership.
  • How my indoor plants tolerate an irregular watering schedule.
  • Finding peaceful moments while writing.
  • Water.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Family, GRATITUDE, Health, History, Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: The Road Not Taken

  1. Dema Blood says:

    Thank you for sharing a poem I think of often but do not think to read nearly enough.

    Like

  2. heathermama says:

    i have loved frost since i was a child, probably because he was one of my dad’s favorites and he had some of the poems memorized and would recite them while we were backpacking. ❤
    i just love the flowers you have blooming, here in AZ it is just too hot, things are sort of in hibernation at this point.
    your reading list is always so impressive. 🙂

    Like

    • sassykas says:

      I admire Frost’s intricacies while using such simple language. Just look at the rhyme and rhythm construction. Thank your dad for taking the time to memorize, everybody should memorize at least one poem.
      Oregon is a most lovely place for flowers. When I visited Phoenix 40 years ago I wondered how one lived with few flowers and little green.
      Reading is breathing. I hope to soon have a page available to share my sassy, cranky opinions about what I read. Thank you for reading and sharing!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Gratitude Sunday: The Myth of Scarcity | Sassy Kas

  4. Pingback: Gratitude Sunday: A Prodigal Son | Sassy Kas

  5. Pingback: Gratitude Sunday: Oh, To A Mom! | Sassy Kas

  6. Pingback: Gratitude Sunday: My Guy And The Rules Of Car Repair | Sassy Kas

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

