Gratitude Sunday: The Myth of Scarcity

Gratitude * Sunday
Sunday’s heartfelt tradition.
A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful.
A list of gratitudes, our gratefulness feeds one another.
Quoted from Taryn Wilson
Joining the Gratitude Sunday Tradition at Wooly Moss Roots.

Sunday Haiku
Sun, rain, thunder, sun,
earth loves each one and gives so
much abundance back.

Sunday Musings
Life is short. Every day is a gift to you and a day to gift back to this world. This world owes us nothing but look how much it provides. I’m not talking about society or culture, though those can be added benefits. What I mean is, our world provides us with air and sun and rain and soil and plants and animals and daily and yearly cycles and physical biologies that allow us to enjoy it all.

Don’t be fooled by the myth of scarcity. It’s never too late to begin. You never have too little to begin with. Put a scoop of dirt straight from the ground into any container, add a seed, and water, and sun, et voilà! Food. It’s magic. It’s science. It’s magic, no, science. It’s both.

The harder part for me is the constant stewardship. Seasons roll around too fast for me to keep up with. I have grapes to harvest and trying to figure out when to do that as it fits into my schedule and the ripeness schedule is work in itself. I have often thought it would be a luxury to be retired or a subsidized at-home mom, and have only my homemaking to attend to. I so admire women who are able to choose and function an orchestrated home stewardship with prolific output. Homemaking to me means being able to do more from scratch, in the old ways of my mother and grandmother, women who kept chickens and gardens, and were able to do their own butchering and milking, and didn’t run to the grocery store for food because they produced it and preserved it themselves.

Working outside the home full-time and my illnesses prevent me stewarding to the extent I desire. It doesn’t prevent me from encouraging and teaching others and purchasing their bounty, or doing the small things I am able to do. Everyone can do something. We all have our parts to play.

Do just one small thing today, if you are able. Teach your children to do small things, as well. Together we can take back the world and defy the myth of scarcity.

Flower Watch – blooming attractions in my neighborhoods this week – Again I have to brag about how special Oregon is flower-wise. The dahlias I spoke of last week continue to bloom in such a wide variety of shapes and colors, I have to restrain myself from walking into neighbors’ yards to get pictures. Many roses are still blooming. Chrysanthemums are showing up in the neighborhoods, reminding me of football season.

Currently Reading – Goodnight, Mind: Turn Off Your Noisy Thoughts and Get a Good Night’s Sleep (sleep psychology) by Colleen E. Carney and Rachel Manber; All Your Worth: The Ultimate Lifetime Money Plan (financial planning) by Elizabeth Warren and Amelia Warren Tyagi; Fat Chance: Beating the Odds Against Sugar, Processed Food, Obesity, and Disease (nutrition science and politics) by Robert H. Lustig; How to See Yourself as You Really Are (enlightenment) by the Dalai Lama; On the Banks of Plum Creek (“fictionalized” autobiography) by Laura Ingalls Wilder (I never read this series as a kid). Yes, concurrently.

This week I have been grateful for:

  • Early morning fragrance of farm fields: the soil, the mown grass, the dew drying on leaves.
  • Corn and tomatoes at the Farmer’s Market.
  • A precious pint of golden raspberries.
  • A refreshing rain, lightning and thunderstorm, freshening us before the last few weeks of summer.
  • The smell of grapes ripening on the vine in the hot sun.
  • Zucchini to feed the world.
  • Getting the new season of Call the Midwife on DVD from the library. I don’t watch TV much, I can’t stand the mind sucking time taken by commercials, but I love having what I want to watch available at the touch of a button and stoppable for those inevitable household commercial breaks: my guys wanting my attention.
  • The beginning of the season more focused on harvest, and caring, and sharing.
  • The son. He is celebrating his 21st birthday this week, his way. He was 9 years old the day 9-11 took place and blamed himself because it was his day. Took me a lot of years to convince him it was not his fault and had nothing whatsoever to do with him. He’s a good man, full of empathy, intelligence, and curiosity. He (like his mother, I admit) is using The Road Not Taken. He is an Eagle Scout, owns a GED with three out of five honors scores, and has maintained the same job for the last two years.
  • To be able to walk while my pool is closed for a two-week maintenance.
  • Water.

Hoping you have a lovely week.

Namaste. Peace. Blessings.

This entry was posted in abundance, Family, Food, Gardening, GRATITUDE, Health, Homemaking, Nature, Parenting, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude Sunday: The Myth of Scarcity

  1. Michelle says:

    Late summer flowers are the best. The business park where I work is stunning with huge clumps of black eyed Susans, and the neighborhood here is full of dahlias, like you said, and also zinnias and cosmos. September is such an excellent month!

Play Nice and Share Your Thoughts

