Gratitude *~* Sunday

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down,
to reflect,
to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes.
Our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

Sunday Haiku
Rain, sun, wind needed
to flower the vines and branch
toward harvest day.

Sunday Musings
Since Sunday is grateful, I am posting this late in the day because I got to go visit my mother for most of the day. Her home is an hour away so for me it’s an all day adventure, including the two hour round trip drive. She’s 83 this year and has emphysema, wears oxygen, and shakes from all the drugs the medical industry thinks she should take, so you know. I haven’t seen her since Christmas. I was going through mom withdrawals. So I braved the holiday weekend traffic (YIKES!!!).

Of course, it was worth every minute. We have our differences but we have learned how to talk to each other as adults with our own minds. She knows when she’s coming off mom-like because I get real quiet. I want to hear what she says and she has valuable advice, but I need to digest it and take it in my own time. I know when I’m coming off as too sassy and cranky mouth because she starts taking the other person’s side or the opposite point of view to see what I’ll say about that point of view. So I’ll think more about it. As if I don’t think too much already. Probably her fault. I love her dearly. I’ll be devastated when she passes. Dangnowsee? I’m crying.

My youngest brother lives with her, which is a huge comfort to me having a trusted relative with her most of the time. I’m pretty sure they have their moments. She wants it done her way and her now. He’s tired after working a 40 hour work week and he’ll get it done when he gets it done. It’s nice to see they’ve learned how to work that out too. He came out of his man-den to visit with us old hens. Hwell, older than him.

My younger sister came over and spent some time with us too. Oh, did we have fun, talking, reminiscing, telling stories, telling stories, telling stories.

Flower Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – cyclamen; heliotrope; purple globe alliums; a wide variety of dianthus; wild vetch; Johnson’s geraniums from pink to dark purple; purple robe locust trees which have blooming on my street for a few weeks now, but I just learned their name this week; and all the roses are in glorious full bloom.

Currently Reading Devil in the Milk by Keith Woodford; Paradise Lot by Eric Toensmeier; Holy Ghost Girl by Donna M. Johnson; Ben & Jerry’s Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book by Ben Cohen and Jerry Greenfield. Whaat? It’s almost summer and I’ve had my new ice cream machine since Christmas. Time to learn. I read cookbooks like novels. Tidbits in everything you read. Yes, concurrently. I’ve recently finished a few, obviously, so this week I will post some reviews. In case you were wondering.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • My pool pal, who enjoys reading my posts, took pity upon my rose disappointed nose and brought me one of her home grown Mr Lincolns. It rose-stank up my car, and is now rose-stanking my writing area with fragrant inspiration. Aroma therapy.
  • Neighbors who are creative with where they plant vegetables. On apartment back patios, in front yards, in parking strips. Edible landscape.
  • Spending a little time with my precious mom, sister, and brother.
  • Farmer’s markets season and the gardeners and farmers who grow what I don’t or can’t.
  • OREGON STRAWBERRIES.
  • Farmers.
  • My little sis, who is fighting similar food and health battles, and says, “Let’s have a soda today! And tomorrow we’ll keep kicking ass again.”
  • Writing.
  • Reading.
  • Water.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

This entry was posted in Family, Gardening, GRATITUDE, Health, Nature, Parenting, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gratitude *~* Sunday

  1. heathermama says:

    wonderful haiku. lovely list.
    have a beautiful week

    Like

  2. Tara says:

    I like your list! So many good things here. No ripe strawberries here yet… but we are close. I can’t wait!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Gratitude *~* Sunday | Sassy Kas

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

