Gratitude *~* Sunday

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down,
to reflect,
to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes.
Our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

Sunday Haiku
Soil heated by sun,
nourished with rain, germinates
seed seeking this life.

Sunday Musings
“What you yearn for also yearns for you.” St Francis of Assisi.

A writer I read shared this quote and I can’t get it out of my head, which can be good and bad, or good or bad depending on which way you want to look at it. I like to look at things from as many sides as I can (Thanks, Mom!), which gives me more information but can also tie me up in a circle of confusion. It’s all good; I’m always learning.

What I’m yearning for today is a change in our Oregon state laws (and then nationwide) that would allow the sale of fresh raw cow and goat milk and dairy products in retail venues. The concern is cited as a public safety issue, but with modern refrigeration and transportation, and proper modern dairying techniques, public safety is really a non-issue. One of the ways to accomplish this would be allowing small livestock in the city, which, with proper education and maintenance, can be done in a clean and mostly odorless manner. Consumers having a choice is the issue. If raw dairy products are safe and preferred for the royal British family there is a way to insure its safety for the average American. I’ll publish more about this issue in the future.

Flower Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – salvias; spireas; freesia; yellow daylillies; petunias; marigolds and many annuals newly planted. Several bushes of Indian paintbrush reminded me of my childhood when we would cut the colorful spears long, down next to the base of the bush, and called them our fire swords as we practiced fancy fencing moves we’d learned from TV shows (Zorro, probably) and movies. I am partial to perennials: plant once, enjoy forever. The spring parade is done; the daffodils, narcissus, tulips, crocus, and lilacs and locusts are all gone. A few hardy azaleas and rhododendrons remain and a few dogwoods. Roses are still coming on strong. It interests me that one neighbor’s dogwood or rhody has passed and the other neighbor’s is just coming on. I’ll have to pay attention to the side of the house the plants are on – north, south, east, west, and whether it’s a warmer place or not.

I Spy An Edible Landscape: I admire my neighbors who are getting creative about growing veggies and fruits in available spaces. I spy: lettuces, spinach, radish tops, potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, and great big artichoke bushes with multiple globes, blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries. Way to grow, my friends!

Currently Reading Devil in the Milk by Keith Woodford; Paradise Lot by Eric Toensmeier; Holy Ghost Girl by Donna M. Johnson; River Cottage Every Day by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall. Yes, concurrently.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Antibiotics, which fortunately I don’t have to use often so they still work on me.
  • Yogurt, especially a friend’s homemade fresh raw goat’s milk yogurt.
  • Farmer’s markets.
  • Properly fed chickens. Chickens are NOT vegetarians.
  • Farmers and gardeners committed to sharing the fruits and vegetables of their labor.
  • Why, yes, I am prejudiced. Oregon fruit is the best.
  • Being a born and bred Oregonian and not caring whether it rains or shines. I love sun and rain and trust nature to know what she’s doing in her delivery of both. We just have to figure out how not to mess with her so much.
  • The fragrance of fresh air. And I still have it almost all the time where I live.
  • Still. Being. Able. To. Walk. Outside.
  • My pool and other places of business that have large picture windows to enjoy lovely Oregon weather.
  • Being able to pay a friend back a twenty I owed her. Glad to get that thought out of my mind.
  • Water.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

This entry was posted in Gardening, GRATITUDE, Health, Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gratitude *~* Sunday

  1. heathermama says:

    YES about the milk. we got great raw milk in maine, here in AZ it cost an arm and a leg we can’t afford it. it is like night and day the taste.
    and YES on the chickens, they are all over the bugs and lizards. lol

    Like

  2. muddledmom says:

    Love this gratitude list and your Sunday haiku and your book list. Very inspiring posts.

    Like

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

