Gratitude *~* Sunday

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down,
to reflect,
to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes.
Our gratefulness feeds one another.

Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

Sunday Haiku

Dark purple lilac
Sacrificed to the knife
Sweetens my life space.

May Day, or How I Miss This Rite of Spring

When I was growing up schools still celebrated May Day in honor of spring. My elementary school had a Maypole and only the older girls got to do the Maypole Dance because it was intricate and they took all late winter and early spring practicing so the ribbons wouldn’t get tangled. The older girls taught the younger girls. By the time I was one of the older girls the Maypole tradition had ended in my school. I don’t know that I ever knew why, I only know I didn’t get to learn or perform the Maypole Dance.

Every year teachers helped us create little May Day Baskets out of recycled materials like paper bags, scraps of wall paper, and green plastic berry hallocks, with bits of ribbon, and yarn, and lace woven into or glued onto them. Affixing the handle was the trickiest part. We then were told to gather flowers from our yards, put the flowers in the baskets, and give the baskets to our mothers.

What does this memory say? I lived in a suburban neighborhood where almost all the families had single family homes, and yards with gardens, and mothers to give the baskets to, and though we appeared “affluent” (we weren’t), we still used every speck of left-over materials to create new things. It says a long established tradition was abandoned and to what avail? For me the loss of tradition meant something I had admired older girls doing and wanted to learn for myself, and had looked forward to doing when I was an older girl and teaching younger girls to do, was no longer an option. When the tradition stopped it eliminated the spontaneous mentoring that occurred between girls in this simple interaction, one of the few age-free connections the girls in my school had with each other. I think it would be lovely to restore this May Day tradition and increase the natural mentoring and connections between girls and women in our community.

Flower Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhood this week: wisteria; golden chain tree (my dad’s favorite); potentilla; snapdragons; yellow, peach, orange, and red azaleas, interesting how the pinks and purples bloom first; purple and pink peonies (my aunt’s favorite); dark purple iris; and oh, how I love catkins, those lovely tree seed pods that hang in fuzzy or furry chains of such great variety and sadly responsible for so many allergies and fortunately not mine! Rhododendrons are coming on strong too, so many colors!

This week I have been grateful for:

  • The fragrance of lilacs and the hubster who cut them for me.
  • The wind against my skin as I walk.
  • Lilac aroma in the wind on my evening constitutionals.
  • Daytime weather has been so lovely this week, mild, not too cool, not too warm, just my temperature: nearly Camelot.
  • An older friend who allows me to speak frankly with her.
  • The unnamed, unnameable shade of sort of pink color that happens in the sky before sunset: Pearlized abalone? Translucent nectarine? Iridescent mango?
  • The myriad shades of gray clouds that show off that unnameable color.
  • Finding a little pot of curly parsley at the garden store. To keep company with my little pot of cilantro.
  • The fresh morning smell of grass, and hay, and cows, and trees, and sea water. No livestock allowed in city limits (except chickens for eggs) so some of the fragrance is traveling on the kindness of the wind. And I’m forty miles away from the beach!
  • Water.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

This entry was posted in Gardening, GRATITUDE, Health, History, Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

