Gratitude *~* Sunday

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down,
to reflect,
to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes.
Our gratefulness feeds one another.

Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

Sunday Haiku
Water falls from sky
to earth refreshing early
spring dry soils. Grow, seeds.

Sunday Musing
Though many of my posts throughout the week are cranky, whiny, and admittedly curmudgeonly, those posts merely reflect the difficulties I face in my life. I love my Sunday gratitude posts, because I spend the time sending energy to families I know who have it even harder than myself.

I am amazed by the miracles of being and living this life.

Baby sparkles are a good example. When the son was born I had a last minute cesarean, which I won’t say more about here except I was anesthetized, so “I” wasn’t there, and I didn’t get to see my own baby sparkles. I was still a toddler myself when my siblings came home and don’t remember much, and as an adult I’ve not spent much time around newborns, and not for lack of wanting. A couple years ago I was lucky enough to walk through the parking lot of a fire station where a baby had just been delivered in the car within feet of where I walked. The air in the parking lot had this aura, a humongous cloud of sparkles and rainbows and cosmic confetti, for lack of “better” words. Walking through the cloud, seeing the fire chief squatting there after the assist, the baby lying on his mother’s chest, the tears poured from my face with no conscious control. I was on my way back to work and could not stop crying when I entered the building. Many people asked me what was wrong. How could I tell them I was covered with baby sparkles? I could only cry and blubber, “A baby was born. In the parking lot. A baby was born.” I wonder what it means when so many women these days don’t see their own baby sparkles.

I wish everybody could see baby sparkles. Maybe even every day. I have some stuck on me right now, as I got to meet a co-worker’s new boy Friday night. I am so grateful he is here, they are all well and fine, and I get to have a few baby sparkles on me for a day or two. Who needs sparkling romantic vampires when we are already sparkling?

Flower Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhood this week: shooting stars; clematis; yellow dwarf iris with purple throats; daphne bushes; red, pink, and white camellias; a yellow magnolia!; whole beds of pink, yellow, red, striped, and parrot tulips; tiny curly heads starting on my coral bells.

April is National Poetry month. For those of you who enjoy poetry you can have a poem delivered to you daily by the Alfred A Knopf publishers.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Meeting a new person in this world and sharing his baby sparkles. I gave him his first toothbrush. Ms Practical.
  • The time spent at a small celebration in honor of this new little person. It was fun to laugh and welcome him here. Time well invested.
  • Watching the baby sparkles affect the people at the celebration and how it softened their voices, body language, and postures.
  • Seeing how excited and happy this child’s new parents were to have him here.
  • Creamy pink and white clouds in a soft blue sky at sunset. Libra colors, like the inside of an abalone shell.
  • Gray days. Sunny days. Every new day.
  • The neighbor who was out during the sunny days last weekend and decorated her sidewalks with brilliant chalk art of esoteric symbols and pretty spring flowers.
  • Rain droplets sparkling on my potted sedums.
  • Chives. The flavor gift that keeps on giving. Plant once. Grow and cut forever. My pots full of the bulbs are inching up their fine green leaf scapes.
  • The smell of the rain on the dry spring soil.
  • Seeing the baby swim class at the pool because I swam on a different night so I could go to the baby shower. My life was full of babies this week!
  • Blossoms on the neighbor’s apple tree after the new neighbor chopped most of the tree off in the most random and bizarre way.
  • The tiny fine soft intricate green beauty of mosses.
  • Water.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

This entry was posted in GRATITUDE, Health, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

