Gratitude Sunday: New Beginnings

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down,
to reflect,
to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes.
Our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

Sunday Haiku
Overcast sky clears,
presents a sunny day and
unites two in love.

Sunday Musings
You could rent me out as a cryer. That’s right. I cry at weddings. Doesn’t matter who is getting married, family, friends, strangers. It’s such a day for transition. The sun and moons shift in the heavens when two people decide to join their lives and vow to grow old together. If I get to share it with them I share my happy tears freely as well. Can’t stop them, don’t try any more. It’s a physical reaction to the shifting of the universe. If it’s family, it means my family just got bigger!

My eldest niece was married yesterday and I was able to attend her wedding. I traveled to another state through many counties and cities and towns and hodunk wide spots in the road for more than three hours to be with some of my family. I’m saying this because I could probably win an award for World’s Worst Traveler. It’s not that I try to be, it just happens. My brain goes haywire when I’m outside my comfort zone, and this has happened to me since I remember remembering.

I did pretty well. I was so happy to see her happy, and meet her husband and his family, delightful older people from Minnesota and Chicago, and getting newly acquainted at the reception meal. I spent time with extended family members I hadn’t seen in forever, telling old stories. getting reacquainted, and meeting their new family members, new spouses, new children and grandchildren. We missed the people who weren’t able to attend and the ones who have gone on before us like my mom, who loved her grandchildren as dearly as her children, and my dad, the two grandparents on the bride’s father’s side. Her maternal grandparents were able to be with us. We made some beautiful memories and pictures for posterity.

I didn’t realize what a fun young woman my niece is, as I have never spent much time with her because of her dad’s work. I know of her accomplishments and they are prodigious and ambitious. She has worked hard and earned the good things in her life. It was obvious for all of us witnesses to see the wedding couple were friends first and were very at ease having fun with each other. Seeing all the friends there, along with the family, was a joy knowing they have such support. It’s the first wedding I’ve attended where the theme from Mission: Impossible was substituted for the processional, and the recessional was Peanuts Theme Song. The centerpiece was a Mr and Mrs Potato Head plus flowers, of course. One of the songs we danced to was Welcome to the Family by Little Big Town. (You can sing along on this site like we did!). AND they provided a bin full of funny hats for us to play with during the hole she-bang. It was so much fun and so full of happiness I know they are off to a good start.

It feels magical when families grow from a birth, but almost more so from a wedding. With a birth the family increases by one or two, but with a marriage, not only does my niece have a new husband, I get to have a new nephew-in-law, and we get to have all of his family, and they get to have all of our family. Exponential familial growth. Just like that. In the eyes of the universe and all the gods in the heavens and two hours of time we are bonded.

Flower Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – gladiolus in a variety of glorious colors; so many of the summer flowers I don’t know the name of and need to learn, the ones I enjoy the most are the ones that send their scent out on the wind in the evening when I take my constitutional. To be accompanied by the aromatherapeutic fragrance of star jasmine or buddleia is nearly as good as getting a head full of fresh sea air.

Currently Reading – Gut and Psychology Syndrome (healing science) by Natasha Campbell-McBride; Brain on Fire (medical mystery) by Susannah Cahalan; The World’s Strongest Librarian (intellectual humor) by Josh Hanagarne; How to See Yourself as You Really Are (enlightenment) by Dalai Lama. Yes, concurrently.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • A wedding; fun, happy, beautiful start to a life-long marriage.
  • A safe journey there and back.
  • Phone apps which helped us bypass a road closure.
  • Lovely clear sunny days. Air conditioning, natural and mechanical.
  • No other obstructions or car accidents in front of us up I-5 through Washington state, which is often shut down from crashes.
  • Time spent with family.
  • Time spent meeting new family.
  • The ring bearer, a 4-year-old in-law who instantly bonded with me, on his own terms, and came at me full tilt boogie to the dismay of his mother. I loved his attention and I hope he loved mine from a loving family stranger.
  • Magnificent views of Mt Rainier, Mt St Helens, and Mt Hood on the journey home.
  • Acknowledging creepy morbid feelings while sorting out my mother’s belongings with my sister and brother.
  • Getting back home.
  • Being able to write another Gratitude Sunday.
  • My hearing and the health I work so hard to keep.
  • Water.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Family, Food, GRATITUDE, Health, Homemaking, Nature, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gratitude Sunday: New Beginnings

  1. heathermama says:

    ooooh, a wedding. i love them too. was it in oregon or washington?
    wonderful gratitude list. 🙂

    Like

    • sassykas says:

      Washington. The two previous days had been socked in with fog and overcast, but it cleared that day. We enjoyed an indoor-outdoor venue and it was so lovely. Thank you for reading me!

      Like

  2. eliseholden says:

    Great post ! Wonderful writing.

    Like

  3. Mary Ann Cauthen says:

    I enjoy your writings & the sharing of your life. There’s an honesty & depth there. Thanks for sharing. I am probably older than you, but I relate to your words. Mary Ann

    Like

  4. sassykas says:

    Thank you! I’m glad you like my work!

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

