Gratitude *~* Sunday

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down,
to reflect,
to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes.
Our gratefulness feeds one another.

Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

Sunday Haiku
Rain brings fat earthworms
to grass level and hungry
robin feasts today.

Suburban Wild America
As I walk up the hill I spy the great giant orange tabby cat, cougar-crouched, stalking across the asphalt road. In a burst of feline speed he pounces upon a chattering of starlings grazing in the barkdust covering the ground between peony and iris. I take each step carefully and quietly so as not to disturb nature’s moment in front of me. The starlings rise in a raucous black cloud, screaming and circling the great orange tabby, flying into the tree nearby and diving back down toward the predator. The mumuration gathers in the tree yelling expletives and epithets at the giant cat below, taunting him to ascend the tree. The tabby stomps away with his tail held high in the air and a nose of nonchalance about the angle of his head.

A few blocks further a rain soaked robin was so hungry she wouldn’t leave her very fat three inch long earthworm as I walk cautiously two feet from her. Planning a peaceful feast on the quiet street, she had neatly nipped the nightcrawler in half with her sharp beak and would certainly have to waste half if she flew off with one piece. She gave me robin stink eye and continued her juicy meal on the shiny wet pavement.

Flower Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – lobelia; saxifrage; chive blossoms; lupine; cosmos; California poppies; daisies; honeysuckle, which always delivers; roses, though not my favorite, come in glorious color varieties, but often disappoint when I take the time to smell and there is no fragrance. I love naming flowers, it feels like I’m counting abundance. Perhaps I’ll add a vegetable watch and start counting the fruits and veg my neighbors grow. More abundance. Visual joy.

Currently Reading Farm City by Novella Carpenter; The Unofficial Downton Abbey Cookbook by Emily Ansara Bains; Bait and Switch by Barbara Ehrenreich; Quiet: the Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. Yes, concurrently. I know. Same as last week.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • A co-worker, whom I had been praying for a happy partnership, out of the blue (only as far as I know – she could have been plotting this all along!) surprise married her long time boyfriend. I pray she has more happiness in her relationship as it moves forward.
  • My son eating the roasted asparagus I prepared for supper.
  • The techno-ditz prevailing and getting the camera together. I don’t understand all the yadda yadda in the instruction booklet, so I’m going to start pushing buttons and see what happens.
  • Food in the freezer for between paychecks.
  • Missing my pool pal and finding out she wasn’t ill, just experiencing muscle pain. Just, as if. Grateful also to know she knows how to take care when it happens.
  • An abundance of words to learn and choose from.
  • Two days off in a row.
  • Still having a job.
  • Thinking for myself, learning history, seeing connections.
  • One of my professors from university, Lidia Yuknavitch, who has been writing fiction and non-fiction for many years, and recently published a radical memoir, The Chronology of Water, and a delightful contemporary farce, Dora: A Headcase, learned this week she is being published in Italian. Besides the English, French, and Turkish she’s already published in. She deserves it. She treats her art seriously. She tells a good story and that is what writing is about.
  • Water.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Exercise, Food, Gardening, GRATITUDE, Health, History, Medicine, Nature, Photography, Poetry, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

